We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Everything”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Everything”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my 4th stay at the Antiche Mura and once again it met all of our expectations. The rooms are wonderful - clean, well appointed, large - all of the amenities! This is my 14th trip to Italy and the breakfast buffet is the best I have encountered. The staff- now what can you say about the most professional, caring, wonderful staff I have ever had the privilege of meeting. You feel so cared for and pampered. We love each and every one Location, location, location - it doesn't get any better. I love it here and can't wait to return. Thanks everyone.
Kay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DelawareKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    338
    43
    10
    2
See reviews for
529
1,242
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is located just off Piazzo Tasso and within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the ferry station. We spent five nights and would not hesitate to stay here again.Our room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was plentiful and Marco's singing was entertaining when serving our cappuccinos. Aldo and Tony were very pleasant and extremely helpful. They made us feel welcomed and proudly made suggestions of places to visit during our day trips.
Terri & John - Chicago, IL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriandJohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a beautiful, elegant, and picturesque hotel with outstanding service, location, staff, and value. Probably my favorite hotel on this recent trip to Italy. They had an outstanding breakfast buffet included with the room. Rooms were beautifully appointed and quiet at night. Location is close to the railway station and in easy walking distance of most of Sorrento's attractions. The staff was friendly an helpful and spoke excellent English. I would definitely stay there again. A excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Loved this hotel! I wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful views.

We arrived early, our room was not ready so they put us in a rooftop room with a garden terrace. Fantastic in the day, a little spooky coming home at night.

Staff was very helpful. We were checking out before breakfast was being served, they offered to put together something we could take with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have arrived back from the Antiche Mura Hotel today, having spent four nights there and enjoyed one of our best ever holidays. The hotel is right in the cente of Sorrento and is only a few minutes walk to the centre of the town and the bus and train stations. Our room was very comfortable, with a huge bed and a delightful little balcony we could sit on and watch the world go by. There is also a lovely garden, with orange trees and a small swimming pool. We sat in the garden in the sunshine this morning and enjoyed coffee and biscuits.

The breakfasts were everything all the previous reviews had said ,huge choice of food, freshly baked bread, cakes and biscuits every morning . But the best thing of all was the staff, they were all really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you, especially our waiter, Mario, who's cheerful manner was so welcoming every morning and who was a mine of helpful information about the area. We will definately be returning again and again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b_holmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel has a brilliant location, it is right next to the main square in Sorrento (Piazzo Tasso). The staff are exceptionally friendly and so helpful. The rooms are lovely and quite roomy, the beds are extremely comfy. The pool and garden area are a delight and an excellent place to relax any time throughout the day. The breakfast is superb and the views across the gorge make it a fantastic experience. My family and I have been back on numerous occasions as we enjoy the hotel, and the service the staff provide, so much. It is by far the best hotel we have stayed in in Sorrento and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We knew this place was close to the centre of Sorrento, but we didn't realise how close, it's not even a short walk, you step out of the hotel and you're in the town centre. Perfect!

I've given the hotel a 4 star review because I think the hotel is a four star hotel, yes it has a pool and a beautiful garden in which to chill out and relax, but the rooms themselves are good, but not excellent.

We didn't eat in the hotel, other than breakfast which was ok in a 'standard buffet kind of way', and chose instead to eat out at some superb restaurants in the town.

The rooms let the place down really, they are clean, they are tidy, but you feel like you're in something from the late seventies/early eighties; this isn't really a criticism of the hotel, it is what it is, some people will like it, others may not, I think the older you are the more likely you are to like this place (expecting some grief over that comment ...).

The staff were great and the reception staff were superb at organising tours and advising on things to see, our car trip along the Amalfi coast was one of the highlights of the holiday.

Would I go back to this hotel, undecided, I would certainly recommend it highly, but I think I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyThePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing