We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really charming hotel!!!”
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Marziale
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at palazzo Marzialle in June 2013 for celebration of my Mom's and my birthdays. It is very pleasant place in Sorrento. All is very conviniently located , really nice location for beach, port , and center of the city. Very nice panorama to Vesuvio. The atmosphere is really fantastic and personal really helpful. Food is great and fresh.
Thank you to all the team for such a wonderful vacation we had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Marziale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 564 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I loved this hotel! My daughter, son-in-law, and myself spent three nights there. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking a church square where we were able to call out congratulations to the couples who were just married. We even had a view of the sea from our balcony. Paola, the owner, was great and so very helpful. This hotel is exquisite in its decor and the staff were very attentive and thoughtful. We all loved Sorrento and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor overlooking the square.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Lounge Bar here is a run by a charming man. You can sit outside with a huge glass of wine and watch all the weddings in the church over the road. it's quiet, low key and really relaxing. In addition at lunch you can get the worlds 3rd best burger (it's winking at in and out burger, it's that good) and a sift drink for ten Euro? It has stucco walls, oozes sophistication and he can make a very good martini (best stick to one though !!). Also worth having a look at the bottles of wines along the wall. There is an entertaining surprise to be found.

Great in the day and the evening and suprisingly not busy. I just wish we had eaten in the restaurant now. if you want somewhere romantic in the evening, come here. Or if you just want a brilliant lounge bar, come here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SimonT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We actually stumbled on this restaurant because we were having a drink in their small lounge bar and we were fascinated by the beautiful building. So we decided to go up to the restaurant and check it out when it was still empty. The atmosphere and interior was just great. Their big rooftop terrace was wonderful and the menu looked great. So I booked a table for that evening and chose the best table of the restaurant.

What can I tell you, the food was to die for! fresh, original, just wonderful.
Everybody should try this 'non touristic' restaurant and their great service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Palazzo Marziale was our first stop on our June trip to Italy . What a wonderful place to begin a fabulous two week stay in the Amalfi Coast and Capri! My husband and I were traveling with another couple who have been very dear friends for many years. We have taken many trips over the years but Paola and her staff provided such excellent, thoughtful friendly service, our suites overlooking the lovely Church and park by the harbor were the most spacious and beautifully appointed of all the places we have stayed, and the delicious breakfasts, lunch and a great dinner in the new hotel restaurant with one of the best wines we have had in Italy made this a place we will never forget !
In planning our trip we debated about whether to stay in Sorrento or in a venue in the hills above the town. We are so glad we chose to stay in the heart of town! and Palazzo Marziale has a particularly beautiful location , a convenient walk to everything in town and to the train and ferry and bus lines. We ate at many different restaurants and enjoyed evenings after dinner walking among the local people away from the most popular tourist areas.. We'll never forget watching a highly talented little boy perhaps 4 or 5 years old skillfully handle a
soccer ball - perhaps a future star on an Italian team in the making!

Room Tip: We stayed in suites overlooking the church square and park. I highly recommend them. They are worth...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this hotel and we were very happy with the choice we have made. Actually we had the feeling that we were spending the vacation at the mantion of some rich friends. Everyting is so cosy, elegant, discrete, intimate, warm. The staff have a very warm and delicate attitude that we really felt like in a family. Paola and the staff are very attentive to the guests needs. They manage to organise a small birthday party in one day, eventhough there was a wedding celebrating the same day. All our frinds were impressed by the place and the services provided.
The place is just amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We indulged in the most wonderful Espressos and Cappuccinos with treats in the Bar Lounge daily and had a spectacular meal at the Hotel Restaurant.. Can't to return, best food and service of a 3-week trip to Europe

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laineymkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $190 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing