We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

A very friendly hotel with the most helpful staff you could ever wish to meet. The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods. The road at the front of the hotel is busy and noisy, ask for a room overlooking the pool.

The hotel is only about 10 minutes walk from the bus and train station and another couple of minutes walk takes you to the centre of Sorrento.

If you intend visiting Pompeii, highly recommended, don't take a tour, get the train, less than five euros, and entry to the ruins is eleven euros or free for EU pensioners as long as you have identity which shows your age.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 749 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Sorrento. We loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. They helped us navigate tour options, and although this is not a listed service, one of the staff gave us a ride to the port when we were running late and in danger of missing our Ferry to Capri!

Highly recommend staying here, and we hope to return

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice people running this place, and great breakfast. First room was very small, but they were kind enough to change it once some of the guests left. The chocolate croissants at breakfast are amazing. The location is good and there is parking if you are driving (16 euro a day).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for such an appreciative review concerning your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you for your kind words about all our services.
We will report your compliments to our pastry chef Enza about her home made chocolate croissants, she will be very happy...expecially because she starts to prepare them every morning at 6.00!
We are sorry that you found the first room a bit small, next time for you and other future travellers who want to stay at the Gardenia, we suggest to book our Comfort rooms which are a bigger size than the Standard room that you have booked. Hoping to welcome you again at the Gardenia.
Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel. We have been visiting here for many years and nothing is too much trouble. Gaetano, the hotel manager is helpful when we are organising our trip answering many emails. Magali and tonino on reception are knowledgeable in the many questions a tourist has about trains, boat trips, good restaurants etc and if they don't know they will find out. Michele and lilio make breakfast time very enjoyable. Enza, the chef will make you an omelette of your choice to order. Lia, rafaella and giusy work hard cleaning the rooms. Rooms good size and plenty of wardrope hanging space and drawers. Bring able to use wifi in the room is a much added bonus for a one off payment of 2 euros for our entire stay. Thanks to tonino and gaetano for taking me to Sorrento and napalm games. Hotel is within easy reach of train station (10 minutes) and main shopping area (15-20 minutes). Hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we have over the years. Go on give it a try!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear loyal customer and friends of Hotel Gardenia,
We can only write "GRAZIE" for your kind words about us and for choosing every year since years our hotel for your holidays in Sorrento.
Gaetano,Tonino, Marilena and the entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted.
This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy!
looking forward to see you again next year, ciao to the best Sorrento's football team supporter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We've stayed in 5 Comfort Hotels (part of the Choice Hotels Group) in Italy & The Comfort Hotel Gardenia in Sorrento was the best! We don't think you'll find a better value closer to town. This is a great hotel for exploring Sorrento & nearby attractions.
Leisurely 15 min walk to center of town, Piazza Tasso. Closer to Circumvesuviana train (to Pompeii), Piazza Lauro, Giardini di Cataldo & great food. Try Pizzeria di Franco, il Leone Rosso & David Gelateria. Bus stop(line A), 1 block away,(buy ticket across street from hotel) takes you to Punto Capo for an easy hike to the point with great views of Capri, Bay of Napoli, Vesuvius & Sorrento. Walk to Marina Piccolo to catch the ferry to Capri. Laundromat one block away if you are on extended holiday & packing light as we were.
Run by the Mauro family, we were pleasantly greeted at check in by daughter Maggali with all the information we needed to make our 11 night stay with friends a success. Beyond friendly, Mr. & Mrs. Mauro went out of their way to make our trip special, arranging transportation to Paestum, free shuttle to & from restaurant Z'intonio di Mare in Marina Grande and even invited us for dinner one night at the hotel when they were preparing a meal for a larger group. The meal was delicious & an excellent value.
Greeted every morning by waiters Michele and Lilio with a smile & good humor. Breakfast included hard boiled eggs & toast, cereal & milk, deli meat & cheese, fresh fruit & juice, huge assortment of delicious pastries & great coffee plus hot "English breakfast" for 2nd week of our stay in mid April.
Very clean, spacious rooms with updated bathroom, stall shower (lovely Arancia di Sorrento hair & body wash provided) large armoire or closet with plenty of hangers & built in drawers. French doors that open onto balconies most with some Bay/pool view & some have Vesuvius view too. Front rooms overlook busy main street, Corso Italia, if you like people watching. Pool was being prepped & filled during our stay in mid April. We weren’t expecting the pool to be open in April, but it looked like it was going to be a nice place to hangout in the warmer weather. We can't wait to return to Sorrento & will definitely be staying at Hotel Gardenia when we do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judiandvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review regarding your holidays at the Hotel Gardenia. It was a big pleasure for us to have you, and your friends with us for 11 days.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated so much all our services and we were very happy to organize your transfers and help you in booking good restaurants, to make your holidays as most enjoyable as possible.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future and reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests. Thank you again, hoping to welcome you back all again in the future at the Gardenia.
Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel was in a great location for walking around town and to the port for boats to Capri. Owned and run by a lovely family with a great staff. All extremely friendly, helpful, and spoke great English. They also set us up with a driver who took us to Paestum. If you want a tour of the Amalfi Coast ask them to set you up with their friend Miguel. A great time with amazing views along coast and no stress of driving on the miles of hairpin curves. They also will help with places to dine where you can be picked up and delivered back to hotel. We had a great view of bay and Vesuvius from our balcony. What a beautiful sight to wake up to and fall asleep to. Who could complain when lucky enough to be in Italy vacationing with friends. :-) Also the best coffee ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room looking out toward Naples and the bay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghdaubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with your friends at the Hotel Gardenia..
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.It was a pleasure to have contributed in making your stay in Sorrento as most enjoyable as possible.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a charming hotel well within walking distance of the heart of the city of Sorrento. It is immaculately clean, has a wonderful, helpful staff and we were made to feel like family. Our room had a great view of Mt. Vesuvius and the lemon trees were in bloom outside our balcony and their fragrance was unbelievable. Breakfast buffet was very nice and the hotel has their own wine that was great. I hope that we can return in the near future and highly recommend Hotel Gardenia not only for the value and location but the experience of a caring, informative staff made our 5 day stay in Sorrento very memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the building because the rooms towards the front do get street traffic...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and especially our staff. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $83 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing