We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveler rating
429
274
80
27
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
274
80
27
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadminute walktrain stationcakesthe hotel staffamalfi coastper dayfriendly hotelbreakfast was excellentdouble glazingsmall hoteltown centrestayed here for nightsroof terraceplenty of sunbedsnice poolthe main square
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 814 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I found Hotel Gardenia in Frommer's Guide "Amalfi Coast."
We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel provides free parking which is a
big plus in Italy. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was quite good. We used Sorrenot to explore the cities on the Amalfi Coast. There is also an excellent laundromat on the other
side of the street as you head into town.
We will be back in October.
Michael and Patricia Frieri
Irving, Texas

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MikeFrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We have visited the Hotel Gardenia several times and can only give our whole hearted thanks to the wonderful staff-some of the nicest and most helpful people we have ever encountered on our travels!
The first time we visited was our 10th wedding anniversary and we were astonished by the beauty of the coastal drive into the town.
On arrival at the Gardenia the staff ensured that our belongings were swiftly ushered to our room and we were offered coffee which was most welcome.
The room we had was a decent size with excellent facilities and it looked as if it had just been refurbished.We had our own balcony which looked down onto a garden full of lemon trees.
Sorrento at night or day is very busy-Italian 'amore di vita' means that vehicles whizz around at all times and there is a definate 'buzz' about Sorrento,however is this ever became too obtrusive we could just close the double glazed balcony door and chill out with the excellent air conditioning...most welcome.
Hotel facilities are superb too-internet access,a great lift,fantastic swimming pool with pool side bar-and if you need something in particular the staff are only too willing to help.
Breakfasts are superb with a great choice-bacon,eggs,hams and cheeses,cereals,yogurts,fresh fruits-delicious,freshly prepared and plentiful.Also check out the cakes and pasties prepared each morning with freshly picked summer berries!Scrumptious!
This hotel is also superbly situated within a short walking distance of everything Sorrento has to offer-we only had to walk a short distance to the railway station which meant we had easy and cheap access to Naples and the surrounding region-so visits to attractions like Vesuvius and Heraculaneum are easy.The bus station is also very near,but if you prefer to travel in style just ask and the staff will arrange a private vehicle at decent rates.
A year later we returned and were greeted like returning friends...(Nice to be remembered by such busy people!).The hotel was just as impressive as on our first visit,a real treat to return to.
We love the Gardenia-we intend to return at least once every year!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DandJfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Gardenia is a good 3*/budget hotel - some 30 rooms - and is ideal as a base to explore Sorrento.
The hotel & rooms have all recently been refurbished, which adds to the general cleanliness.
Staff were friendly & welcoming, and the breakfasts excellent.
It is though on the main road into Sorrento, making it noisy if the doors are left open at night, and of course it gets hot & stuffy at night (even in October).
Weather was great, meaning the pool (only a handful of people used it) was very welcoming.
The hotel is though some 1,000m from the town centre, meaning a 15 minute walk down the busy road (may not be ideal with small children).
Some 200m less was the bus & train station, which is best to train it into Pompeii & Vesuvius.
Coaches from Naples airport to Sorrento (& return - run every hour) is easier & cheaper than a taxi. 10 Euros each, each way. Takes upto an hour and a half; I guess some 40+ miles along windy roads into the peninsular.
Personally I would give the island of Capri a miss, expensive to get there and while on it, and extremely busy. If you do go and take the bus upto the cable car, take a jumper (it is cool at heights) and close your eyes on the bus trip (on mountain edges).
Overall, I would recommend the hotel (& Sorrento) and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rogeraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Were pleasantly surprised with the Gardenia. The pool wasn't crowded, and we had a nice view from the balcony in our room. The staff made every effort to make us Americans feel at home, and it made our experience there that much better. Definitely looking forward to going back!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank ank126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I think we had a lot of bad luck with this hotel. On arrival we were greeted by very pleasant staff and made to feel very welcome. Our room overlooked the side of the hotel and was very clean and adequate in size. The pool and gardens are really lovely and the breakfast offering is excellent. However, the air conditioning never cooled the room below 25 degrees celcius irrespective of the temperature we set it at (you can't have the balcony doors open because the road is very noisy) the light in the bathroom didn't work (they did fix this the next day) the lights and electric sockets seemed to have a mind of their own and you never knew if/when they would work (I think the door card room switch maybe had a fault) the shower varied between freezing cold and scalding hot (with no warning!) the room door itself was very hit and miss - sometimes it would close and lock, other times it wouldn't. The final straw came when we got in the lift, the doors closed, the light went out and the lift dropped about a foot ! (luckily the doors re-opened and we got out very quicky)

Looking at all of the other favourable comments, I can only assume that we had some real bad luck with this hotel.

We were moved by our tour company to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori which was simply superb and one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt992264OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews