We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and beautiful interiors.”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and beautiful interiors.”
Reviewed October 2, 2006

The Antiche Mura is situated on a gorge running through the heart of Sorrento. The views are wonderful from the rooms facing the gorge as well as those that overlook the pool grounds. Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious. Train station,the old city, restaurants and shops are easy walking distance. The staff was courteous, helpful and eager to please. The breakfast buffet was huge but tended to be on the sweet side. If we ever visit the Amalfi coast again, we would chose this hotel,

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, spacious and gracious rooms.
  • Disliked — Too many sweets on the breakfast buffet.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure to walk down to the edge of the harbor for spectacular views of the gulf.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,896
    340
    43
    10
    2
See reviews for
532
1,244
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
long island, new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Just returned from Sorrento. Booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor. It was excellent. The location of the hotel was perfect. The staff was extremely helpful. We had a suite which was comparable to most Las Vegas hotels.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Charming hotel located close to everything. Within walking distance to buses, taxis and many wonderful resturants. Staff was very accomodating and the grounds were beautiful. Would stay there over and over.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank agent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We loved the location and the ambience of the hotel. Our only disappointment was when we arrived after booking 2 exact rooms --- one room was quite large and the other could hardly accommodate moving around let alone any luggage, so I would be cautious when booking the very cheapest room. The front desk did accommodate us the next day and moved us to a slightly larger room. Close to the main square in town -- don't need a car. And, oh the breakfast buffet. Best we had in our 3 weeks of stay in Italy. Also, spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank marham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Booked this hotel as a result of the poor review our original one had on this site. We were pleased with the results. This hotel has a great location: just one short block away from the main town plaza with our room overlooking a dramatic gorge leading to the sea. Service was pleasant and we had a room with a lovely outdoor terrace (it included recliners and an outdoor shower!) The staff was great and the breakfast buffet was more than sufficient. (We made great sandwiches for lunch). Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank multiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights for a friends wedding and had a simply fantastic time. Stayed in a standard room which was spotless and comfortable. The staff were hardly to be noticed, but always there when needed. The pool area is pure heaven, I could happily have spent all day there every day, a small pool with very cold water that was perfect for freshening up after a few hours in the sun, and without the noise of hundreds of splashing children. Breakfasts are good but not as wonderful as people make out, although the fresh fruit salad was exceptional.

A special thanks to the late night receptionist for always being around to let me in at some very improper times of night/morning.

Forget the overpriced cliff top hotels and just go for a drink on their terraces if you want to see the ocean, if you want a peaceful oasis right in the centre you cant go wrong with Antiche Mura.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DJDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor.

It was the last hotel on our trip to Italy and it was a birthday & wedding anniversary during our stay. It was the most expensive hotel on our trip, but I thought it would be worth splashing out a bit. Although we booked the standard room, I was still expecting a four star hotel standard. When we got there and were showed to our room, I was so disappointed. We were in a shabby little room by the lift. It didn't feel clean, there was no space once the suitcase was in there and it looked to me like it needed refurbishing. We stayed in a variety of hotels on our trip, one of them was a two star, family run hotel and it was so much better than this. We had just come from a four star in Rome, which was 60 euros less a night and was also so much better.
We told the staff that we didn't like our room and they upgraded us free of charge to a comfort room. We changed to this room the following day. Our room was on the roof, we had a view of Vesuvius, and a huge private terrace, which was lovely. The room was definitely an improvement, more space, bigger bed. But the bathroom was still very, very, small. I also felt this room was cleaner. But I would still not have been happy paying 245 euros a night for it, it was only just worth the standard room tariff of 195 euros in my opinion. This hotel is not four star standard in my opinion, more like a three. Yes it has got a nice pool area, but I am not a swimmer or sunbather, so it was wasted on me really. But if you like that sort of thing, I'm sure you'd be happy there.
I just felt the hotel was very poor value for money and i felt they had initially shoved us in the worst standard room, even though I had booked 6 months prior to our stay.
Having said all that, the staff were very nice and very helpful. To be upgraded showed that they did care and not only that they sent me a bottle of sparkling wine when it was my birthday.
I cannot fault the staff at all.
The breakfast was good, but after a few days we were struggling to find something to have, once the novelty of having cakes has worn off. But they do make an omlette if you ask them.
The location of the hotel is very good, just off the main square, so it's central but quiet. Close to the train station too.

Be careful of some of the rubbish tourist restaurants near the square. Go to Marina Grande, where you see what I imagined Sorrento to be like. But if you can, walk there, we took a cab one night and he charged 20 euros (you can walk in 20 mins), or get the bus. We went to two lovely restaurants there, both where you are almost sat on the beach. We also went twice to 'Il Leone Rosso', just before you get to the train station (from the hotel), turn right. Excellent place, very cheap and lovely pizzas.

Sorrento is a great place to see everything in the area, good transport etc. but it's very touristy, lots of tacky tourist shops and restaurants, If i went back, I would definitely stay away from the main square, near Marina Grande or similar.

  • Liked — Handy location for all transport.
  • Disliked — Rooms, repetitive breakfast.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you chose this hotel book a comfort room or above. Or stay away from Tasso square if you want to experience Italian Sorrento, not tourist Sorrento.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bats-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing