We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Holiday Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Fantastic Holiday Destination”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We’ve just returned from a week’s holiday in Sorrento, staying at the Grand Hotel De La Ville, having seen some very positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and as it was my first visit back to the area for 29 years and the hotel played a big part in making the holiday such a success I thought I’d post a short review.

LOCATION:

The hotel is one of a small group of family-owned properties – Manniello Hotels – in Sorrento. Only a short walk (5 to 10 minutes) from the bustling Piazza Tasso in the town centre, the hotel sits on a quiet street with the ubiquitous lemon groves (a regional speciality) at one end of the street and in front of the hotel. If you travel to Sorrento using the Circumvesuviana railway, as we did, it’s only 5-10 minutes walk from the station. This made it an ideal base from which to do low-cost trips round the bay (Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Naples). Typical return fares cost less than €4,00 per person.

ROOM:

The air-conditioned hotel room was immaculate and very well-appointed. We had a 2nd floor room, with balcony and views out over the lemon grove in front of the hotel, though the view of the Bay and Vesuvius beyond it were partially obscured by trees. This really didn’t spoil it, though, and had we been on a higher floor I’m pretty sure our view would’ve been unobstructed. The bathroom was clean with a good over-bath shower and separate basin and we had a TV and mini-bar, though beware – it’s possible, as everywhere, to run up a sizeable bill very quickly if you plunder the mini-bar too often!

FACILITIES:

Unlimited wired internet access is available in the rooms at a cost of €32,00 for 7 days – a range of different price plans are available, for example for 24 hours only, but as we were staying for 7 nights the 7-day plan was the obvious choice for me.

The hotel boasts two pools – the full-sized pool is in a sheltered courtyard to the rear of the hotel and the other, that we made most use of, is a much smaller rooftop pool with hydromassage jets. The rooftop pool, though smaller, is better for sun-worshippers (though was never crowded while we were there) and also sports fabulous views across the bay of Naples, to Capri, Ischia and Vesuvius.

There’s also a bar on the roof and quite a few sunloungers, with umbrellas for shade if you need to escape from the mid-day sun. We found the rooftop pool and bar an ideal place to have “chillout” days between days of active sightseeing.

BREAKFAST:

We stayed B&B at the hotel and breakfast is served in the courtyard garden at the back, in the dappled shade cast by the pergola supporting lemon and orange trees. The buffet breakfast was a choice of cooked breakfast, or “continental” breakfast (sliced meats, cheeses and break), with fruit, yogurts and juices available. They also served a very nice cup of morning coffee! The courtyard has limited tables but there is also a large inside dining room.

EVENING MEALS:

I’d very strongly recommend anyone staying in Sorrento to go B&B and do what we did, potter round Sorrento to find nice trattoria’s to eat at each evening. That said, we did have our evening meal at the hotel on a couple of evenings and the food was good and the staff very attentive. The cost was €32,00 per person.

BAR:

Aside from the rooftop bar, there is a large ground-floor bar near the restaurant, with “happy hours”, live music on some evenings and, should you want it, TV. The bar was a frequent haunt of ours in the evenings, serving as it does a wide range of cocktails.

STAFF:

The staff were all, without exception, very friendly and extremely helpful.


I love Sorrento – it’s an ideal base for a holiday exploring the Bay of Naples and the beautiful Amalfi Coast, to the South, and the Grand Hotel De La Ville didn’t disappoint as a base for our stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    456
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
504
1,415
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Grand Hotel De La Ville in Sorrento is an excellent 4 star hotel, the service is probably a bit better than 4 stars might suggest. Generally when in Italy we would prefer a smaller family owned owned hotel but we settled in to Grand Hotel De La Ville and greatly enjoyed our stay. All the staff are excellent and very well trained.
The views from the rooms are stunning but do remember to pay the very small supplement to book a room facing the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius as even in 4star hotel not all the rooms can face the see.
The food was excellent although as in most Italian hotels we the vegetables were always over cooked, but the plentiful sparklingly fresh salads made up for this.

One of the big advantages of this hotel is it is only about 3 minutes walk from the heart of town and the Circumvesuviana narrow gauge railway staion and bus station that links Sorrento with Naples and more importantly Herculaneum, Pompeii and Vesuvius. Getting know how to use the public transport is essential. Never take a taxi in Sorrento as the official taxi rates may well be the highest anywhere in the world.
Also beware ticket clerks and shop assistant who and delay giving change in the hope you will walkaway

To be honest although I love to holiday in Italy I would be happy never to see Sorrento again it is a tawdry scruffy tourist trap where the locals are highly skilled in fleecing tourists. We found the lunches in the towns restaurants were not the quality we have come expect in Italy. Even the ice creams on offer were only basic and often not of the quality of the delicious ice cream desserts one would find in say Verona, they were however just as expensive.
Sorrento has one thing going for it it is a good base for trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius, these places are unique in world history and are must sees.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junkcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My partner and I booked with this hotel based on the research on this site and we, for the first time, a little disappointed.

LOCATION
The location is superb and the centre of Sorrento is only 5-10 minute walk away. Be aware that the hotel is in a built up area and not overlooking the sea. Half the rooms look toward the sea and half face a block of flats so if you book I recommend requesting a sea view.

FOOD
In short I strongly recommend going B&B and eating out in Sorrento, to find out why read on......
We went half board and payed around £850 pp for the week. The service is superb and Enzo the head waiter is both charming and helpful, as are the rest of the waiting staff. The food is delivered with silver service finesse but is not of a quality to match. While there's plenty of choice from fish, meat, pasta etc the quality is really lacklustre and I feel for the money, the value was poor. Overcooked (nuked) boiled potato's are served every night and with everything. There's also steamed to death cabbage that on one one occasion had been steamed with the leftover bacon from breakfast. I'll eat most anything but it was so clearly lazily mass produced it made me angry. Think the side's from school dinners served with silver service and you'll get the idea.
The breakfasts are very good supplying a choice of pastry, fruit, cereal or fried. Although the quality of the fried breakfast can't be compared to england you can't fault them for this as the ingredients arn't available.
Breakfast is of a good quality and can be eaten outside.

ROOMS
The room was large, well furnished and immaculately kept. The cleaners are efficient with skills bordering on superpowers. I really cant praise the room itself enough. LCD TV's are in every room and there's also a mini bar however, as with every hotel the cost is crippling so unless you're loaded or dying from Dehydration I'd shop and bring back to the room what you need.
The view we had was straight into a couple of high rise flats and really not great. If you're staying make sure you call ahead and request a sea view. You will regret it if you don't.

All round it really is a good hotel. The only thing that soured the experience (only a little) was the quality of the food. For the money we spent I expected more and the mark down comes as a result of me feeling that my money could have gone further.
If you can spare an extra £100-200 pp for the week I really suggest going to the Grand Hotel Royal. It's the sister restaurant of the De La Ville but has its own private beach and bathing platform for the sea, better accomodation and views at sunset that you wouln't believe. Worth the extra money.
Also, whever you stay go B&B not half board. Sorrento as a town has so much to offer and reasonable prices your money will go further and get more in town.

Sorrento itself is incredible with so much do to in a very easy reach. Whether you're into shopping, food, culture or sun worshipping, this place has it all. I'll definitly be returning!

NOTE OF ADVICE
- Dont booked excursions with Thompson. They are extortionate and you can go on boat or public transport at a fraction of the cost. e.g for Herculaneum they will charge you 35 Euro per person to coach there or you can get a train thats quicker for 3.5 Euro's (a tenth the price).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Excellent location, excellent service, best breakfast in Italy. Views are beautiful from the roof top terrace but pay a few dollars extra and upgrade to a higher floor, sea-view room. Luciano at the front desk is a real quality service pro.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtrekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We wanted a special holiday location and hotel to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed!!
Great location and only 5 minutes from the old town of Sorrento. Spotlessly clean with fantastic food ably provided by Enzo and his dedicated team.
Very difficult to find fault, however if you really want to be picky possibly the silver platter food courses come a little too quickly. But I would not mark my score down for this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending the De La Ville.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Wonderful Hotel in all respects. Fantastic attentive staff, superb restaurant and food, lovely roof-top pool with stunning views and a nice garden pool as well. Breakfast under the orange trees is a delight.
Can't fault this hotel - simply wonderful

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are wonderful, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is amazing. You can make your on Mimosas! There is an omelet station with a chef who will fix your eggs any way you want them. Plus, so much food on the buffet.
When we arrived, we were upgraded because they were sold out of standard rooms. My room was on the 5th floor next to the rooftop pool I had a patio overlooking the water.
The hotel restaurants are wonderful. There is a patio dining area. It is easy to find, and walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zfan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing