We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing hotel”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 16, 2006

A very enjoyable hotel. Nicely decorated, though small, room with a nice large bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and offered many choices of hot food, pastries and fruit. The coffee was poor--tasted like instant and had cooled too much from sitting out in the individual serving pot. Ask instead for a cappuccino, which was freshly made and delicious.

The location was great, just steps from Piazza Tasso at the heart of town, yet very quiet. We enjoyed lounging in the lemon grove by the pool, but beware of hungry mosquitos!

Staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. There was a train strike on the day we arrived. Unlike our hotel in Naples, this hotel had signs posted throughout the lobby and on the elevators so that travelers weren't caught unawares.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,899 - 1,905 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2006

We just returned from a five night stay at the Antiche Mura Hotel in Sorrento. So glad that we stayed in Sorrento instead of Naples and used this as a base for Naples, Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, Capri, etc. The location of the hotel was great--down the street from Tasso Square which is in the center of town. We were walking distance to restaurants, shops, train, bus, and hydrofoil. Michele and his staff were wonderful and so helpful. The rooms are very nice and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mkchaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

The rooms were the usual European size, but the location, views from the lemon groves, and breakfast were the best! Nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaltNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Antiche Mura for three days in early November 2006. We found the hotel to be an excellent choice. Location is near the Tasso square, right in the center of town. Front desk very friendly and helpful, rooms above average, breakfast and service very good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a few days in Sorrento, visiting the Amalfi coast, Naples, Capri, etc...

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

We went to the Antiche Mura for a holiday to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was a package with Thompson (Magic of Italy) and we only had a basic room.

I'd agree with the majority of what the other reviewers have written. The hotel's location is excellent - right in the heart of Sorrento, but with a deep gorge running down one side of the hotel, it's very peaceful, almost to the point of being rural.

The room was on the small side - but spotlessly clean. Maid service is twice a day - you'll find your bed turned down for you in the evening. My only complaint was that there were large mirrored wardrobe doors opposite the bed, which made me both uncomfortable and self-conscious every time I was in bed. But I realise that these may be an attraction for some people!

The breakfast buffets are exactly as others have described - more cake than a patisserie. The pool area is delightful, although take some insect repellant. The poolside bar also served some good food.

What I would really recommend is the resort of Sorrento itself. We loved it. It was a proper grown-up resort, which is touristy without being tacky. The centre is pedestrianised at night - and you can join the great Italian sport of promenading. All the shops, bars and restaurants are open late - and you can stroll around, stopping for shopping, drinking or eating. I even went out one night by myself when my partner was feeling unwell, and as a single woman, I felt completely safe. It had a brilliant atmosphere, and even in October, it was very warm.

The best place we found in Sorrento is Cafe Latino, a restaurant set in a courtyard (quite close to the main English/Irish pubs). This was quite simply one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in - the setting is stunning, the food is amazing, and the Maitre D' and all the waiting staff were brilliant. Oh, and the cocktails are jolly nice too. It's also a restaurant where you can get a much wider variety of Italian food than the pizza/pasta combinations that abound in Sorrento.

A very good holiday in all - and the Antiche Mura was a brilliant base for exploring the region. Much recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Diplodocus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

As written in the previous reviews, it is a great place - so rather than repeat all the superlatives which you can read for yourselves, and to which I agree, I'd like to centre in on one attribute - the wonderful front desk staff!

There was a quick response to any concerns we raised. They were always very pleasant and helpful. The advice was well thought out, and they offered suggestions but were not pushy about them. And they provided good explanations on why they made the suggestions.

Special mention should be made of Assunta. She is a sweetheart and made a point of ensuring that we were enjoying ourselves.

Michele, with whom I was in touch via e-mail prior to arrival was very helpful in getting us what I wanted - a nice roomy "romantic" room.

From suggestions on restaurants, to how to get to the top of Vesuvius we never went wrong following the front desk advice. They seemed to have a sixth sense about my wife's and my preferences and personality. When I asked why they recommended the particular restaurants (there are so many close by that are local style and the same general price range), I was told that the ones they suggested were more consistent, quieter and appropriate for us. And they were right, we enjoyed them very much!

Following the advice we ate primarily at Zintano's and Phillipo's. Zintano's is close by, has a varied menu, excellent wines, and our waiter, Pasquale was very entertaining and personable (although some may find his exuberance and innuendos a bit hard to take). He took us into the kitchen and we saw how everyone working there was proud of the fresh ingredients, and their work. Phillipo's sends a van down to get you, since unless you are a mountain goat there is no way to walk there. Franco the driver is a delight and watches over you like a mother hen. The food is great and the kitchen is fully visible.

Some touring advice - do not skip seeing Herculeum, assuming that it is just a smaller version of Pompeii. It is very much different. The walk down the street from the train (Circumvesuvio - Ercolano station) is not threatening or dangerous. It is simply a busy city street. Also if you want to see the crater of Vesuvius, there are various ways - the fastest is via a taxi-van service from Ercolano - there is a sign right outside the train station and the office is to the left. The price includes entrance, and once a van is reasonably full (more than 6 people) off you go. The driver waits for you at the parking lot - and 90 minutes is sufficient to climb the remaining 200 meters (via a good wide gradual footpath) and go around the crater. Not too strenuous. Go in the morning and then on return, see Herculeum.

Also don't rent a car - the hotel is in the centre of Sorrento - close to the train and the bus - and the Amalfi coast is much prettier looking out the bus window than having a nerve-racking drive!

We were there the first week of November - the weather was perfect - no longer hot, but not yet cold. And being a bit off season the prices were more reasonable and places were less crowded. We never had to wait or fight crowds. And when we extended our stay by a night, it was not a problem.

Thank you to Trip Advisor - The reviews made the hotel too good to be true, but they were right on! Read on to the other reviews for more details.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Life-is-an-Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Great location, wonderful breakfast, courteous staff. Would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGH205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $120 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing