We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a better place to stay in Sorrento for B&B”
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Marziale
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't think of a better place to stay in Sorrento for B&B”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This B&B is so superior to many I've stayed in. The rooms were elegant and clean. (The reviewer who complained about not being able to make tea hadn't looked in the cupboard by the minibar.) It was well situated and so easy to walk to the dozens of restaurants on it's doorstep. We were in the Yellow room with view of the sea and the public gardens opposite. It was quiet, but that was in it's favour. If you want somewhere to sit and have a bit of bustle around, surely you go to a hotel!
We found the morning contact with the 2 staff at breakfast sufficient; they were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast they laid on was generous and fresh, with a choice of coffees and teas. A four star standard all round!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    51
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
103
330
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I'll get to the conclusion first. Would I recommend this hotel to friends? Yes I would and I would even go back to the same place again myself; so that must means it's very good right? Well it would have been but for a few areas that let it down and there was no real excuse for these. So, here's the good and bad in no particular order: Breakfast - A good selection with Cereal (one type only), croissants and other pastries, fresh bread rolls with meats and cheese, fresh fruits and yoghurts plus teas (various varieties) coffees and juice. Served 8-10. get there early if you want the full selection though as it isn't restocked and there isn't always everything left is you're there after 9.

The building/rooms - A good solid and very attractive, typically Italian building, decorated in a classical style. We had the yellow room that had plenty of space and a view past the church to the sea. There was a TV and air conditioning but no Tea / coffee facilities. (didn't they realise we were English?!) which we really would have liked. There was sufficient wardrobe space but only a couple of hangers. The bathroom was marble and absolutely splendid but...BUT...there was dirty black gunge along the edge of the bath and blood spots on the shower curtain. There was plenty of hot water but the shower head needed changing so you had to run around to get wet. The bedding and towels were fresh but although I like a firm mattress and pillow, these were too hard and I didn't sleep particularly well. There was a really nice roof terrace which I think was available for wedding parties. It would have been lovely to be able to sit there in the evening for a while but it was out of bounds to 'regular' visitors which was a shame.

The staff booked us in without a problem and said hello at breakfast and that was it. Never saw them again, not even to check out. This wasn't a problem for us but if we had needed anything I'm not sure how we would have contacted them.

The location was spot on. About a 4 minute walk to piazza Tasso and 30 seconds from the viewing terrace overlooking the bay of Naples. The 'old town' streets are just around the corner with all the cafe's and restaurants. The location really is excellent. Take some earplugs though so the scooters passing by don't disturb you. Out of a 5 night stay, one night was quite noisy but the other 4 nights were not a problem.

All in all I thought it was a lovely hotel (B&B) but if they had just paid a little more attention to the cleanliness and made the terrace available it would have made it excellent.

Oh yes, and provided a kettle and some Tea bags (PG tips would be fine!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlewin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here for his 40th birthday. We stayed on the White room which is just beautiful. I was also at a wedding here 2 years ago. Great location. Lovely hostess and staff. Lovely spot if you want a nice quiet holiday left to your own devices. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I have just returned this week from Sorrento after my amazing Italian wedding. I did not stay at this hotel but me and my now husband choose this place as our venue for our wedding reception and what a good choice we made.

Its very hard to choose a venue when you are only doing it through internet research and not actually being able to visit and check out places, but we could not have made a better choice!
It is a very beautiful old Italian building and a very romantic setting for any wedding. You get to have the place to yourself and we ate outside in the gorgeous garden terrace which was the perfect size for our party of 25 people (would hold more).

We went to see the owner a few days before and she told us to leave our favours, name places and a table plan so she could have everything set up for when we arrived and we were not dissapointed with the outcome. The table was set perfect complete with a big flower centre piece, all my guests said it was the nicest wedding they had every been too and even my very fussy mum thought it was gorgeous.

The food was just something else, the appetisers just kept coming and coming and there were so many different and tasty ones everyone was impressed. The rest of the meal followed the same standard I cant say how pleased I was!

The two waiters were very proffesional and let us go and chill on the tarrace inbetween courses which given the amount of food that kept coming was a needed break.

Well thats it, I highly reccomend this tucked away venue which I may add is in a very good position in central Sorrento but also tucked away slightly.

Happy to help anyone who wants to know more.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Marziale, which is also hosts wedding breakfasts . Paola was a great host and very helpful on our arrival.

We had the Blue Room which is sumptuously decorated although if you also want a view you'd need to request another room. Some aspects are getting a little tired (eg shower connection over the bath was loose) but it everything you needed was there (well appointed).

The location is fantastic - a church just outside with regular weddings and a further 20 seconds to the beach access and tremendous coastal views. Shops and cafes are right at the doorstep. It's a short taxi ride from the train station (that still cost us 18 euros) but too far to walk with suitcases.

Breakfasts are also a highlight - and the friendly staff will make you great cappucinos or lattes! Different pasteries every day, cereal, fruits, yogurts, cheeses & proscuito. Plus a lovely view of the church, park and coast.

Wifi is available in the reception area where there is comfortable seating.

We found our bed very hard on the first night, so if you like a hard bed then the Blue room is the one for you!

All up, an 'ottimo' choice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed for a week and enjoyed its central location and comfortable room. Downside was there was no outside space in which to relax as the terrace was out of bounds other than at breakfast. Visited Sorrento many years ago and had forgotten how lovely it was. Won't leave it so long to return but unfortunately it won't be to the Palazzo Marziale.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHOManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We had a triple room, which was a double with a cot squeezed in. We checked in after arriving by a long train ride from Naples and used the bathroom facilities. The toilet did not generate enough water pressure to adequately flush. We waited and listened for the tank to fill, but there was no water. After getting settled we went around to let the proprietress know about the problem. When we got back from a walk around the town there was a note explaining that it cost 20EUR to call the plumber, that there was no problem, that the tank just fills up slowly, as can be expected in an older building, and that if we complained about this again the plumbing charge would be billed to our room. The bathroom could use some fresh grouting and some scrubbing of the seams and joints which were moldy, the shower curtain was terry cloth and not fresh, could have benefited from a soak in bleach. After that we did not bother to contact the proprietress again for anything, and she did not bother to make an appearance in the two days that we spent there. Breakfast was put out by a service person, who only spoke Italian. All in all I am sure that there are nicer, more welcoming places, for the price, to stay in Sorrento, which is wonderful. We certainly would not stay at the Palazzo Marziale again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threeletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaolaSavarerese, Proprietario at Palazzo Marziale, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Threeletts,
i decided to answer just now to your review, becouse many people, after visiting us ask me how is it possible i was so rude with you as i am normally quite gentle and patient and decided to open my house becouse i enjoy staying with people of other culture from who i costantly learne something new every day.
I remember you and your daughters very well and still apologize for the missundersting: i had less experience then and had a bad reaction to your quite aggressive way to claim, today i think i would manage the situation much better.
Kind regards,
Paola Savarese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Property: Palazzo Marziale
Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing