We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lucky, I guess”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were supposed to stay at another, larger hotel in Sorrento but for unknown reasons was moved to the Hotel Capris. Normally, I would have made a fuss about the switch, but the Hotel Capris was a lucky find! It has a great location. The lobby and room decor is fabulous ... all light gray, white and beige. Soothing and immaculate.

Loved the dining room where they served breakfast. And a maitre d straight out of the movies ... In a good way.

Our room and bathroom were on the small side. But it was beautifully decorated and immaculate. We had a balcony facing the pool, which I would strongly recommend. You want to be on the pool facing side also because the other side faces a busy street with a lot of traffic.

The staff was delightful. Very knowledgable, extremely helpful, always saying hi and asking how they could be of assistance. Loved the pool area -- small but charming. Also had a nice snack bar by the pool area.

Free wifi but doesn't work very well. There is a good desktop computer in lobby.

The location was ideal. We could walk everywhere, and many restaurants and shops nearby.

The town itself, while beautiful, seems on the extreme end of touristy. But you can't best the weather, sea views (not from the hotel) and terrific food and gelato!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the pool with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for the comment and we happy that you had a great holiday in Hotel Capri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 584 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from 7 days BB at Hotel Capri fabulous location straight into the heart of Sorrento. Hotel reception areas and restaurant where we were served our excellent breakfast were first class although the rooms a little on the small side were in need of some refurbishment.

The reception staff Veronica & Teresa could not have been more helpful and friendly and in 40 years of travelling abroad we have never met 2 more knowledgable and pleasant girls.

We would certainly return to the Hotel Capri.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry789562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

thanks for your comment.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well off we went to Sorrento for our Holiday. 7 nights B&B at the Hotel Capri. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was a little on the small side and no balcony. I would really want a balcony next time. However the size of the room did not really make any difference to us (we just had to be a bit tidier). The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice. The coffee however was awful, so I just had juice. The hotel was very clean throughout. The Capri is in a very good position close to the centre, trains, buses. All in all we had a great holiday. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

thanks for your comments. i hope see you again in Sorrento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had heard that the food was not too good but we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was just bed and breakfast and we found the breakfast good. Very tasty and lots to choose from and the coffee was nice. We also had snacks round the pool and they were very good.
The hotel itself is lovely, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bedroom was comfortable and the service excellent. We were in a room at the front of the hotel and, during the night, could hear the traffic but it was not obtrusive and did not keep us awake at all. The staff were all, without exception, friendly, chatty and helpful. We would certainly go back again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rita90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

thank you......wa are happy that you had a beautifull holiday....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently spent a week in this hotel and were absolutely delighted with its quality. The rooms were a good size and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I had requested a bed with a firm mattress and that is exactly what they gave me, confirming that they had checked it in advance. The staff were very friendly, in particular, Veronica at reception - I have never encountered a more helpful and cheery person. It's location is perfect for walking access to the main town and the pool area, while small, is perfectly adequate with very comfortable loungers. The air-conditioning is very effective in the bedroom but can be a little cold in middle of the night, however this didn't bother us too much. Only negative would be lack of a kettle in room so next time we will bring our own travel kettle. We look forward to our next visit and will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter. However, once the window is closed for rooms overlooking the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for the comment...we are enjoe that you had a great holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one week in July 2013. My first impression of the hotel was that it was very clean and was beautifully decorated. Our room was comfortable and clean and we both slept well.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is right on the Corso Italia and only a matter of a few minutes walk from the main piazza, train station and harbour. There is a small shop directly opposite the hotel so that you can get bottles of water for 1€ and soft drinks for slightly more. There is a supermarket slightly further down the Corso Italia. There are dozens of restaurants nearby so you will never have a problem of finding somewhere to eat.

There are many reviews saying that the rooms overlooking the Corso Italia (the main road) are very noisy. We stayed in room 107 which overlooks the main road and the noise did not bother us in the slightest. However, we do live on a main road so we are accustomed to noise. To be honest, most of the noise was blocked out by the windows anyway.

The pool area is lovely. There are plenty of sunbeds and deck chairs. The pool itself is fairly small but it's perfectly adequate if you just want to take a short dip.

Breakfast was very good. It's a standard continental breakfast. I usually went for some bread rolls with cheese and ham/mortadella followed by a plate of fruit and some cake to finish off. To drink I had orange juice (which was pure, not from concentrate) and some coffee. There is a wealth of choice.

We received an excellent service overall from the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are worried by noise then perhaps choose a room overlooking the pool. If you're not too f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

thank you for the commnet....we are waiting again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Couldn't of had a better wedding everyone very helpful & friendly, rooms very clean nice pool area reception staff nice people.if me and my wife go to sorento again would deffo stay there again and would like to say a special thanks to one of the staff Veronica she is brilliant and so helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrenwilsongrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

thank you for your comment.....I hope see you again in our hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $153 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing