We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very nice. All seemed very helpful and attentive- from the chambermaids to the manager! The location is excellent and within walking distance of everything sorrento had to offer. Breakfast was decent with plenty of choice. I would say excellent but the mini frankfurt sausages on offer were a bit below the rest of the spread! They seem to have the right mix here and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    326
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
509
1,212
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

From the time we arrived at the Hotel Antiche Mura, the experience has been first class. When arriving with a car, what initially appears to be a tight area directly in front of the hotel becomes no problem as the staff quickly unloads any luggage and moves your car off to the hotel garage with no worries. The additional fee of 10 Euros a day for the hotel car park is a bargain, and with the available trains, busses and nearby conveniences, there was no need for our car for the entire five night stay. The reception staff is just amazing, as we received numerous suggestions and directions from Mario and Vincente. The included breakfast is served in a spacious and appealing dining room with two walls of windows offering views of the garden area. A vast selection of food, including variously prepared eggs, bacon, breads, fruits, yogurts and pastries, as well as numerous juices. The personal service for coffee, tea or any other needs was impressive. We not only received the Rick Steves 15% discount, but an additional substantial discount for paying our bill in full two weeks in advance of our arrival. With a small refrigerator mini bar and a fruit market across the street as well as a supermercato a few blocks away, it was easy to keep a healthy selection of snacks in the room. The bath is quite large and the free wifi is plenty fast. The entire hotel is immaculate, and they offer a complete bar service in a large lounge area each evening. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 503 on the top floor on the front of the hotel with a small balcony with table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent another two nights at this hotel staying in a room in the garden overlooking lemon trees and the pool. This was a repeat visit and a bottle of fizz on ice was waiting in the room when we arrived. This hotel makes you feel welcome from the very start. Nothing is too much trouble and luggage is whisked away from you on arrival. The breakfast here is the best we have had anywhere with something for all tastes in a beautifully presented room. The pastries are all home made and there is a large range. No room here to list all the goodies available to eat. No restaurant but the hotel recommendations were really impressive and they will handle all reservations etc. This hotel is just really well run with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Out of the 6 hotels we stayed at while in Italy over the last few weeks, this one was by far our favorite. You must stay here for the very best value (15% discount with Rick Steves' Italy book), way over the top friendly staff (Mario and Luigi, no lie, were delightful) and the breakfast was 5 star. They have beautiful grounds, patio, pool, covered porch and ideal location. We loved this place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nettie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're going to Sorrento for whatever your reason you could not find a better hotel in the whole of Italy, in fact if as good.We've travelled all over the world and this is amongst th best.The breakfasts were superb; the service and the friendlinessof the staff is somethig to experienceThe location to all amenities in Sorrento is perfect.
Please go to experience a magical place and you will agree with everything I have said .

Room Tip: Agarden room would be perfect amongst the orange trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just spent our honeymoon at the Antiche Mura, excellent hotel it feels so relaxing and serene. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely in a light restaurant not overcrowded.Also a huge choice of food, hot and cold.The hotel is a minutes walk from the Piazza Tazzo close to shops, cafes and restaurants. everywhere we ate was amazing. This was a lovely holiday and a wonderful relaxed smart hotel I would recommend this to everone 10/10

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is hotel that is located in the heart of Sorrento right outside of Piazza Tasso where all the shops and restaurants are located. The train station and the bus station are within 10 mins walk. The ferry port is 15 mins walk.

Breakfast was included and the quality was very good, plenty cereal, fruit, juices, breads, eggs, and pastries on offer.

The room is styled in Italian decor, comfortable with a large queen sized bed (which is standard as we didnt pay for a superior room). Hotel reception staff were polite and helpful.

A good base for enjoyng Sorrento

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing