We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Centre of Sorrento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Centre of Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Capri for one week in August 2013. The hotel is kept to a good standard and very clean. The two girls on reception are the most friendly we have met and found Veronica very helpful and knowledgeable, and always had a big smile for the guests.

I would say the breakfast selection was quite typical of hotels in Italy, the fruit and bread/rolls being good, but the quality of the cooked breakfast, eggs, sausage etc was not so good, the sausage was a strange colour and didn't taste too good either.

We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, with a nice comfy bed, and although there is a small fridge in the room, it doesn't chill very well.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for it's location, cleanliness and the polite friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thanks for your comment. we are happy that you had a good holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    185
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
88
322
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Capri, Sorrento in mid June 2013. We had booked a week but, unfortunately, only stayed four nights due to illness. The hotel is very centrally located being no more than a five minute stroll to Piazza Tasso and less to the station. The hotel is very clean and although the room we had was not huge it was spotless and had all that we needed. There was a good selection at breakfast. We did not use the small pool but it looked nice and well maintained. We did read a few not so good reviews of the hotel before our stay but we could not agree as we found everything to our satisfaction and the staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly when we needed to call a doctor. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you can. Unfortunately, we were unable to get one and we did miss bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldohappytourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thank you very much for your comment and we hope see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 9.8.13to16.8.13. It is very clean with comfortable beds. Plenty of choice at breakfast with both sweet and savory dishes available. The pool area is quite small as is the pool itself. The location is fantastic as you are within walking distance of all shops bars restaurants the main square and train station. The marina can be reached either by stairs or lift. My main comment would be about the staff in this hotel. They are all extremely polite and friendly, but a special mention has to go to the girls on reception who are always willing to help and can give any information required and always with a smile. They are among the nicest receptionists we have ever encountered.
If you are going to sorrento this hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel with a small but perfectly good balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfairy830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
many thanks for the comment. we are happy that you had a great holiday...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent a week at the Capri and could not fault it. The location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk from the bus/train station, opposite the best pizza place in town and fie minutes walk from the main square. The reception area and bar are kept immaculately clean and the rooms are a great size. Veronica on reception is fantastic, a real credit to the hotel and all staff are so friendly. If you want to be in a great location for travelling around the Capri is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
thank you for the comment. It's most important for us...See yoy again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We started at the Hotel Capri for our first ever trip to Italy and it was everything we could have hoped for. We had a garden view room (highly recommended), very comfortable with a good bed, bathroom and excellent air conditioning - a must in the hot weather! Great location - a few minutes' walk to the centre of Sorrento, the train station and the pickup area for excursions (if you are with Thomson, anyway). Franco's over the road is good and reliable for a quick, good and well-priced beer-and-a-pizza. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We enjoyed it so much we are about to start booking to come back next year. THANK YOU!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in hotel Capri for 2 weeks in July. It was our first time in Italy and we were certainly impressed with both Sorrento and the hotel.
The hotel is immaculate and in a fantastic location, close by to shops, bars, restaurants, bus and train station. We couldn't have picked a better location to stay.
We had a room with a balcony over looking the garden which was fantastic, very peaceful and quiet and a lovely way to relax in an evening.
All the staff are very polite and helpful, they go out of their way to help you.
Breakfast was superb with plenty options for me as I am vegetarian.
My fiancé Kenny is a keen photographer and was smitten with Sorrento, since we have came back EVERYONE is commenting on his stunning photographs.
We most certainly will be back to Hotel Capri.
Thank you so much for a fantastic holiday, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kenny & Sharon xxx

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thanks...we are happy that you had a great holiday.....we'll wait you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

When in Italy, this is my hotel of choice because every time I stay there, it is always a wonderful experience! Friendly and professional staff, excellent service, great food, clean and convenient!

I would recommend it to anyone- a great experience and a wonderful hotel in the heart of Sorrento!

See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesburgSabryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thnak you for your comment and we hope to see you again next year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing