We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Clean B&B Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed for week at the hotel as part of a Newmarket package deal. We had a terrible journey with many delays in 37c-40c heat taking 12+ hours. So when we arrived eventually at the hotel we were greeted, efficiently, quickly and very, very quietly.
Our room was number 11 which if you look at the photo of the hotel is immediately over the entrance. The excellent air conditioning was on which was fabulous as we were a little frazzled by the journey. The room was spotless clean and remained so by the excellent room service with sheets and towels changed as required.
The room was possibly the smallest room we have ever stayed in with a bathroom to match but just usable and comfortable. Storage was adequate for an overnight stay or up to a week but no more if you are a couple. There is a flat screen tv which has 3 English speaking programs BBC, SKY and CNN news.
There was no fridge which we began to miss for cool drinks through the night.
No tea/coffee making facilities. We knew this beforehand from previous reports but chose to go out for refreshments instead.
The main attraction of the Villa is its position. Smack in the centre of Sorrento this was perfection. This makes it noisy but we came to enjoy being amongst the throng as you might say. I managed to get an antique looking dining chair (which I would liked to have owned) onto the balcony in the evening after 7pm. This is the time when the roads are closed to traffic and people can walk freely on the roads ( La Passeggiata), which we also took advantage of being in the centre of town, fabulous. When in the room at night close the windows and shutters and the noise disappears.
The hotel is only B&B. This is written on the tin and the hotel does not proclaim anything else. The breakfast for the first 3 days was limited. Then thereafter it doubled in size and variation, I don’t know why but was pleased.
If you are starving there is the Aurora Pizza literally next door. I used the take away for under 10euros great pizza - watch it being cooked in the large oven.
We did eat out in the evening and throughout the day, liquid intake in the heat was essential. A good menu is to be had at ‘Buon Convento’ on via Donnorso opposite to ‘The Corner Shop’at reasonable prices.
Rita’s confectionery shop on the main street near the bus station has everything you want for a snack/take away.
If you want to impress your wife/partner go to Ristorante O’Parrucchiano on the Corso Italia. Go in the back way as it is a fabulous sight from a very simple entrance This offers a good menu and an extensive wine list with tables amongst the lemon trees, one fell on my head so they are real. We paid 60 euros so not over the top.
Do go on the Red Bus this is fabulous so much so we went on it twice at 12 euros each it is a must.
Get the local Sita bus to Amalfi at 7 euros approx each return, don’t get on if there are no seats standing up is not an option to go for.
Yes I would use the Villa Di Sorrento again if I go to Sorrento for convenience and cleanliness.

Room Tip: I did not see any of the other rooms, if there are larger rooms probably on the higher floors they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank AlanC470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stopped for a week. Booked as part of a Newmarket Holidays package. A view on this hotel depends on what you're looking for. It has no pool or outside sitting area so is not good for a relaxing break. However, if you're looking for a base to explore Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast then it's ideal.

Our room was 2 x single beds, wardrobe, drawers, flat-screen tv. Tiny balcony overlooking the street, barely big enough to get a chair on and certainly not any use for sitting on. It's more an architectural feature than a useable balcony. Excellent shower room/toilet. Unfortunately, no fridge.

Aircon was excellent - one of the best we've ever experienced. Shutters superb: they cancelled out every bit of street noise and made the room very quiet at night.

The breakfast room is small. Breakfast was adequate rather than generous.

The room was cleaned every day. Reception staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

From the hotel door it was 30 paces to Sorrento's main square; a 5 minute walk to the bus and train station.

One thing to note, the brochure gives the indication that there are rooms with large balconies/terrace areas and other Trip advisor entries have made reference. We certainly didn't manage to get one and, I suspect, from the layout of the hotel there may only be 1 such room.

We warmed to the place by the end of the week as a good base.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheScullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you very much for the review, I really appreciate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here recently because of the location and value I got with my package deal, after reading reviews initially I was abit spectical about what to expect, the location is perfect smack in the middle of Sorrento so I went for it on arrivial I got booked in perfect the only problem I had was the aircon not working! and no fridge! with a little laungage barrier after the first day my aircon was working and i had a fridge:) the staff are very friendly after your first incouter with them, the breakfast was ok could be improved slightly, after reading other reviews about there not being someone at front of house all the time you have to rember its a small family run hotel and the staff are either in the ajoining office or in the kitchen is all it takes is a hello upon entering but the clenlyness is A1 on a couple of occasions I brought a pizza back for a late night snack and they was more than happy to let me use the louge etc, Iv'e recomended this hotel to my family who are going to use it on my recomendation and I will be using it my self in the near feauture again! the only let down was I wasnt able to use the roof terrace

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Diana and I stayed at the Villa di Sorrento for a week, and were delighted with the friendly and courteous service we received at the Villa di Sorrento. The location could not have been better - we were right there in the centre of the city, so close to to the bars and resaurants. We would happily recommend the hotel....it's just a pity that new visitors won't get that same excitement we had when the place went wild with Italy's Euro 2012 success. If you are visiting Sorrento, be sure to stay at the villa di Sorrento.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is good, with plenty of atmosphere from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

thank you very much for your kind review !! Unfortunatly we lose the final .....
Hope to see you again at Villa di Sorrento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As others have said, the position is great with all amenities close by so it was easy to explore the town on foot as well as taxi if you need one. Bus and Train station within a 5-10 minute walk too so you can get anywhere easily. It does not pretend to be 5 star so the complaints seem a bit harsh. The rooms were very clean and well serviced, staff are friendly and do their most to be helpful - when we left a bag behind in the hotel they sent a staff member on a scooter to chase our bus on the way to the airport and he wouldn't take anything in recompense.

I enjoyed the cockerel - it's great to have a bit of local colour even in the middle of town! And it was only a bantam, not a full sized cockerel judging by the volume and pitch of its voice. Relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

I really appriciate your review, many thanks also for the comments on the " Cockerel", it's nice to see that someone appreciates our local color....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice during April 2012, as we used Sorrento as a transport hub for the Amalfi Coast. Our expectations of Sorrento, based on most travel guides, were not high but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right in the centre of town, less than 5 mins walk to the charming old quarter, 8-10 mins walk to the station and 10-15 mins walk to the port. The elevator is the smallest we encountered in Italy (just enough room for 2 people and luggage) but our room was clean and spacious.

We had a mix up with our booking which we changed before we left home but the hotel did not have a record of this change. Nonetheless, we sorted this out and were not charged. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. For the price, this hotel is outstanding value, particularly compared with hotels on the Isle of Capri, just 30 mins away by ferry.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for your nice reviews! I hope to see you again at Villa di Sorrento 1854

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The location for the Villa Di Sorrento was great- a few footsteps away from Plazza Tasso. The room was small but adequate. Unfortunately, there was a rooster in the courtyard below our room and it began to crow at the crack of dawn. Even with the windows closed, we could still hear the rooster. When we spoke to the manager, he said he didn't understand what I was talking about. I explained and he said there was nothing he could do about it and the "hotel was full up." We put up with the crowing for three nights. The staff was nice but not as accommodating as could have been expected. On our last day my husband and I discovered we had gotten Athlete's Foot from the shower. Overall, I would rate this hotel experience as disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CINDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Further to your comments, I am pleased to inform you the the ''Rooster'' has now been roasted with Rosemary and Potatoes!! With regards to contacting ''Athletes foot'', the cleanliness in our Hotel is of a maximum standard, as you can see from other comments and the Showers and Baths are disinfected daily! Given the time to incubate Athletes Foot I believe you could have contracted it before arriving at our hotel as it takes longer than 3 days to incubate and manifest itself, it does not happen over- night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Di Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Di Sorrento

Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 6 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $119 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Di Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Di Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing