We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Capri
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
$464
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
$912
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
$333
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
$589
$566
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$830
$470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
$459
$446
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$406
$343
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$571
$467
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
280
217
60
37
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
217
60
37
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conpool areathe main squaretrain stationsmall hotelsmall poollovely hotelcakesfew minutes walkbest pizzacentral locationpiazza tassofrench balconyforeigners clubreception staffcontinental styleclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 607 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here the first week in July, loved this hotel, basic but stylish, clean and airy, rooms nicely air conditioned (for me anyway), staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast always good.
Location was the best part, stones throw from the train and bus stop, letting you travel about the area easily, and minutes from the heart of sorrento, excellent for evenings out.
Few niggles...shame the pool and garden area is closed in the evenings, especially the garden area not having the lights on, as it would have been nice to enjoy a drink out there. But the hotel makes no secret of the fact it is not geared up to be an evening spot, which means you always eat out!
And people leaving towels on the best sun loungers....hate that! A rule would be nice :)

You won't be sorry if you pick this place, as long as you know there is not much evening entertainment in the hotel, but as the bars and restaurants of Sorrento are so close, so what!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Digsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

thank you for you compliments.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Capri & would definitely stay there again next time we travel to Sorrento.

The staff are amazing, always smiling, very friendly & genuinely happy in everything they do.

Our room was overlooking the church & yes the bells ring around 6.30am each morning but it really wasn't a problem & they only went on for a couple of minutes.

The rooms at the Hotel Capri are compact however, our room was immaculate, the air conditioning was very quiet & the bed was as comfy as our bed at home. We had a good nights sleep every night. The one small criticism I have about the room is it could do with a set of draws as only 2 in the main wardrobe really isn't enough. Also the safe is included in the price of the room so no extra charges unlike a lot of places.

The breakfast was great & plentiful, so I can only assume on having read some previous reviews about the breakfasts that the management took this on board & improved them greatly.

The location of the Hotel Capri is fantastic, a 5 minute walk to Piazza Tasso & about 15 minutes from the Villa Comunale Public Gardens where you can access the lidos on the Central Beach. It is also only about a 20 minute walk to Marina Grande which is a very pleasant place to spend an evening.

This hotel had everything we were looking for, great rooms, great location, good breakfasts, compact, adult friendly & great pool scene.

Room Tip: Either opt for a room to the rear or at the side
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JosieB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

thanks...we are happy that you had a great holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A lovely small hotel in the heart of Sorrento, very close to the train and bus stations and within easy walk of the old town. Our room was overlooking the garden and pool so got sun in the afternoon and by the evening it was relaxing to sit out and have some wine. The room itself was compact, just big enough and with a good use of space, the air con was very quiet. The bed was very large and everything was very clean. Breakfasts had plenty of choice and much better than in other Italian hotels I've experienced. The pool area and garden were very clean and also very pleasant to sit in. Considering the front of the hotel was on a busy road it was very quiet. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, the toilet seat came off and within a day it was replaced. We had a late departure so were allowed a room in which to change after spending the afternoon by the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancashirelass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

thank you for your comment....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a double balcony room at the rear of the building from Friday 14 June to Friday 21 June 2013. We booked the hotel through Thompson and were looking for a hotel in the centre of Sorrento. We chose it as we like small hotels and this one had approximately 40 bedrooms and also had a swimming pool and garden area.

As part of our package holiday transfers from Naples Airport were included so I am unable to comment on how easy it would be to make an independent transfer. However the hotel was located a very easy 150m walk away from the train station which made it a very easy to travel to Naples town centre, Pompeii Scavi station for Pompeii and Ercolano station for Herculaneum from there.

The hotel is very centrally located on the Corso Italia, one of the main roads in Sorrento and a five minutes’ walk from Piazza Tasso, the main square. The hotel is adjacent to the Cataldo Lemon Orchard, a traditional citrus grove. Directly on leaving the hotel one is surrounded by a good selection of shops and cafes.

When we arrived we were checked in quickly and experienced very friendly and courteous service throughout our stay.

Our bedroom was at the rear of the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. It had a bedroom with bed, bedside tables (with no storage space), desk, chair, flat screen television with a few English channels, mini bar and wardrobes. Our only slight issue for our entire stay was that the room would have benefitted from some additional storage space ideally a chest of draws. We had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the swimming pool and garden. There was an en suit bathroom with shower over the bath, sink, toilet and bidet. There was a constant supply of hot water. Also in the room was a safe, which I think there was a charge for the key. The hotel also had free wi-fi which worked well in our bedroom.

We were booked on a bed and breakfast basis. The dining room was adjacent to the swimming pool. The self service buffet breakfast was outstanding for a hotel of its size. It consisted of a good range of hot and cold food including cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, bread, cheese, meats, pastries, delicious jams, fruit juices and a choice of tea and coffee.

The hotel was decorated nicely throughout to a good standard, well maintained and some had lovely communal areas including a reception and separate bar area with sofas. There was a small swimming pool with sun loungers and deckchairs and a small garden area with sofas.

We were delighted with our stay and would have no hesitation to stay at the hotel again if we returned to Sorrento and would certainly recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetotravel1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

thanks fr your comment. I hope see you again in Hotel Capri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just came back from a week in Sorrento booked via Thomson/Citalia. We looked at the TA reviews so requested a room at the back of the hotel. Unfortunately this was not forthcoming and the hotel receptionist refused to do anything about it. We were booked into room 101 that must be THE noisiest room I have EVER stayed in. It has two windows – one overlooking the local petrol station and the side window overlooking the local church that has a tradition for ringing their bells very early each morning. But the worst thing is that the hotel is literally a couple of feet away from the main road and you can practically touch the top of the buses as they pass by (see my posted photos). Room 101 is also at the top of the staircase and adjacent to the lift, so as well as the traffic noise there was also the clip clop of stiletto heels on the marble or the lift doors opening and closing.

The rooms itself are ok, comfy beds and pillows, air conditioned and very clean. There is a fridge to store the locally purchased Prosseco and Limoncello. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially the girls who server drinks around the pool area. The hot food at breakfast is pretty disgusting - greasy streaky bacon, undercooked sausages, undercooked boiled eggs (to call them soft boiled would be an exaggeration) and weird tasting scrambled eggs – with the usual continental offering of ham, cheese, cereals, breads etc.

The hotel pool areas is really good and waitress service on drinks and food which I thought were reasonably priced (5 Euro for a large beer).

The location of the hotel is its main attraction with it being only a leisurely 7 minute walk to the main square.

We had a great week in Sorrento but I came back absolutely knackered. Not from traipsing around Pompeii or climbing Mount Vesuvius, but simply because I didn’t have a single decent nights sleep due to the 24/7 traffic noise spitting distance from the room.

So my recommendation is that unless you are guaranteed a room at the back of the hotel or you are a really heavy sleeper avoid this hotel.

What would I do to Room 101 .... well, actually I would put it into my room 101! I would also avoid room 124 as this overlooks the swimming pool/air conditioning units so you may well have the constant drone of this to content with.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front, but especially room 101. I would also avoid room 124.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews