We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We didn't have a hotel booked in Sorrento so this was a good find. It is right on the main street in Sorrento and close enough to be able to walk to most things. The room was quite small , typical of Europe, but it had a good sized balcony. This place had one of the best continental breakfasts we had in Italy. The only drawback we found was that the hotel was so close to the main road and the traffic so heavy that the automobile fumes could get a bit too intense on the balcony.
One tip - if you want to go to Pompeii, take the train from Sorrento - quick and easy as the train stops right in front of the entrance to Pompeii.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfFundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    212
    58
    24
    2
See reviews for
166
289
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ronks
Level Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I can't say enough about the staff! They were helpful and went out of their way to make you not only feel welcome but to help you find where to go around town. The rooms are not large but I loved the little balcony off the room. Everything was clean and the breakfast selection was really nice. Parking had a fee of 16 Euro but I think it is 20 Euro further in town. I would definitely stay there again on my next return to Sorrento. We had no trouble with the wifi in the lobby. Didn't bother to pay for the wifi in the room as we were not in it except to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdbreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Overall, a decent location. Be wary American traveler. The rooms might be standard for Euro expectations,but in truth it was just big enough to walk around the queen size bed. A day after check in was told parking was 2 Euro a day for rental car. Got charged 16 Euro a day at check out. Not sure how that stacks up on other venues as this is my first trip here. When confronted, the Manager said "oh must have misunderstood", I said No you told me 2 Euro. Not the departing experience I was expecting. Bought the room through a package, feel as if I got screwed now - Thanks for the positive experience Tony! Buffett breakfast is same every day, little change.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Proprietario at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent visit at the Hotel Gardenia. I am Gaetano, the manager and I cannot express enough my deepest distraught to your e.mail. At this stage, I would like to analyse and clarify what you have written about your stay.

We are sorry about the misunderstanding with parking rates. The lady who have made your check- in, speaks an excellent English and it seems strange that she said 2 instead of 16…
Parking fee is 16.00 € per day as it’s clearly advertised on our website and on all the principal on line tour operators. You can also just read the other reviews posted on Trip Advisor to note that a guest has written only 2 weeks ago, a review in which he gives the parking rates!
Anyway, because we know that maybe some people don’t explore internet,to be as clearest as possible, we have a big screen in our lobby with all the main information concerning the hotel, including parking fees, furthermore, in the parking lot there is a large panel with the price list which shows the price of parking to a minimum of one hour, which is 2.00 € up to 1 day which is 16.00 €.
Also the tour operator with whom you have booked is clearly advertised that the parking is not included and about the rates.
I think that it's impossible to be clearer than that.

We offer three room types: superior or sea view rooms, comfort or side rooms, standard rooms which are slightly smaller and in some cases are situated on the front of the Hotel (street side). Pictures of each room type are shown on our website with a full description including the related differences among them and obviously, the rates vary accordingly.
The contract you have signed up with your tour operator, is an offer we doing for the winter…
Standard room minimum stay 4 nights sometime only room no breakfast, so you have booked for a standard double room that’s why you had a smaller room. We are very sorry that you are only claiming now about that because it’s too late to propose you to upgrade the room, if you told us at the day of arrival we could show you other types of rooms and you could change for a minimum difference of price.

Regarding breakfast, please kindly note that, in order to keep our rates competitive, during the winter months we serve continental breakfast and not american buffet breakfast, that’s why there is less choice than usual but there’s anyway a big variety of fresh made pastries and . This is clearly advertised on our website.

We are always at our guest leastening and disposal, It’s enough to ask information to the reception, to note that we always try to solve every little problem, to make our guest holiday unforgettable, and to let feal our warm Family atmosphere, so we are a little upset to read your review knowing how hard we work every day for our guest satisfaction.

Best regards
Gaetano Mauro - Owner/director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The staff was great and very helpful. Barbara helped set us up with a fabulous visit to a winery. The breakfast had a wonderful selection of sweets, cakes, meat, cheese and other treats. Very clean and well kept. Parking is on site, for a fee. Wi-fi avail in the lobby, but is slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind report and to share your experience at the Gardenia with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that you have spent a pleasant stay at the Gardenia and that you have so much appreciated our buffet breakfast and our staff.
Barbara and all our staff members do all their best to help and do all is necessary to make our guest's holidays as must pleasant as possible! We are sorry that Wi fi in the lobby was little bit slow,sometimes it happens and we are looking to change our internet operator to give a better service.Please note that Wifi connexion is also available from the rooms for a charge of only 2 euros for the entire stay ( for any duration stay).
Hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day, best wishes.
Arrivederci a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel . Lovely rooms , ours overlooked the pool .
Little walk from centre but plenty to see on the way !
Nice sunbathing area with plenty of beds (shame about the very loud barking dog next door)
Had to get a taxi as we landed after 9pm and there are no trains or buses at this time . The hotel arranged this it was €94 but was so nice after the flight to get to hotel within an hour .
Really nice breakfast each morning & very friendly staff
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest ,
We can only write "GRAZIE"for your kind words about Hotel Gardenia.
The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted. This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy.
We are happy that you have appreciated your room overlooking our swimming pool and sunbath area and are deeply sorry for our next door neighbour’s barking dog. We have taken the necessary steps to solve this problem and a considerable improvement has been achieved since.
Thank you also to mention our private transfer service which is, as you said, an easy,fast and comfortable way to reach the hotel from Naples airport or train station for a very reasonable price.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future at the Gardenia.
CIAO from Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel which is located on the edge of town. We had a family room which was fine for three of us. The room was immaculate and cleaned to a high standard every day. The centre and railway station are a 15-20 min walk away and there are numerous reasonably priced restaurants close by. The buffet breakfast was the BEST we have ever had with a huge selection; it was impossible to sample it all in a week - but we did our best! The pool was open, even this late in the year. Staff were very helpful and sorted out car hire for us; we were also given excellent driving directions for reaching Vesuvius and Paestum. Car park is 16 Euro per day, which is reasonable given the lack of space in Sorrento. I saw before we went there were some reviews complaining of traffic noise but we didn't find that a problem; we have stayed in an out of town hotel in Sorrento before where it was admittedly quieter, but also a pain to get anywhere. The room's soundproofing was very effective. We were at the front of the hotel, but it was still possible to admire the fantastic views of the Bay and Vesuvius from the roof terrace. I would highly recommend this hotel as a great base from which to explore the many attractions the area has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattH2841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review concerning your october holidays with your family at the Hotel Gardenia.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.We are very pleased that you have appreciated the room, the quality of the soundproofing, our staff, and our breakfast which is a real cause of pride for us.
Thank you again,hoping to welcome you back all again in the future at the Gardenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If I ever return to Sorrento, this is THE hotel to stay. Close to train, restaurants, main place. Service and staff are number one. Quality breakfast, family owned hotel, always ready to help and suggest places to visit or restaurant to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacknJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review regarding your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are also thrilled to hear that, overall, you had a nice holiday in our area and that if you will visit Sorrento again you will stay with us. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#36 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 2,469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#19 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing