We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I traveled to Sorrento with my daughter and a friend in mid October of this year and stayed in one of the beautiful rooms in this hotel that had a balcony with a spectacular view, The evening that we arrived we were surprised to find a bottle of champagne and a large bowl of fruit waiting for us in our room. The room was clean and tastefully decorated with a gorgeous tile floor and an amazing chandelier. We stayed there for ten days using it as a base to explore the sights and sounds of Sorrento and the surrounding area. The breakfasts are outstanding with a wide range of choices of food. The hotel is conveniently located within a short walking distance from the main square and other charming side streets with their colorful shops and restaurants. The staff is warm, friendly, and extremely helpful; the service is wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Sorrento.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 2,375 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel was wonderful... the best hotel experience I've had. We stayed there for 10 days and had a fantastic time. The hotel staff provided helpful information and tips to make our stay in Sorrento a great one. They arranged for transfers to and from Naples to Sorrento and booked tours for us to other sites nearby such as to Capri and the Amalfi coast--as well as tickets for the Sorrento Musical.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is located in the heart of the city, very close to the main square, and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Three of us stayed in one of the suites. It was beautifully furnished and had a balcony. It was quite and very comfortable! And overall the hotel (i.e.pool area, lobby) was beautiful too.

The breakfasts were also superb. So many choices including eggs, bread, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereals etc. and wonderful pastries!

We were treated so well ... like family! I would love to return to Sorrento and to stay at this hotel again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Carina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Other reviews of this ideal hotel certainly confirm our experience. In our case, we were lost in Naples, trying to drop off our car rental at Hertz. We had decided in advance we would arrange for a driver to pick us up there and take us to our hotel (Antiche Mura). The hotel called us on our cell and asked us how we were doing. We told them we were lost and they gave us the phone number for our driver who was waiting for us at Hertz. He wonderfully guided us to the location and then drove us to our hotel. We were greeted warmly by the front desk and from that point on, we were treated great. The front desk staff were particularly gracious with arranging other day trips to Capri and the Amalfi coast. When we finally departed after four days, once again they arranged for our driver to the Naples train station without incident. You will not be disappointed staying here. It's not luxury status, but they make you feel like it is.

Room Tip: Our hotel room was just fine and did not have to move due to any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Entering this hotel is like stepping back into a grand victorian palace: it's spectacular, but also very clean and not dated.
The hotel's ideally located to explore Sorrento and our room had a lovely outlook over the hill and was very spacious.
As others have noted the breakfast arrangements are spectacular: the range of cakes and other "standard" breakfast goodies is a sight to behold. The main problem is trying hard not to over-indulge at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kameruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a great Hotel to stay in Sorrento. All of the staff is professional attentive and helpful
I enjoyed my stay immensely. Everything was great: location, accomodations, food and
the staff was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The combination of location, helpful staff and clean rooms makes this an ideal base for a stay in Sorrento. It is an easy 2 minute stroll into the main square of Sorrento and from there you can explore the side streets. Most of the shops are very similar-limoncello, scarves and lemon soap- but still interesting. Plenty of cafes where you can sit and people watch. It is only a short walk to the station and bus stop for visits to Pompei, Amalfi and Naples, however I would not recommend Naples.
We were greeted by name when we arrived and all the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a map on arrival and a useful timetable of train, bus and ferry times - not always accurate but we did visit at the end of the season so touristy things were slowing down. When the water in our bathroom failed to appear two members of staff responded immediately, solved the problem and were very apologetic.
The weather was very kind to us and we were able to eat breakfast in the pretty, well maintained garden. One of my best memories is eating fruit straight from the trees in the garden. The breakfast was a good selection buffet style and the waiters were friendly and welcoming.
The room was very clean and comfortable. If I am very picky I would like to see 3 changes/ additions 1. A bedside clock. 2. hand lotion in the bathroom. 3. The shower door opening the other way! It was difficult to turn the shower on and avoid the water before it had reached a reasonable temperature. But that is me being ultra picky!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

On our way to see the Mill of Sorrento, we were looking for a place to stay, and eventually we ended up in Antiche Mura, and it was simply perfect.
The young gentleman at the reception was really nice in giving us all the information we needed, he let us take a look at the rooms and the rates we got were more than convenient, so we decided to stay.
The rooms are quite spacious with a big comfortable bed with comfy mattress and pillows, the bathroom was a not too big, but splitting hairs here.
Everything was tastefully decorated, and spotless clean, and the hotel area was a delight to walk around, a beautiful garden full of lemons and tangerine (even found one: that had lemons and tangerines in the same tree, what's with that?) the pool area, and the breakfast area. And the hotel is in a perfect location, right on top of the Sorrento mill, the very place we were looking for, and right around the corner to the main square full of cafes, pubs and restaurants
The breakfast was lovely, the service was great, reception and all the staff was more than helpful.
Southern hospitality at its best. we loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShawnWithCaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $120 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing