We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and elegant”
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Marziale
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This beautiful and elegant little hotel is in a small renaissance palazzo in the centre of town adjacent to the little park overlooking the harbour and the Bay of Naples. The rooms are nicely furnished and having a small elevator helps with luggage. Paola Savarese gave up life as a lawyer five or six years ago to pursue her dream of running a small boutique hotel, as well as an elegant restaurant, which is opening this summer. During our stay in March 2013 Paola was a warm and wonderful hostess. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Some rooms and suites have balconies looking to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 589 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The palace is wonderful, in a great location and perfectly furnished but you have the perception that it was transformed in bed and breakfast not for passion... The room was a bit noisy and air conditioning not working( or maybe not yet switched on). The shower curtain was dirty and in the bathroom there were no tables or chairs where to leave personal belongings. The owner has in her hands a wonderful place that she could exploit a bit better to make it really special

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marimas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola_Savarese, Proprietario at Palazzo Marziale, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Mrs. Marimas, it sounds very strange to me answer in english to a guest with whom i was very friendly speaking in italian just few days ago, but as you wrote your review in english i think it's just correct doing the same.
I'm very sorry for beeing able to get your one night stay really memorable and apologize for the curtain becouse is something that i allways look after and recommend the maids to check every day.
Said this, i also would like to contest you that in your very short stay i personally have asked you if everithing was going well at least twice and you ensured me it was and i think this is very unfair. If you would have told me about the shower curtain i could tell the maid to change it immediately and it is true that the air conditioning was not working in your room becouse the engine just broke up and this can happen. Letting me know would have been very appreciated.
We realized that in room there was this problem with the a/c system the same day you left when the next guest checked in: i was advised and in one hour time the engine was changed and everithing fixed. And please make sure i'm aware i have a jewel in my hands and do the maximum of my efforts to make it really special but i'm also aware that it can't be the special place for every one.
Kind regards,
Paola Savarese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed there for 5 night on March 2013 (The green suite). every thing was great. Location - 5 m. walk to center& port. 10 m. walk to bus&train station. Parking - they have arrangement .They take/bring the car for 15 E. per night. Room was spacious with very nice furniture's and big beautiful bathroom. Breakfast - large selection and very Italian. Service was very personal.

Room Tip: Ask for room/suite with view to the garden/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MosheA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely, old hotel. Large, comfortable rooms and bathrooms.
Great location in City Center. Walk to shopping, restaurants, boats to Capri and more.
Breakfast room and meall good.
Wifi.
Storage for autos.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a relief after leaving Naples - this is everything you'd hope to find in an Italian seaside resort - beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooms, deluxe all-marble bathroom that you'd hope to transport to your own house with huge bath and all facilities.

The family who run the Palazzo are absolutely lovely and they welcome you in as if you're old family friends and help out with travel, eating and discount tips. Breakfast is a little basic, but that's no quibble really as it's no different to anywhere else in Italy. The hotel is in a great location right toward the water front and a twenty step stroll to stunning views across the bay to Vesuvius, it's surrounded by restaurants all of which looked appetising and an easy ten minute walk from the train/bus station.

They are currently adding a restaurant which will only enhance the place. The only minor downside we experienced as the incessant bell-ringing on the Sunday morning, but that's nothing the Palazzo can control!

All in all - very very highly recommended for a romabtic couple type retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hilarity Room - which after our escapades in, and escaping from Naples, seemed rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Palazzo Marziale is a superb small hotel full of style and character. The generous rooms are very tastefully decorated , allowing lots of space and a high level of comfort. Our Suite was large with lovely big windows onto the church square opposite ( no church bells , so very peaceful ). The marble bathroom has double basins and huge shower recess.
Paola is the ultimate hostess, taking very good care of her clients. Breakfast is a selection of sweet and savoury products along with cereal, yoghurts , fruit salad etc.
I highly recommend Palazzo Marziale.It is an elegant and peace place to call home for a few days ...or longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FW_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had to travel to Sorrento for business and ended up finding this beautiful small property with excellent ambience and great service. Breakfast on the patio an experience and great value for money. Hope to be back soon and would absolutely recommend as "your home in Sorrento"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMartinoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $102 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing