We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is a quiet, lovely hotel peched on the old city walls of Sorrento, overlooking a deep ravine. At night, with the lights off, the moonlight comes through the shutters and bathes the room. It is lovely. The room we had on the second floor was large and comfortable. The bathroom was the largest one we had during three weeks in Italy. The staff was caring and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was bountiful and diverse. We had great cappucio every morning and custom made omelettes. The dining room staff was especially delightful as was Mario at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,328)
There are newer reviews for Antiche Mura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband & I couldnt of asked for a better location ....Just a few steps to the center of town..Not only the location but service .The rooms were spotless & spacious.They were very helpful & so nice at the reception desk (Luigi,Mario,Antonio & Lara) w/ good recomendations with places to dine.Easy access to the train (10 min walk),ferry to Capri(10 min walk).They also have parking for 10 euro a day which is very conveinent & I suggest if you have a rental car because in sorrento its very hard to find parking.They serve a delicious breakfast in the morning & the girls that work in the dining room are wonderful! If your planning a trip to the Amalfi coast I would highly recomend the Antiche Mura Hotel in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myroc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and would definitely stay here again. Close to the Piazza Tasso but away from the noise and crowds, Antiche Mura has lovely pool with gardens and a small bar in the rear. Breakfast is quite sumptious and you can eat inside or out. There is also a very nice lobby with a bar and comfortable chairs and sofas. Our room was spacious, the bathroom and shower clean and modern. We had a small balcony with table and chairs. They offer free wireless internet access but access is available in the lobby area, not in the rooms. There are PC's in the lobby area available for a fee for guests as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The hotel is located about a half block from the main Piazza in downtown Sorrento. It's close enough but at the same time far enough away that you can sleep comfortably. The staff is friendly, helpful, and spoke English well enough to explain things in detail. They were also honest enough to call us and let us know that one of our friends had left several valuable gift items in her room when we checked out. We always felt like we were returning home when we got back after a days outing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeminiDragonSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Beautiful marble floors, and tasteful decor throughout. Staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing and was served until 10:30 which is great for those of us who like a lie-in on holiday. The pool area was also lovely, beautifully maintained, in a lemon grove. We ate at the pool snack bar a couple of times and the food quality and value for money was far better than other places we'd eaten locally. The only disappointment was the balcony/room upgrade that cost us £308 for the week. It was a very small balcony and overlooked a fairly busy road, so we did not use it at all. Perhaps we were unlucky.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

located perfectly, walking distance (steep) down to ferry to go to Isle of Capri. Also had day bus trip to the Amafi Coast, so Sorrento is a great stepping stone to other places of interest. Town centre just a 1 minute stroll. Beautiful town, magnificent views, plenty of restuarants to choose from. Room service was 10 out of 10, breakfast was vast and yumo. My best time was spent sitting by the beautiful pool sipping on an Singapore Sling whipped up by the staff. Service was wonderful. Can highly recommend the Basilica to eat at (also recommended by Hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrenBurnie_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Location was fabulous in the center of everything and only a 7 minute walk to the train/bus station. Hotel staff was WONDERFUL in helping us with an issue we had with changing our Marozzi bus ticket from Sorrento back to Rome. Room was beautiful, spacious and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellycccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $146 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing