We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
430
274
81
27
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
274
81
27
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadminute walktrain stationcakesthe hotel staffamalfi coastper dayfriendly hotelbreakfast was excellentdouble glazingsmall hoteltown centrestayed here for nightsroof terraceplenty of sunbedsnice poolthe main square
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 816 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was our fist trip to Italy. Gaetano and Antonio made us feel welcomed and took very good care of us. The entire staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The hotel was immaculately maintained and gorgeously decorated throughout. The breakfasts were excellent and the coffee bar was first rate. The rooms were small, but they had everything you needed and were surprisingly modern. The hotel was situated on the main street into Sorrento, so it was very noisy during the day; however, the road noise diminished significantly in the evening (our room was located on the side of the hotel and from our balcony we could see the main street as well as the coast). The walk into town was only 10-15 minutes along the busy main street, but it was very easy to manage. Frankly, Hotel Gardenia with its wonderful staff felt more like a 4-star hotel...it was well worth the walk into town!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter, but if you don't go to bed until late evening, the side rooms are excellent and provide just as nice of a view of the coast.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Gardenia was very clean and the breakfasts first rate. I don't know why people moan about the location, creepy indeed, nothing of the kind - get a map!! The 'old city' is just as noisy. We asked for a room at the back of the hotel having been given one at the front and we moved after one night but our first night's sleep was fine. Yes the beds are a little hard but nothing to complain about and the staff were pleasant and friendly, fixing a heating problem for us extremely quickly. The centre of the town is about 15 to 20 minutes walk away but there are plenty of taxis if you want a ride back. We preferred a hotel with a walk rather than an out of town hotel which always needed taxis to and from the centre of Sorrento, and it is near the railway station for trips to Herculaneum, Naples etc. The Gardenia delivered exactly what one would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, higher floors will have a good view of the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PollyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The good stuff: Hotel is very clean and breakfast is quite good, particularly the coffee. The bad stuff: location. The hotel is located NOT in the old city of Sorrento. Street is very noisy and the neighborhood a little creepy. The overnight man at the hotel and the woman atthe desk were fine but otherwise the hotel staff is not at all accomodating. They advertise a bar but have no ice! We kept asking for ice, and got 3 cubes at a time. And they were mad that we kept asking for more ice. The balcony is roomy and has a coastal view, but you need to ignore the barking dogs next door and the dirty pool filled with fallen leaves. Free wireless is available in the lobby but it keeps disconnecting after 3 minutes. Frustrating! Not exactly what we were expecting from a Sorrento hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Front is very noisy
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EP1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Warm welcome, that started with the transfer organised by the hotel...initially room was at the front but next day we were moved to one on the side with less hustle and bustle as we do like to use the balcony. Rooms are clean and have what you would expect with nice balcony. Beds are a little hard, but must have actually suited me because slept well and did not wake up with achy back!
We used the pool area, again nice rather than stunning and can't understand why hot countries dont use solar heating for their pools more often... It was very refreshing! Walk into town did become a bit of a pain after a few days, but no doubt helped me from putting on even more weight! Breakfast was great, hot and cold and yummy pastries. All the staff were friendly and helpful and happy hour nibbles were nice. Internet was free for me, think it is if you use your own device... Shame it only works in the entrance area

Sorrento was lovely but mad traffic and the moped driving is nuts! We wandered around exploring, found the lift to the shore area and just enjoyed the hustle and bustle and sites.

The hotel recommended a lovely restaurant about 10 minute walk away, but the other recommendation which included a transfer as it was at the port area was overpriced and not nearly as good.

All in all a friendly little hotel, good food and great staff and comfortable provided you are not being overly picky or expecting 5 star luxury...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loopyloooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I wish I could write a review for this hotel but when we got there our confirmed reservation was not available. They sent us to another hotel a few blocks away which we did not like all that much. I've come to learn we were not the only reserved guests denied a room here last week. You take your chances booking here.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Direttore at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Good Morning,
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. Usually our clients are very satisfied, and when and if a client has a complaint we do our best to remedy the situation immediately. Unfortunately, as can occur in any hotel, we had some difficulty with bookings that came at the same time for the same date, so in order to correct the problem we had to ask a fellow hotel for a room for this overbooking. We are very aware that our clients are not responsible for our mistakes, that is why we chose a hotel of a superior ranking (4 star), more centrally located, to ensure that you would have been completely satisfied. We aslo paid the cost of the upgrade.

Considering that we did not receive any negative feedback during your stay, we were certain that we had handled the situation to your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Gaetano Mauro
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews