We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic but noisy and food terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capri

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Capri
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, basic but noisy and food terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

We got a late package deal and had to take a half-board option. We were very hesistant about this and our fears turned into reality when we arrived at the hotel and were told that the food was being served immediately. On the menu were the standard Italian selections and everything was reasonable until the main course came out. We were presented with a weird meat-like substance that was allegedly pork and accompanied with SMASH!? I didn't even know they still made that stuff! Hasten to add we left the food and avoided the dinner option from there on in. The rooms were clean and basic. Unfortunately the doors had to be banged close when leaving which caused problems early in the morning. Also we were given a roadside room which was very noisy early in the morning as well but we were already awake from the door banging so it wasn't a problem! The towels we were given were clean and changed daily but they were very old and rough.

The good side was the location right in the town centre. However I would ask for a pool-side room which I think they charge extra for. All in all a bargain hotel but avoid the food there and use the money to get the good room or a better hotel...

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Food and noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    186
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
88
323
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

The Capri Hotel may not quite merit 3* status by Irish standards, but our experience was generally very good. The food is really good, particularly the fish and extensive salads, and the service is excellent from the hard-working, pleasant and humorous staff.

The pool is perhaps better described as a large pond! No chance of an Olympic lap..!

The hotel is family owned and it seems they live on site, but unfortunately, rarely interact with the guests and are quite autocratic - if not rude! - when speaking with the staff.

During our week 2 couples of our acquaintance were without water in their rooms for 4 days - no apology nor compensation were offered! They had to buy their own water for teeth brushing etc. - a complimentary bottle of wine and a few words of apology would have made a world of difference - especially in terms of PR!

The location is very good - short walk to buses, trains and main Piazza. However, it's a major heart-pounding trek to the tiny beach or to the pier..!

The hotel is very clean and the chambermaids are most meticulous, conscientious and helpful.

Kevin and Eileen, Limerick, Ireland.

  • Liked — The Staff - not the owner management, though! The food too.
  • Disliked — The attitude of the owners to the guests and to the staff, especially.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

my boyfriend and I (both in our mid 20s) stayed at this hotel last summer.

Like many others we were anxious after reading a lot of negative comments about the hotel. but here is my honest review...

the hotel was basic, pristine clean and it served our needs perfectly. location wise it is excellent. other couples who travelled with us were staying in the hotel metropole which was up in the hillside and others were in the nearby town of sant agnello.

we managed to secure the apartment with the biggest balcony and two sun-loungers which was fab. it overlooked the pool on the left and a big church on the right (which looks like a big green german helmet lol)

the only disadvantage for me was the food. although i am an extremely fussy eater by my own admission so it was always going to be hard to please me. but my boyfriend enjoyed it.
the staff work so hard and bend over backwards to cater for your every need and very few ppl tipped them!

the pool is quite small but not so small that you can't get a wee swim. there's limited sun loungers so if you are a sun worshipper you need to get down there early.

the hotel is situated on a main road but we didn't hear a sound at all, and i am an awful sleeper.

also, it's a family run hotel so most evenings you'll see the family, especially big mamma mia sitting out by the pool with her large family. and she usually lies out at the pool during the day as well.

it's situated right next door to a lovely lemon grove which you can stroll through during the day. across the road is a shop, ice-cream parlour and a superb pizza place. (if you love pizzas, get in there!) oh and a bookshop as well.

the train station is a minute's walk away and there's a foreign exchange office on the corner too as well as loads of camera shops. we filled up our memory card and the wee guy burned it on to disco for 9euro and we printed them off when we got home.

the main plaza (i think it's called) or it's more of a square i suppose is less than 3 mins walk from the hotel. gorgeous restaraunt there tucked away in the corner, next to the pizza place il canonico it's called.

i truly loved sorrento as there is so much to do and see: amalfi coast is a must, pompei, vesuvius, capri (blue grotto is a magnificent experience), naples, positano, ischia.

i would really recommend a trip over to the island of ischia, it's really lovely and not many ppl choose this excursion. the taxi men charge 50euro to take you by taxi to the spas but you go round the corner and get the bus for 1euro! although be warned, they pack the bus full and i got so hot i fainted lol

can't remember the name of the spa we went to but it was spectacular-nestled into the mountains with lots of thermal pools to relax in etc..

anyway, i've said enough. but always remember, ppl are more likely to complain than to take the trouble to commend something!

you won't regret staying at the hotel capri unless you are expecting a 4/5*star hotel.

if you are a fussy eater like me, be prepared to spend a bit more on top of what you paid for your half-board at the hotel, but it's worth it.

  • Liked — location, balcony, very quiet
  • Disliked — food (But i'm extremely fussy!), small pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miffythesmartbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

Great location for central Sorrento, short walk from the bus and train station. very clean hotel, but quite basic. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a central base, we would not recommend this hotel to someone looking for a 'nice' hotel to get away in. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but we did have breakfast. Breakfast was basic and not very good(which is why we didn't have dinner at the hotel).Staff at the hotel were doing their job, but not as helpful and friendly as we have found in other hotels. Found a fantasic resturant approx. 15 mins walk from the hotel called Ristorante Caruso on Via S.Antonino, and there is a nice square a very short walk from the hotel with a few bars/cafes and a resturant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room decor/food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klpeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

After we had made our reservation, I checked out the reviews that are posted on this site. I was a little concerned, particularly on seeing the negative comments about how unhelpful and rude the staff were. My worries were unfounded.

I found the staff to be absolutely ecellent in EVERY respect. There was nothing that was too much trouble, no request was considered a problem, and I honestly have to say that it was a total pleasure to stay there. I wouldhave A BSOLUTELY ZERO hesitation in recommending this hotel to any prospective traveller to Sorrento.

I should say that I think Sorrento itself is fairly quiet, so if you are looking for some lively night life, you should probably look somewhere other than Sorrento. But for a quiet family holiday, in very pleasant, hospitable, customerf ocussed, clean surroundings, I would look no further than this hiotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff.
  • Disliked — no designated public Bar area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irishman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heaven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

its a shame about some of the reviews for this hotel as i feel some comments were unfair, especialy the food, yes it was different and maybe not what you are used to at home, but hey wernt we eating in a different country with their own tradition of what to cook and present for eating, or do we all go for a carbon copy of what we can eat at home (in which case why go abroad) i have stayed at some 4 star hotels in Sorrento and the food was more or less the same on offer, at least the Capri was clean and well cooked and served by two great waiters one of which had a lovely high high pitched way of saying "OK" fantastic.

yes i agree about the communal and bar areas, but hey didnt we go on holiday to sit in the hotel or see the fantasic sights that are available, the room itself was clean and well presented, my air con worked lucky me haha, the locatation of the hotel is very well placed for easy access to the city and transportation routes.

we had a great experience at this hotel and apart from the ignorant and totally unhelpfull night porter the staff were great


i would recommend this hotel, for people who want to enjoy a holiday and accept that in a different country food is different too

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the night porter
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordieboy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for a week.The hotel is in a great location at the top of the town.We stayed on a half board basis.There was a real effort made with the dinners although this ment you didn't always like the look of what was on offer.When sitting for dinner the smallist tables sat four so you had no choice but to sit with strangers.The hotel staff were friendly and the rooms clean.If your after a suntan the roof is accesable and has loungers e.t.c.Sorrento itself is great but small.I found that the real plus to this area is going down to the harbour {10min walk} where all the boats operate like buses.From here you have a great choice of destinations, Capri,Naples,Amalfi coast e.t.c. One last tip , if you crave some food other than pasta & pizza leave the hotel turn left 5 mins up the road there is a very nice Chinese on the right.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f100zardoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing