We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family hotel , NEVER stay if you have babies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton International Hotel
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Arrived to hotel tierd after travelling with 4month old baby to find there is no ramp for prams or even luggage for that matter, pram had to be carried by my husband up roughly 12 marble steps alone as not once for the whole week we stayed did one member of staff offer to help!!!!god help anyone arriving there in a wheelchair! Then the pram could barley fit in the smallest lift I've ever seen in my life only one of us could go in with pram.We arrive to the room to find no kettle or any facilities for that matter , very basic room more like 2 star keeping in mind it's advertised as 4 star and quotes this on their website 'The Hotel as well as the stunning location in the heart of Sorrento, offers its guests many amenities to ensure a relaxing, comfortable, relaxing and you enjoy it. Our staff is attentive to the needs of all customers, so if you need their help do not hesitate to ask' which is pure lies as the baby was our first priority and needed a bottle made when we arrived as he is formula fed which isn't that unusual my husband ventured back down to reception to see why there was no kettle where he was rudely told they don't provide them due to fires also would not offer to loan us one and basically left him there feeling silly for asking, he got boiling water from the bar and we had to drop everything at 7pm on Sunday and go and find an electrical shop to buy a kettle which was which cost us 60€ and was looking around town for hours!no iron in room either and could not even loan us one due to fires, pool area is completely unkept n gardens overgrown nothing like pictures, location good and rooms kept clean and cleaning staff were only nice staff in whole hotel, terribly run hotel and I am not fussy at all I just expect the basics, but this hotel was worse I've ever stayed in by a mile!!!the thing that annoyed me most is we would not have stayed here had they clearly put on the website no kettle / ramps for prams/wheelchairs as we had to keep taking baby out of pram each time we were approaching steps to carry pram disturbing him from naps etc, when my husband approached the hotel about this and asked what do they do if somebody arrived in a wheelchair he was told 'we don't have people staying in wheelchairs' I rest my case!! Disgraceful !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gracey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Carlton International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 660 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was the cheapest hotel we stayed in Italy and you get what you pay for. However, I still would recommend it to someone that is trying to cut costs on hotels. Europe’s rating of hotels are not equivalent to the USA. The hotel was a 2 star hotel that needs some updating. However, it is clean, walking distance to the subway, center of town, and ferry. We had a balcony with a beautiful view. This hotel had the poorest continental breakfast of cold cereal and pasties.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel has its bad points and good points but we believe the good outweigh the bad.
Firstly, the bad. The rooms are in desperate need of an update, if they were to do this they would definitely get away with charging more. Lift is ridiculously small and slow. Breakfast is the the same each day and not worth getting out of bed for.old fashioned Yale lock with half a tonne of metal attached that you have to hand in to reception and then wait to get back to re enter your room each day. Also our bed linen was not changed in the 5 nights we stayed

Good points. Excellent location. We walked the whole of Sorrento and had researched our hotels. In my opinion there isn't a better located one especially with a pool. The views are amazing from the 3 rd floor so 4th floor were probably even better. Balcony was a real plus. Most hotels only had Juliet balconies but this balcony was very big.

Everybody who passed by looked up at tis hotel and stopped to look at the balconies.

PS the lady who rang from the uk who is staying here on the 19th-22nd of sept. we were in reception when you phoned and were told the balcony overlooking the pool is best as the road is noisy. This is not true. The road is slightly noisy but the view is well worth it!! The back overlooking the pool has no view!! Recall the hotel!

Room Tip: 310-314 and 411 & 412 have the biggest balconies with the best view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BargainH0lidayHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location is very good, virtually at the heart of Sorrento, restaurants, train and bus station minutes away. It has a good pool and garden with lemon trees, which at the end of August was quiet. Probably built in the 70's with little done since. That said our room had a large balcony looking to the hills on the pool side. Room was spotless, Air conditioning was fine (we were on the 1st floor).a small but clean bathroom and the shower curtain was a challenge!. Our main discomfort was a very hard bed and pillows. Breakfast was as for a 3 star hotel, but quite adequate: attentive waiters, good coffee and warmed croissants. We read lots of reviews and we set our expectations accordingly. For touring the area great, for a romantic break you may need to pay a bit more or stay further out but then you miss the passaggietta!

Room Tip: A sea view is not really worth any extra
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mparsloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit apprehensive but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a very short walk from the main piazza in Sorrento so an ideal location. Reception is furnished well as that's where you have to sit to access free wifi. Reception staff were always helpful and polite.
The room was on the 4th floor and I agree the shower is way too small and would be better having doors rather then a curtain that clings to you, we had to shower without the curtain on one side and so the floor became very wet. Its very compact and perhaps the bidet can be removed to make more space. Hair washing for longer haired people is a nightmare as the hairdryer is useless too.
The rest of the room was fine, no problems with fridge, tv or AC.
The pool area was ok with pool service by waiting staff a bit hit and miss, it was quicker to go to the bar yourself, the sandwichs are very basic and we ate out after one lunch. Was nice and quiet with no shortage of sunbeds.

All in all an average hotel which suited its purpose for a 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank star4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel has old-world charm, is refreshingly decorated, reasonably priced, and conveniently located to the city center. Our room, on the front side facing the ocean, was clean, spacious with a king size bed, refrigerator & balcony with a lovely view. Some rooms do not have refrigerators, so if you want one, make sure you ask. Breakfast was included & was okay; wi-fi in the lobby (however, I picked it up on the balcony! :D); helpful staff; a/c. Out the front door to the right & around the corner is a nice parking garage if you are driving a personal car. Out the front door & to the left & a few blocks is the city center--many restaurants & the shopping alleys. The walk is short & the scenery is lovely! We would stay here again.

Here is a url: http://www.hotelcarltonsorrento.com/en/sorrento-gallery.php
From what I can see, the room & balcony fotos must be of the 5th (top) floor. We were on the 3rd floor & as I said, our room was nice & our balcony had a beautiful view too, but it wasn't these fotos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesnmacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our room was on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel. We had disturbed sleep from a bar for the first four nights until we asked to move. The bar called Camera had an open air terrace at the back and the music continued into the night until 3am. We know this is illegal in Europe as all outside music must finish by midnight. Our rep did say she had spoken to the bar, but the music continued to play. The lack of sleep was not appreciated as most days we were getting up very early to go on trips to Pompeii, Vesuvious, Capri, etc and being kept awake until 3am meant we were exhausted. The hotel did not believe us about the bar noise as no one else had complained! Then when we moved rooms the shower head stopped working just dribbling out red hot water. The maintenance soon arrived though and explained that as the room, and therefore shower, had not been used in a while the dirt forms in the pipes and then gets washed into the head and blocks up. So no legionella risk management in place. Definitely not a four star starproperty as mentioned by previous reviewers. We got stuck in a lift that seriously needed updating.
The only good thing about the hotel was it's location right next to Tasso Square and The Restaurant Tasso, where you ate if you booked half board. Great food and wonderful staff. But the hotel itself was tired and dated. They don't provide tea and coffee facilities facilities in the rooms, as they say it's a fire hazard, probably because the hotel needs a rewire.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 503, Unless you like having no sleep your entire holiday.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton International Hotel

Address: Via Correale 15 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $124 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton International Sorrento
Hotel Carlton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing