We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Experience”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had to share a small table with another couple for all meals which made us uncomfortable.
Waiting satff were generally friendly but a couple of snarly waiters soured the experience
( one of them let the door go in my face when he off duty as he seemed to be having a
disagreement with another member of staff).

Due to a late departure to the airport we offered to pay extra to hold the room for a few extra hours ( I was 4 mths pregnant and exhausted ). Hotel would not accomodate this.

Had to put up with couple of disturbed nights sleep due to noisy residents in the same corridor.

Room Tip: you have to pay extra for air con and back rooms are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionel227125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    239
    80
    26
    19
See reviews for
88
325
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our second visit to Sorrento, but the 1st time at this hotel.

This was not our main holiday of the year so we were looking for the least expensive hotel in Sorrento we could find.

We gave it a 3 out of 5 (average) as there is no pool and based on our experience with hotels in other parts of the world.

Perfect location for all of Sorrento with lovely views. Food was good and as we are vegetarians they made an extra effort.

The room was cleaned every day with daily fresh towels for the bathroom.

Our only grummble was the bathroom and bedroom decor required a small amount of TLC. There were a couple of loose foam ceiling tiles, a little mildew in the shower corners, iffy looking curtain rail repairs ;-) All of the fixes would have a taken 1 or 2 hrs tops, However the room did look as though it was painted regularly.

The staff were all excellent and very helpful. We would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymadyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned yesterday from a week in Sorrento, we hired a car from Naples airport via Avis - beware when doing this as when we got there our car that we had pre-booked a few weeks ago had been reserved at Naples in USA ! I didnt even know there was a Naples in USA ! Anyway, we got another one sorted out relatively quickly, but I would advise taking out the extra insurance excess cover as driving in Italy is crazy. We had bought a satnav with European maps and that helped in navigating out of Naples city onto the main roads.

Arrived at La Meridiana which has approx 6 or 7 spaces for cars, luckily there was always one available as most people get the coach transfers. The hotel is basic, but very clean and the staff were all very helpful & friendly. Breakfast is good and the meals in the evening are pre-booked in the morning, 4 courses - all of which were more than enough. Although you do share tables with other guests, the two ladies we shared ours with turned out to be from our neck of the woods and my husband actually knew their brother-in law!

Our room had a balcony which we paid a small suppliment for but was well worth it. The air-con wasnt included and was 10 euros a day extra. The Italian tourist tax was 1 euro per person per day extra which became payable on the day of departure.

There is a roof terrace which could be improved on, theres nothing much up there only about 6 loungers and a few chairs.

The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and toiletries.

The hotel is situated approx 5 -7 minutes walk from the main town area - you can cut through a lovely lemon grove to get there. So ideally situated.

All in all the hotel was very good value for money and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Have a room with a balcony on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofilou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the la meridiana from 24 - 31 August. The first impressions of the hotel weren't that great but as time went on, the hotel grew on us. On to the positives, the food was excellent - you get a sheet of choices left at your table at breakfast and you have to choose what you want for your evening meal - every choice we made you could not fault - the service in the restaurant was excellent and the head waiter did his best to accommodate 2 fussy children. The roof terrace provided a stunning backdrop of Mt Vesuvius but make sure you have plenty of sun cream as it can be quite fierce up there. The main downside of the hotel is the lack of a swimming pool which wasn't good when trying to keep 2 children occupied - you could use the hotel grand flora's pool but at a cost of €10 per person per day - can prove expensive if you want to use it frequently. The air conditioning in the room was also available at a cost - €10 per room per night- again this is an expensive additional cost that should be included - the final thing I would mention about the hotel is the lack of in room fridges - it was very hot when we were there and you couldn't keep bottles of water in your room as they would just get very warm.
Overall we found the hotel acceptable, the staff were very friendly and for Italy, it was good value for money.
Sorrento itself is an expensive place to visit. - be warned that taxis are very expensive - to go a mile into town will cost approx €23 which is a rip off but hey we are talking Italy - everything costs - and costs a lot!!
It would be a good idea to hire a car for the day - visit Pompeii and have a drive along the Amalfi coast - truly stunning scenery.
Overall a really enjoyable week with excellent company.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify at the time of booking that a balcony is required
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redspelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my wife from the 20th July 2012 for 7 nights. We didn't have high expectations being a 3 star, but we both agree this is an under rated and under stated hotel. For the price paid the service and friendliness of the staff was excellent and to a higher standard than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is basic but thats what we expected from a 3 star hotel, the rooms and public areas are kept to a high standard of cleanliness. The food is to a good standard and a 3 course meal option is provided every night, and was presented with a very tasty fresh cold roast beef salad on arrival even at midnight. The breakfast selection was good and the service also great in the restaurant at all times The location is great and only 5-10 min walk from the main square in Sorrento you can walk through a nice fruit grove on the way. Air Conditioning is an extra 10 euro per day which is not bad value for money and helps keep the room to a good temp for sleeping. If you can go for a balcony room looking towards Vesuvius is the best option. We would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore Sorrento and the surrounding areas. As we saved on the hotel costs we booked a day on a private yacht from Amalfi Coast Yachts who collect us from the port in Sorrento and will take you where every you want to go.

Room Tip: Balcony room facing Vesuvius and email the hotel before you go, floor 3 upwards for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days in August, lovely friendly staff. Room basic but clean. Had a lovely balcony with a view of Vesuvius. No aircon but this was fine, a fridge would have been useful to keep water cool. Evening meal was always good, you picked what you wanted in a morning but by evening time you had forgotten what you had ordered anyway. 4 courses and excellent value. we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 326 which had a large balcony without direct sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice clean and friendly hotel.Great location .Food well cooked and always served piping hot,Staff always attentive and friendly.Pay the extra for a balcony it is worth the extra, we did not this was our only regret.Only thing lacking was a pool but apart from that it was excellent value for money.We would return to the La Meridiana next year,

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Girasole
Hotel Girasole
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing