We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and modern in a central location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rota Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rota Suites
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and modern in a central location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We loved these apartments. We went with our 2 girls 11 and 15. From the moment we arrived at the apartments in the taxi, we were impressed! Tasteful, modern design from the reception area all the way through to the apartments. We were very lucky to get a view of the sea and Mount Vesuvius which is just awe inspiring. The Vespas take a bit of ignoring when you are sitting on your balcony! It does die down at night I'm glad to say. Good air con in apartment tho we kept it off at night as too cold and windows shut as mozquitos get in so a bit stuffy by morning! TAKE MOZZIE SPRAY! The staff on the desk spoke good English and were always helpful. A nice selection of information books in the reception area to use at our leisure. Not too far a walk with swimming stuff, lilos etc. to the pool and bathing platforms at the Hotel Riviera. Though expensive for food and drinks there. We had brought a cool bag with us from England so made our own picnic and took it with us each day. Worked well with cold drinks to keep it cool! Don't pack towels. They are provided in the apartment, pool, and bathing platform. Save space in your case! We went to Pompeii and found it easy enough by train. The staff will give you directions - not far from apartment. Tickets E11 each and straight route to Pompeii. Train staff spoke English. My advise is definately take a picnic to Pompeii AND sunhat or even better umbrella/parasol for shade as you walk around. Especially for children as not much shade and unbearably hot. A walk down to the marina is very pleasant in the evening to eat. The walk back up wasn't as bad as it looked! A ferry over to Naples for the day is a nice way to go but quite pricey. We didn't take a picnic as it was easier not to and ate at MacDonalds as it was the cheapest way in a city! Restaurants a plenty in Sorrento - all with pretty much the same menu offering pizza and pasta! Not cheap. We ate in a couple of nights cooking simple meals in the tiny kitchenette. A bit tricky but we managed. The nearest and cheapest supermarket is 5 mins walk around the corner and keep going straight ahead across busy road and up the hill slightly and its there on the right. I think its called Strada. We got lilos for kids in supermarket for 2.50 each and left them there. Less in case! The holiday was lovely. Great choice of restaurants, souvenir shops, location, places of interest, views and weather. Thoroughly recommend. We need to return as much more to see - didnt see Amalfi coast or go up Vesuvius yet!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culturevulture201008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    53
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
73
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
armagh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights with husband and two friends. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
Very clean and well appointed. Everything you need really. Good location. Dont use the closest small supermarket in side street closest to apartment. Very inflated prices. We discovered a small fruit and vegetable shop at top of the street and turn left. (Green canopy) Doesn't speak English but has everything you need for breakfast and lunch. Milk,free range eggs, fruit etc fresh bread each morning. Much better value than supermarket. Highly recommend Rota Suites. Only negative we discovered on departure you could use nearby hotel pool. Didn't see notice on board on stairs. Pity!
Hired a car visited Amalfi, Ravello Positano Capri. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here with our 4 year year old for a week in July. Rafaella gave us a very warm welcome and made a fuss of our son whenever she saw him. The apartment was spacious, modern and very clean. We had a huge balcony. Having read all of the earlier reviews, it was pleasing to see that the management has taken it all on-board and made changes where appropriate (for example, brooms and cleaning equipment are provided along with a stack of towels). The hilight for us had to be the use of the pool and bathing platforms at the Hotel Riviera. It really made our trip and felt very exclusive. The staff were very friendly and we were there most days of our stay. We ate out in the many restaurants of Sorrento and were not disappointed, which was why we went for a self catering option. The supermarket was a short walk away and there was a lot of choice - the carrier bags are really strong and will get your groceries back to the apartment in one piece! All in all, we had a great trip and will certanly be back again, probably when it is not so hot, so we can go exploring further afield. We did go to Capri on the ferry during the daytime and would love to go back in the evening and stay over in a boutique hotel, when it is cooler and quieter - fab shopping though! If you love good food and an upmarket atmosphere, you should visit Sorrento and stay in the Rota suites.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

The Rota Suites Apartments were situated in in a very good location with just a short stroll to all amenities (shops, restaurants, bars, train station, ports etc). They had all necessary equipment required and more, the best thing was having air conditioning 24/7 even when out during the day. The apartment are cleaned once a week and staff let you know which day that will be so you are not inconvenienced. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. We were able to use the swimming pool and bathing platform of the sister hotel just along the road which was fantastic and towels were provided. This was very useful as beaches are non-existent in Sorrento (apart from free one which gets very busy and is very small), otherwise they have bathing platforms which are very expensive, you have to pay around 6 Euros just to walk onto them. In Sorrento we found that the food quality was not so good and drinks expensive. However a restaurant we found extremely nice was "Sir Joe" on the main street near to Piazza Tasso, food very good and value for money (try the steak and chocolate proffitoroles). A very good bar/snack bar particular for drinks to try is on the street behind Davide's ice-cream parlour. It is well worth making a trip to the island of Capri, take the funicular to the top where the views are amazing and you can see how the rich and famous live.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Had a wonderful time with our family of 5 At Rota Suites. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is very modern, clean and well equipped. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were large and our family was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulli47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

We spent a week at the Rota Suites in early June. We had a two bedroom - 2 bathroom apartment. Just the right size for the five women in our group! Light, bright airy apartments just like Guiseppe and the rest of his indispensable staff. All the conveniences you could want Wifi, laundry facilities, microwave, TVs, balconies.
The location of the apartment was a great base for our various outings – not in the thick of things, but just a few steps away from the places you wanted to be – restaurants, bars, stores, the main square or the train station. We never used the bus service as everything was easily within a 10 minute walk from the apartment.
The only issue we had was in trying to decipher the Byzantine chart they had for the recycling of garbage in the apartment. None of us could figure out the logic in the five sorts they wanted us to make of the garbage for collection. You could get a headache trying to figure it out!
Rota Suites -- the right choice for us! Thanks Guiseppe!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLAnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Rota Suites are in an ideal location to explore Sorrento and the surronding area. We stayed in a one bed apartment which included a double sofa bed in the lounge area. On arrival our accomodation was immaculate; however, they are only cleaned once during a week long stay we felt that every other day would have been better. Also towels are only changed once a week - we would have preferred at least two changes. The small kitchen area is very well well equipped - we ate breakfast in each day and also managed to make a couple of simple pasta meals on a couple of evenings. Everything is more expensive this year - eating and drinking in the Sorrento bars and restaurants is VERY expensive so the apartments were ideal for us. At the end of our week we found the best ever restaurant in the nearby Sant Agnello which was only a 10/15 minute walk - The Moonlight. The food was simply wonderful and the prices much more reasonable than in Sorrento. During our stay we had the use of the pool at the nearby Hotel Grand Riveriera which looked out over the bay of Naples and was just heaven. The hotel facilities are top rate and the staff are amazing - especially Nello the pool attendant who looks after everyone so well. During our stay we visited Pompei and also did the Amalfi Drive. For Pompei we took the train rather than an organised trip - you can walk to the train station from the apartment and buy a ticket for 21 Euro which includes the train fare, entrance to the site and also an English speaking guide - well worth it. For the Amalfi Drive we opted for an organised bus trip which cost about 30 Euro. Our guide was excellent and we visited Positano, Amalfi & Ravello with a surprise stop on the way to a place called Scala, where we ate lunch. A word of warning - at Scala you are herded off the bus into a restaurant for a three course lunch with wine but no-one mentioned the cost to us! However, the food was brilliant and the cost was only 13 Euro a head which was great value. All that said - we had a wonderful time in Sorrento and we would certainly return to the Rota Suites again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckienewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rota Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rota Suites

Property: Rota Suites
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rota Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Rota Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rota Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Rota Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing