We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place. Will stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this place. Will stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in Sorrento at the Antiche Mura. We definitely will stay here again! Great hotel, great service, great breakfast. Its conveniently located to the center of town/tourist areas and easy access to the port for boat trips to Capri, Naples and Amalfi.

The room was spacious with nice size clean bathroom. They provided a complimentary bottle of Prosecco on our arrival. Wifi was free and very good throughout the hotel areas. The front desk staff worked arranging reservations and complimentary transportation to two local restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TRWilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,855
    327
    41
    10
    2
See reviews for
511
1,215
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned, far enough away from the hustle and bustle but so close to all the restaurants, shops, port and rail station. The rooms were large and very comfortable, we had a lovely outlook over the garden and pool area. The staff, Vincenzo and his crew, were wonderful from the moment we walked through the front door. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly just to say a massive thank- you to all the staff at Hotel Antiche Mura for making our wedding the most wonderful occasion and truly the best day of lives. From the moment I sent the first email to Michele I knew I had hit on something special. We have visited Hotel Antiche Mura on a couple of occasions before to sort all the wedding arrangements out.
The hotel is wonderful – read all the other reviews from guests they are all absolutely right I don’t need to say all this again. However what I will say is what makes this place head and shoulders above the others is the staff. From the warm welcome from the front desk to Mario by the pool and Tony in the bar. Most of our wedding party had also chosen to stay at the hotel as well, every single guest loved the hotel and has vowed to return! We had a wide range of rooms between us from the economy rooms to the Suite with Jacuzzi – everyone loved their room and each one is slightly different.
We stayed in room 301 (Junior Suite) which is a beautiful room with a balcony going all the way round.
Weddings do not take place in the hotel but the family own a Villa which is on the outskirts of town. This was the only venue we looked at. It is truly stunning. The photos on the website are great but in reality it is far more beautiful than what a picture could capture. Michele who is the manager sorted everything to do with our wedding. He sorted all the legal paperwork as well. This made the whole process very easy – as he is a true professional and will arrange everything for you no matter how small.
I did all my arrangements through Michele, flowers, hair, make-up, horse and cart, ice- cream cart etc etc. I have no doubt that you would be able to source your own if you are looking to save some money, however not having all these things to stress about made everything so much easier and enjoyable.
All of our guests said that it was the best wedding they had ever been to everything was so well organised and so beautiful – one even described it as a fairy tale.
Thank you all again and we look forward to coming next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been meaning to write my first review on this hotel as it truly deserves a glowing recommendation. I organised a group family trip for my mum's 70th and was anxious to find a hotel that could accommodate the needs of ages from 70 yrs to 4 yrs and Antiche Mura did just that. The staff could not have been more accommodating and made booking and staying in the hotel a real pleasure. The hotel is ideally situated for all that Sorrento has to offer without being noisy. The rooms are spacious and in the Italian style. Although the pool area is not enormous it is one of the few Hotels with a pool in the centre of Sorrento and it's a welcome place to be after a days sight seeing. Breakfast is a real treat and so varied you could not fail to set yourself up well for the day! Great place for families and couples a like. Thank you to all the staff for your advice and recommendations they made our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I spent 4 nights at the Antiche Mura and it was a wonderful experience. The junior suites were fabulous and had plenty of space and beautiful views. We were greeted in the room with a nice cold bottle of champagne! I did all my research and booking on line. Michele was always prompt in answering any questions/e mails. Great location in the center of Sorrento. Breaksfast were always wonderful with a great variety of food items. I would highly recommend the Antiche Mura if you are planning to visit Sorrento. My husband just said "If you want to feel like you are rich and famous then stay at the Antiche Mura."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon in the very end of August. We arrived by boat in the small port from Napoli. We spent about 17 Euros getting to the the hotel via taxi which was a BIG mistake. All you need to do is get on one of the red local buses which are parked right in the port and pay about 1.60 euro. Purchase tickets in the bar by the church in the main square or at the Tabacchi in the port. The bus stops right in front of the hotel practically and is less than 5 minutes up the hill. Upon arriving the staff showed us the room which they had upgraded us to. It was a rooftop room with its own HUGE terrace overlooking what felt like all of Sorrento. We had booked a basic room - which are fairly small - so this was a lovely surprise. They also had a bottle of proseco waiting for us in the room. The air conditioning in the room was the best on our whole trip which was great because it was HOT in August here. The pool area was incredibly quiet and the pool was a good size. There is a lovely grove surrounding the pool which makes it feel more like you are in someone's garden than at a hotel. The staff at the pool were quirky and fun and the food there was excellent. The hotel is located just off the main Piazza and has a great store across the street convenient for buying snacks for your stay like wine and cheese. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. They recommended the beach club to us which was just a short walk back down the hill. For 16 euros each we had a lounge chair and towels all day on the sea. It was really nice. Overall this was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rujimhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a lovely hotel and a great location! The staff has been so accommodating and friendly, I would definitely stay here again! Close to everything in Sorrento and a great location for day trips! Breakfast in the garden is a pleasant start to the day and a cocktail by the pool is a great end to the day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing