We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location, caring staff”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first time in Sorrento and we could not have chosen a better hotel or room. The location was exceptionally handy for where we wanted to walk - the train station, the harbour, various restaurants and just wandering around soaking up the atmosphere. We were thrilled with our junior suite - it had an outside terrace where we could lie on loungers or sit at a table. It was hot during our stay so we really enjoyed being able to sit in the shade but still be outside. I needed to see a doctor during my stay and the woman at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful to organise it. The breakfast buffet was very good and gluten free bread was available upon request. I think some freshly baked gluten free items (e.g. mini sponge cakes) were available too but I didn't try them. The friendly barman was great in guiding our discovery of amaro after dinner - we sampled a very wide selection over the week. I loved this hotel and would definitely return on future visits to Sorrento. I'll maybe have time to try the pool next time!

Room Tip: junior suite with terrace gives you the option to relax outside in sunshine or shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hochelaga1653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel in the heart of Sorrento for three nights.

Pros: The grounds and pool were stunning. Between the lemon trees, ancient walls, and peaceful poolside, we loved lounging outside. The hotel is located just steps from the main square in Sorrento, where we found lots of restaurants, bars, shops, and gelaterias within walking distance. The staff was professional and helpful. There was a charming bar in the lobby where we liked to stop for a cocktail from the friendly bartender. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed with pretty tile floors and chandeliers. The included breakfast was bountiful and varied.

Cons: The showers had a tendency to flood the bathrooms, and the wifi strength was weak.

Room Tip: Economy rooms have weird windows... they are underground so the windows are near the ceiling and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The standard of the facilities, staff and food are superb.

This is the second time I have stayed at the Antiche Mura and would return again. What sets the hotel apart from the others is its location - at the centre of Sorrento but quiet - the pool area is beautifully maintained and very relaxing. The staff are so nice, helpful and willing to advise on the best way to access the areas places of interest.

Room Tip: The pool service for drinks and food is excellent in both quality and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at Antiche Mura for making our stay wonderful!
Fabulous location, great breakfast (and even provided gluten free options).
The staff gave lots of restaurant recommendations and helpful advice.
We had a great time in Sorrento!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHR263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

great location, just off the main square. Rooms are excellent & the maid service is 2nd to none. Breakfast is great & the lunches by the pool are also superb. Lovely swimming pool. Staff are very friendly & helpful. My 3rd visit & I am sure will go back again.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are great but the standard are also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonjo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

First time in Sorrento and stood 5 nights. The hotel is perfectly located off the center of town. The service was spectacular. Mario at the front desk could not have been nicer and more accomodating. Every time we walked in the lobby, we received a friendly greeting. Our room was spotless when we arrived and we received a compimentary bottle of Perscio, cookies and fruits which my wife and I enjoyed thoroughly. The breakfast selection was great and everything was so fresh. Great place to stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

In the center of everything in Sorrento, this hotel boasts a gorgeous pool and top notch personalized service. Our spacious and clean room had a private balcony overlooking the pool, and was a few steps from the pool. Only drawback was concierge - very weak-with limited ability to help you plan your day and excursions. The pool is surrounded by beautiful fruit trees and comfortable chairs- a delightful place to sit and relax. They accommodated our particular needs which were significant when it came to food and meals. "Super" Mario at the pool/bar was great!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side of the hotel overlooking the pool. They all have lovely balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $127 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing