We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in great location”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in April 2007, having studied the reviews of various Sorrento hotels.
Our comfort room was clean, well decorated but a bit on the small side, and lacking in one or two comfort factors we expected eg tissues, information pack. The shower room was adequate in size but there was a hint of a smell of drains after the shower was used.
The location is excellent, and the front desk staff very pleasant and helpful, giving good recommendations for eating places, with maps showing location, and being happy to make reservations.
Breakfast for our taste was no better than average. Not a wide choice of either cooked or cereals, but very extensive if you like sweet stuff at that time of day. (But our previous Italian breakfast experience was at the Melia Milano, which was our best ever.)
The garage is a useful facility if you have a car. On street parking is neither plentiful nor recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BucksPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,333)
There are newer reviews for Antiche Mura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2007

The hotel was lovely except for the ants that were everywhere in our room, including the beds! Do not stay in the garden shack room because the trash is collected every morning between 5 and 6 am right outside the window. Best breakfast we had in Italy.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ejfArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

My family and I really loved the Antiche Mura. The lobby is very nice, the rooms are well appointed and the front desk staff was excellent. They were very helpful and knowledgeble and made good recommendations for restaurants that were not just typical tourist places. The breakfast was simply amazing with one dish better than the next. The location is also very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FrankCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

I recently stayed at the Antiche Mura with my partner. It's very well located in Sorrento, close to lots of places to eat and drink and within easy walking distance of the station, whereas many of the other hotels in its price bracket are out of town. This could be a nuisance, as traffic on the Amalfi Coast can be amazingly congested. Staying in town is less romantic but much more practical for anyone interested in sightseeing.

The Antiche Mura is pleasantly run. We initially had a very noisy room and asked to moved - a request that was immediately accepted and acted on. Our second room was much quieter.

The hotel has tiled floors throughout, which means that noise in corridors tends to be amplified. This doesn't seem a great design feature - carpets would make the hotel much quieter and more relaxed. Rooms are on the small side, but adequate, with good bathrooms. Breakfast is a highlight, with a superb choice of cakes and pastries. Staff were courteous and generally helpful. The hotel's atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smoothtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Excellent location, just a stone's throw from Piazzo Tasso, the town's main square. Very nice rooms, very clean. Outstanding staff, very helpful and friendly, and all spoke great English. We especially appreciated Luigi's helpful advice on our arrival, providing us with everything from a map, to bus/train schedules in the region, to restaurant recommendations. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank apaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

We recently sayed at the Hotel Antiche Mura in Sorrento, Italy, and really enjoyed it. The hotel was centrally located near Piazza Tasso, in the center of town, near restaurants and shopping. The staff was warm and friendly and very helpful. The room was nice (nothing fancy, but clean and plenty big enough) as was the bathroom. Very comfortable. Their breakfast area was absolutely beautiful...like a garden solarium.. It overlooked a garden with plants and lemon trees and it was the best breakfast that was provided to us in all the hotels on our 2 week trip. Very nice.

The hotel also had a "happy hour" in the early evenings right off the lobby, which we loved. Tonino, was the bartender, and a very nice young man. We spent a lot of time talking to him about Italy and the people of this wonderful country. He was very helpful and interesting. We also learned about some wines that we had never tried before. I would definately recommend this hotel.

2  Thank Springfield-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Sorrento offers many levels of accomodation from the sublime to the ridiculous. We were neither honeymooners on the trip of a lifetime nor students looking for a place to crash. The Hotel Antiche Mura is the perfect place for someone who wants first class comfort in a beautiful, well-run gem of a hotel at a very reasonable price. It has 46 rooms, is quiet and well-appointed. We had a "comfort room" for 140EU per night including a bountiful breakfast in a bright and pretty breakfast room. The room was a nice size with new, inlaid wood furniture which reflects the area's tradition of exquisite wood marquetry. It had enough built-in drawers and closet space for a month's worth of clothes, good bedside reading lights, a desk with lamp and a very, very comfortable bed. The double-insulated french doors opened to a small balconey with two chairs and a table overlooking the chasm formed by the old Roman wall. The newly-renovated bath had a tub and hydro-massage shower and was well lighted. A hairdryer, frigobar and room safe are provided.

There is a spacious lounge and bar where happy hour specials are offered in an effort to get guests to mingle and mix - a very thoughtful, hospitable gesture. There is also a desk and internet-connected computer for the use of the guests (albeit at a small charge which I think is aimed at keeping guest's use to a reasonable time). The hotel staff is delightful and are quick to answer e-mail inquiries. They also booked a private car to pick us up at Naples airport (100 EU).

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Guida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $145 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing