We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a treasure”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed at the hotel August 13. 5 nights. Room with a pool view, very helpful staff, on site everything is reasonably priced. staff recommendations were excellent and within the budget we requested. Could not fault this hotel, breakfast and lunch were top notch, would love to visit again.

Room Tip: pool view as it is to the back of the hotel and lovely to sit out of an evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review regarding your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are also thrilled to hear that, overall, you had a nice holiday in our area.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    249
    74
    26
    3
See reviews for
202
349
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and had a good stay. We had a quad room that was quite small but very efficient. It had bunkbeds that folded out of the wall and a large double bed. The room itself wasn't large but the configuration made it quite pleasant and the kids really enjoyed the bunkbeds. The first night, the road noise was terrible and the room was warm (it was unseasonably warm in Sorrento that week). We couldn't open the windows at night because the cars were so noisy and upon my request, the staff managed to find a fan for our room. In this small hotel I am sure that wasn't a simple request but they managed it well and the fan cooled the room and provided great white noise and the rest of our stay was great. The breakfast buffet was great and the wifi worked well in the rooms (2 euro fee for the whole stay). The location of this hotel is very convenient and the staff made recommendations for restaurants which were very good; we tried everyone of them and they were all superb. This was a really good hotel for the money and I commend the staff for trying very hard to please its customers!

Room Tip: If you can get a room away from the road, it would make for a quieter stay (this would be true of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krissie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your 3 nights stay at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and especially our staff. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and 2 sons. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from Sorrento train station, which is at the end of the Naples - Sorrento Circumvesuviana line which also stops at Pompei and Herculaneum. Buses to the Amalfi coast also stop here so it is ideal for exploring the area. Public transport is very cheap and reliable. The hotel itself looks very welcoming from the outside, and the reception area is clean and bright with a comfortable bar area where drinks are reasonably priced. The staff seem to take pride in their customer service and are friendly and helpful. We had a family room which contained a double bed and bunk beds. The room was a reasonable size with plenty of storage space, and was spotlessly clean. There was a flat screen TV with some English channels and a mini-bar. The bathroom was modern with a shower cabinet (no bath) and was again spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and toiletries provided. There have been some complaints about traffic noise, but even though our room overlooked the main road, this did not bother us. Breakfast, which was included in the package, was delicious. It was buffet-style with a selection of cereals, yogurt, eggs, cheese, cold meats, fruit, pastries and wonderful home made cakes. The waiter would take your drinks order and bring your freshly brewed coffee or cappuccino to the table. No coffee machines here. The dining room was very pleasant with plenty of space. We visited Pompei and Herculaneum, and walked to the summit of Vesuvius. We also had days out in Positano and Naples. All of these are well worth visiting. I'd also recommend a restaurant, Il Ritrovo, literally across the street, which was reasonably priced and offered a varied Italian menu. Sorrento is a very pretty town with narrow streets and numerous shops. it is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel along quite a busy road. We were very lucky that the weather for mid-February was beautiful - warm and sunny - and made our trips out so much more pleasant. I would recommend the Gardenia Hotel to anyone looking for a good base for visiting the sites, good value for money and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999lexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review concerning your february holiday at the Gardenia. We are glad that you had a great stay with your children at the Gardenia. We are very pleased that you have appreciated the room, the decor, our staff, and our breakfast which is a real cause of pride for us.We constantly thrive to ensure that our highest standards are always kept.
As you said,our hotel is also ideally located to take the public transports and visit the main sites as pompei,Capri, Amalfi coast and Naples.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.
All the best to you four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had this hotel included in a groupon package (we will never do that again) and were very disappointed. The staff were surly. We paid the extra 2 Euro for wifi in the room. It never worked, and although we got our 2E back, the staff never seemed interested in helping us sort it out. We used the free wifi in the lobby, but it is a terrible connection and certainly inconvenient. The hotel also charges if you use the in-room fridge for your own food - something I have never seen at a hotel anywhere. They also charge 9 Euro each for breakfast (which I thought I saw on their website was included, but I guess not for Groupon folks). We were not going to give this unfriendly/unhelpful bunch any more money so we never ate breakfast there.

We also experienced an ant infestation. After we blocked their access to the room with wet toilet paper under the door jam, the housekeeping staff must have put down poison because we never saw the ants again.

The sink (room 308) is not vented/trapped properly and you get the smell of sewer everytime you turn on the tap. The shower leaked all over the floor one morning until we figured out that you had to run it at a drizzle. We cleaned up the water with the supplied towels and then housekeeping decided to limit us to 2 bath towels and never refreshed our hand towels. Oh, and the pillows are flatter than pancakes.

We felt trapped by the fact we had paid for this as a package or we would have left and demanded a refund. The hotel staff were so surly and uninterested in us that it seemed futile to ask them for help.

On our last day, I decided to try and "soften them up" so I went out of my way to be friendly - this seemed to work temporarily.

On the good side, the room was very clean overall. The bathroom was small. Location was fine.

Buyer beware with Groupon. We learned our lesson. We needed leverage with this place and didn't have any.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryMoCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your experience at our hotel. Your comments, especially the unflattering ones, are most welcome and they will give us the strive to improve ourselves in our daily duties.
Saying that we wish to clarify some situations that you mentioned in your comment.
We have been in the Hospitality Industry for over thirty years and to be honest we are not accustomed to deal with such upsetting reviews. Our Staff has always been our resilient highlight and we have always been very proud of all of them none excluded. Many other guests seem to have a different opinion according to other reviews.We have always felt that, although the Hotel Gardenia is classified three star, we have always offered a four star service.
Quite rightly, our full buffet breakfast is included in the room rate for those who book directly on our website or on the most popular portals. Very seldom and only during the winter season by agreement , in order to guarantee a most favourable rate, some travel companies do not include breakfast in their packages , and this was your case, so, for people not booking with breakfast, as in many hotel of the world, we offer it for a charge which is usually ( only for winter period ) 10,00 euro per person; but we also give a chance to have a little “light breakfast” ( only for winter period ) for 5,00 euro per person , which includes coffee or tea, fruit juice, croissant, and corn flakes.
As our hotel is enclosed by trees and gardens, it can happen, very infrequently, that the rooms are visited by ants coming from there. We understand that it’s very disagreeable, but we can guarantee, and as you said you agree with this, that the cleanliness is one of the best quality of Hotel Gardenia. Sometimes guests use to eat in the room and the ants are attracted by the food. To avoid this problem we regularly make insect disinfestations and the manager uses to check personally every day the cleanliness of the rooms. Probably your room escapes from that control, but as you said we quickly solved the problem but anyway we apologies for that inconvenient. Concerning the shower and the sink in your room, we did not find any record of complaint regarding your problems during your stay. It is useless to write negative comments now, when at the moment of your holiday you could have come to the reception with your issues and we would have done our best to accommodate you requests, we have never refused help to our guest and we always do all is possible to satisfy their needs.
We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Gardenia to show you that what is happened was just an unlucky incident and have the possibility to demonstrate you that The Gardenia is a really, lovely family hotel!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay if you're going to Sorrento. Rooms are nice and clean, great breakfast and a nice pool area with a good section for smaller kids.

Nothing spectacular or fancy (plastic chairs, a bit worn facilities etc) but for the rate very good value. Traffic can be pretty loud, but that goes for most of Sorrento.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We found the staff to be extremely cheerful, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and not too hot, unlike a few others we had experienced on our Italy trip. The breakfast room was beautifully clean and the food was bountiful. We particularly appreciated the help the staff was prepared to give when we needed access to extra technology at short notice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assunta_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were a family of 15 travelling together. The staff looked after us like their own family. Helped us with all the sites to see, booked lovely restaurants and even organised a special lunch for us before we headed off to Pompei. Their breakfast selection is really nice too.
The rooms were comfortable with little balconies.
The hotel is on the main road. At times you do hear the traffic but Sorrento is always a busy place.
It's about a 10 minute walk to the main piaza.
Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritad800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
753 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing