We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$163
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$424
$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maison Tofani(Sorrento)
$221
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$164
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$187
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramare(Sorrento)
$226
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$198
$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villaggio Verde(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$159
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$110
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
410
263
76
26
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
263
76
26
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkbusy roadtrain stationcakesper dayneighbouring hotelthe hotel staffamalfi coasthomemade lemonadebreakfast was excellentstar hotelfriendly hotelsmall hoteltown centrestayed here for nightsrooms were very cleanroof terrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 778 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Hotel Gardenia is a good budget hotel. It is located just outside of the main town so you need to walk into town, where there are no sidewalks, and cars and motorcycles whiz by you all the time, so you need to walk single file. The town of Sorrento is a great town to walk around and has lots of things to do. The pool at the hotel was good except that they do not provide towels, and you are not even allowed to use your hotel towels! That made using the pool very inconvenient as you could rent a towel for 10euros!
ALso, we had ants in our room when we came in and they sprayed the room, but then we had to endure the smell of the pesticide - not the best way to enjoy a vacation.
ALso taxis are very expensive. We were charged 20euros for a short 5 minute trip to the marina. Ask before you get in what the rate is and bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank njmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Gardenia for 3 nights in December '08 with a close friend and we had a great time for a great price. It was right on the main street (Corso Italia) where you can walk to everything in town within a 15 minute walk. Wonderful views of the Bay of Naples from the rooftop. Bathrooms were clean, balcony would be great to sit out on if it were warmer weather. Staff was friendly, a nice quiet and well kept hotel that I would definitely return to.

Sorrento is a great base town for day trips in the surrounding area. Take the bus from the Circumvesuviano to Positano, it is absolutely breathtaking, a must!! Also, go to Le Tre Sorelle on the beach in Positano, delicious! We decided to travel around on our own instead of taking guided tours and it was more exciting that way as we got to explore at our own leisure and save money at the same time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeeDee1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I found Hotel Gardenia in Frommer's Guide "Amalfi Coast."
We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel provides free parking which is a
big plus in Italy. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was quite good. We used Sorrenot to explore the cities on the Amalfi Coast. There is also an excellent laundromat on the other
side of the street as you head into town.
We will be back in October.
Michael and Patricia Frieri
Irving, Texas

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MikeFrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We have visited the Hotel Gardenia several times and can only give our whole hearted thanks to the wonderful staff-some of the nicest and most helpful people we have ever encountered on our travels!
The first time we visited was our 10th wedding anniversary and we were astonished by the beauty of the coastal drive into the town.
On arrival at the Gardenia the staff ensured that our belongings were swiftly ushered to our room and we were offered coffee which was most welcome.
The room we had was a decent size with excellent facilities and it looked as if it had just been refurbished.We had our own balcony which looked down onto a garden full of lemon trees.
Sorrento at night or day is very busy-Italian 'amore di vita' means that vehicles whizz around at all times and there is a definate 'buzz' about Sorrento,however is this ever became too obtrusive we could just close the double glazed balcony door and chill out with the excellent air conditioning...most welcome.
Hotel facilities are superb too-internet access,a great lift,fantastic swimming pool with pool side bar-and if you need something in particular the staff are only too willing to help.
Breakfasts are superb with a great choice-bacon,eggs,hams and cheeses,cereals,yogurts,fresh fruits-delicious,freshly prepared and plentiful.Also check out the cakes and pasties prepared each morning with freshly picked summer berries!Scrumptious!
This hotel is also superbly situated within a short walking distance of everything Sorrento has to offer-we only had to walk a short distance to the railway station which meant we had easy and cheap access to Naples and the surrounding region-so visits to attractions like Vesuvius and Heraculaneum are easy.The bus station is also very near,but if you prefer to travel in style just ask and the staff will arrange a private vehicle at decent rates.
A year later we returned and were greeted like returning friends...(Nice to be remembered by such busy people!).The hotel was just as impressive as on our first visit,a real treat to return to.
We love the Gardenia-we intend to return at least once every year!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DandJfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Gardenia is a good 3*/budget hotel - some 30 rooms - and is ideal as a base to explore Sorrento.
The hotel & rooms have all recently been refurbished, which adds to the general cleanliness.
Staff were friendly & welcoming, and the breakfasts excellent.
It is though on the main road into Sorrento, making it noisy if the doors are left open at night, and of course it gets hot & stuffy at night (even in October).
Weather was great, meaning the pool (only a handful of people used it) was very welcoming.
The hotel is though some 1,000m from the town centre, meaning a 15 minute walk down the busy road (may not be ideal with small children).
Some 200m less was the bus & train station, which is best to train it into Pompeii & Vesuvius.
Coaches from Naples airport to Sorrento (& return - run every hour) is easier & cheaper than a taxi. 10 Euros each, each way. Takes upto an hour and a half; I guess some 40+ miles along windy roads into the peninsular.
Personally I would give the island of Capri a miss, expensive to get there and while on it, and extremely busy. If you do go and take the bus upto the cable car, take a jumper (it is cool at heights) and close your eyes on the bus trip (on mountain edges).
Overall, I would recommend the hotel (& Sorrento) and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rogeraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews