We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
432
275
81
27
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
275
81
27
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadminute walktrain stationcakesthe hotel staffamalfi coastper dayfriendly hotelbreakfast was excellentdouble glazingsmall hoteltown centrestayed here for nightsroof terraceplenty of sunbedsnice poolthe main square
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 819 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Gardenia. Sisters Arianna & Magdeli at the front desk were professional, helpful & very friendly. They recommended great restaurants that even arranged complimentary private transportation to/from the hotel! Michael in the breakfast room and the bar was also very helpful and very entertaining, as he encouraged people to come to happy hour at 7pm for free pizza! The breakfast was the most elaborate and fresh tasting of all of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our 2 week honeymoon in Italy. Our room had a fantastic panoramic view of the Bay of Naples visable from our bed! The owner was able to help us reschedule our transportation back to the train station at the last minute when I noticed there was not enough time. Keep up the great work, Hotel Gardenia family!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newscubagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed for 7 nights at this hotel earlier this month. A family run hotel with very charming, welcoming and attentive staff. Check in was quick and professional and the rooms clean with a high standard of decor. Breakfasts were self-service with a good choice of hot and cold food. Hotel well situated to walk into towns main Piazzas and Old Quarter. It takes 15-20 minutes to walk, unfortuately down a busy, narrow road. If you take the bus from Naples Airport (bus fare 10 Euros one way), the bus journey takes about 1 hr 15 mins to Sorrento depending on traffic. It only takes about 10 mins to walk to hotel from bus station, but in reality with case and in the heat the walk is nearer to 25 mins. Taxi fare from hotel to bus station will cost you 15 euros so quite expensive for the short journey. All in all a good quality hotel with excellent rooms and friendly, efficient staff. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for 8 nights from the 15th of Sept.
We could not praise it highly enough. We got an extremely warm welcome with a nice touch of fresh fruit sent to our room after check in. We found the staff very helpful (with the exception of one grumpy man), from maps to restaurant recommendations, to sight seeing, also warning us that taxis are very expensive there. Nothing seemed too much bother.
We chose a room with a pool/sea view and it was perfect, also cleaned by two lovely cheery ladies every day.
Breakfast was a big surprise - buffet style with hot and cold fresh food and a huge choice of pastries. Both guys in the restaurant in the morning got us our tea and coffee with a friendly greeting and got our morning off to a great start.
It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to Piazza Tasso but this was fine with us and they don't claim any different on their website, we think it was nicer to stay a bit away from the town.
The pool was spotless, bar prices were very reasonable.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We recently stayed a few nights at this hotel and we found it to be a well run establishment with the staff being very helpful and polite. The hotel itself was clean, the pool area was nice and breakfast adequate. However, the big drawback was its location. Although its only a 10-15 minutes walk from the main hub in Sorrento its on a very very busy road, with heavy traffic until the early hours of the morning. Its also worth noting that a train line also runs adjacent to the hotel, although the noise from the road traffic does drown out the train noise. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, and even with the patio doors closed the traffic noise is significant and prevented us from having a good nights sleep (which was a big issue as far as i'm concerned). The noise level is even an issue with the rooms on the side of the hotel and the back. The majority of the noise pollution is caused by locals revving passed on their motor bikes. The walk in from the hotel to the main square is only 15 minutes but due to the heavy traffic and the narrow footpaths, it can get a little hairy.
In all, from a hotel perspective it is worth its 3 star status and the staff are a credit to it (although didnt like the fact that they charge 3 euros a night for the use of the in room fridge - a bit mean), but the location and noise levels are a big issue and for this reason I would'nt stay here again as I value a bit of peace and quite and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaSorrento, Proprietario at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2010

Thank-you for the nice words about our establishment and about our professional staff.
we are also pleased that you noticed the cleaness of our hotel and the wonderfull breakfast we serve in the breakfast room.
I am sorry you found our hotel noisy, but I think that it's come from the fact that was not what you espect, infact reading our description/and other guest comments it is very clear that we are situated on a busy road, as well our hotel is all soundproof, we have used the all modern technologies to reduce noisy, and, we had several approvals of our good soundproof materials. I must put in evidence that, probably the stay in our hotel has been done in a particular period. Sorrento is an holiday dinamic place, and probably in that days there was a lot of people who visit our city. We are on the main road but the traffic is a normal traffic of a summer place, in very high season period.
We also like to clear up about the 3,00 euro a day for the frigo bar, we are not charging if you use our minibar and drink 24 items we put in it, the 3,00 euro are charged only if guests want the fridge empty and use it with own beverages bought outside (usually other hotels do not accepts drinks to be taken in the hotel ).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel and its staff were brilliant it’s a family run business and I would definitely rate this as a 4 star hotel. I stayed there with my family as it was my daughters wedding, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they made you feel welcomed. Magali on reception was very very helpful. The breakfast was excellent the rooms were exceptionally clean and the lunch was fantastic, close enough to the square although can be a bit o a trek with a wheelchair or pram but there are enough restaurants and pubs close by. I cannot recommend this hotel enough we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews