We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and can't have enough superlatives for this hotel. It's a marvelous villa nestled in the walls of Sorrento and just a few steps from piazza Tasso. Vincenzo graciously welcomed us and all the front desk staff went out of their way to cater to our every needs. They even arranged for me to get a haircut in my room on a Sunday. This hotel treats you like family not a number. The breakfast room is beautiful overlooking the antiche walls and Mario, Elena, Stephana, and Anthony make sure you feel welcome and special. With only 50 rooms you can get personal attention. The pool area is serene with orange and lemon trees high with beautiful views and Mario serves you with a song and a smile out there. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. We took a room with a balcony on the second floor. Of all the hotels we stayed in on this vacation this was our favorite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,887
    335
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
524
1,240
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, ideally situated in the center of Serento. Staff extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Wonderful breakfast and view of gardens. Hotel spacious and very comfortable bed. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Martine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has attentive and friendly staff and a PERFECT location for everything you'd want to do in Sorrento. Comfortable beds, clean marble baths, and an exceptional breakfast buffet and all the charm of an authentic Italian villa.

Room Tip: A ground floor room opening to the Valley of the Old Mill was a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I vacationed with our Daughter and son-in-law and stayed at the Antiche Mura for two nights. You can rent a car and drive from Naples, but it's just as easy to take the local train (Circumvesuviano line) all the way to Sorrento. The hotel is right in the middle of town, and easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping areas and the shore. The property is extremely well maintained, with beautiful gardens in front and an impressive lobby. The hotel staff wore smart black suits and were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

The hotel is much larger than it appears and elevator is modern large by European standards. As we entered our room we were treated to a pretty garden view and a free bottle of sparkling wine. Our daughter's view was spectacular - overlooking a gorge full of ancient ruins. The double rooms are an adequate size, and decorated in a traditional manner with a warm color palette to reflect the lemons and sunshine this region is famous for. Bathrooms have been modernized, and the room was remarkably quiet given that the hotel's central location.

Breakfast is included in the room price, and the buffet is extensive, with hot foods like eggs, sausage, tomatoes, and every manner of bread and baked goods. (I couldn't resist going back for a second apricot pastry!) Waitstaff are eager to bring you your favorite juice or coffee drink. The restaurant area is large and sunny, surrounded by trees and beautiful landscaping.

I would definitely stay here again. I booked this hotel via their website and they responded promptly to my email. They even sent an email reminder a week ahead of time to confirm our stay. We received excellent value for money and some wonderful memories as well.

Room Tip: For a spectacular view, request a room overlooking the ancient ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in November 2012. Room had no view and it was small but we weren't in it much anyhow. Service at front desk was very good and they were helpful when we needed info about the area. Breakfast was amazing every morning and the coffee was best I've every had. Location in town is perfect. Would stay again in an instant.

Room Tip: If possible get a room overlooking street or ravine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I spent an amazing week at the Antiche Mura. We had a junior suite with its own entrance and large patio that overlooked a ravine housing Greek and Roman ruins. The staff are extremely kind and accommodating. We had accidentally only booked five nights and when we inquired about booking a sixth, they did so with no problem and at the rate we had secured months earlier. We arrived on a Easter Monday and were welcomed with a plate of fresh fruit, a chocolate Easter egg, and a bottle of champagne. The pool and garden area are breathtaking and the complimentary breakfast is wonderful. The service and atmosphere was appropriate for the cost. If we are ever
Iucky enough to come back to Sorrento, we will surely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pjrsmdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 day stay in April, 2014. Location is excellent and fabulous Breakfasts. Rooms were pleasant and quiet. Close to dining and 5 minute walk to train station. All hotel staff were great, super friendly with advice on all schedules and activities. Spoke excellent English. Also, parked our rental car for us!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing