We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have spent a week in Grand Hotel De La Ville . The hotel and the hotels staff are the best we have experienced . We were made to feel special and important ,especially by Enzo and Carmine .The special evenings were a bonus . The room was spotless .Thank you to the lady who cleaned it . the hotel has a good link with the Royal .We used the beach . We shall hopefully return .We shall tell our friends .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Clients ,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Grand Hotel De la Ville and for having posted this review as well.

We’re really happy you enjoyed you holiday here. Our target is to let our guests feel special, and when our guests confirm to us that we can do that we are proud of our

We looking forward to have you here again soon, and thanks to our wonderful Staff , you will certainly have a pleasant and unforgettable time as you did.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We do not usually repeat a holiday but this was our second visit to this hotel. The hotel is lovely but the staff are amazing. I couldn't name one person as everybody gave us a warm welcome and always made us feel special even though they worked long hours, especially in the dining room. The food was outstanding with lots of choices and some evenings we had musicians playing to us at the table. The first week we were there was predominantly the older generation but the second week there was a mixed age group. The rooms are very comfortable with air conditioning. There is even a british plug socket. On this occasion we had a room at the back of the room which was very quiet. We used the roof top terrace which has stunning views. We never had a problem with sun beds and towels were provided. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and we felt really comfortable there. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrills47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Clients ,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for the nice words you spent dealing with our Hotel.

It’s such a pleasure having satisfied you thoroughly making you have a great holiday from the excellent food, the spacious and comfortable rooms and the service.

Many thanks especially for having mentioned our Staff that you found always friendly and helpful and we are really happy especially when we get feedback like yours that really give us more and more enthusiasm .

Hoping you will come back soon,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed there for 2 days and experienced first class service in a beautiful, convenient hotel in wonderful Sorrento. the room adjacent to the roof terrace offered spectacular views on the Vesuvius across the bay....The food was excellent and the hotel is only a short 10 minute walk from city center. Recommended!

Room Tip: top floor, adjacent to roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andre1410a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent 10 days here in June. No complaints really. Great service, clean and good location. Breakfast was excellent as was the pasta we enjoyed at lunch a few times.

We were B & B so didn't try evening meal but to be honest, as a couple in our twenties, this wasn't really our thing as this was definitely geared towards the older generation and not a fan of having to wear trousers just to please. Easy walk into town with plenty of restaurants and especially enjoyed the longer walk into Marina Grande for some excellent seafood.

Rooms were perfect; cold and dark with electric shutters keeping out the sun.

We spent a lot of time down at the pool in the garden area which we preferred to the rooftop pool for many reasons. Much larger pool and area but most importantly, so quiet and peaceful. There were never more than 6 other couples at anyone time around the pool which made it a great place to relax as was secluded from the rest of the hotel.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, however if you prefer to try various different restaurants I would suggest B & B as a better option.

One minor negative for me was the price of drinks at the hotel. I completely understand this is a 4* hotel and I am happy to pay a premium for this service, however there is a difference between paying a premium and simply being ripped off eg €4.30E for a 330ml can of Coke, €3.80 for a 75CL bottle of sparkling water and €5.60 for 40CL of Beer

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have been travelling for over 40 years and this is the first hotel that we have ever revisited a second time. We found the same staff as last year each giving great service. If anything food was even better than our previous visit last year. This year we booked directly with the hotel who arranged transfers and trips which all went off on time. Rooms are clean and cool with efficient air con. The jewel in the crown is the dining room and it's staff who work as a team - an enjoyable experience. Swam most days in the ground level pool which was spotlessly clean and completely sheltered by the surrounding buildings. Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Tasso square and we got to the harbour via the lift in just over 20 minutes. A trip to Capri is a must as is a boat trip around the island.

Room Tip: Upper front rooms have sea views and sun in the afternoon, rear rooms have sun in the morning and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review and we are really happy that you kept such good memories of your stay with us.

We have to say that it’s a pleasure for us that you appreciated the Hotel and all the services we provide; we know that the location is a big credit to us since we are really close to the centre and the station but also far enough to let our Guests enjoy a bit of peace.

Lastly, special thanks for what you have written regarding our wonderful Staff who, as you saw yourself, always do everything possible for our Clients.

Waiting for you to come back here again for the third time,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is our 5th visit to Sorrento and our 5th visit to the De La Ville. Quite simply we would not go anywhere else. I have friends who have visited Sorrento and stayed at other hotels with the same star rating as the De La Ville but when we compared our experiences - the De La Ville came out on top! The De La Ville is rated as 4 stars but this underestimates the standard of the hotel and the service you receive.
The hotel is in an ideal location - close to the centre (5 minute walk). The reception area is very tastefully decorated and from our experience is constantly maintained and improvements made when required.
The rooms are a very good size and have beautiful furnishings and tiled floorings - including the spacious bathrooms. We always go for a classic room which are at the front of the hotel with lovely views across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius.
We didn't use the main swimming pool but did go up to the rooftop pool which was spotless and the views are stunning.
The staff in the hotel are outstanding. They remember their regular visitors and welcome you as a friend and if it is your first visit you also receive the warmest of welcomes. The service from the staff is the best I have come across (and I have been fortunate to travel and stay in many hotels across Europe).
Reception - the staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Housekeeping - the hotel areas both inside and outdoors and the bedrooms/bathrooms are absolutely spotless
Bar staff - friendly, helpful and very efficient.
Restaurant areas. We were half board and had our evening meals in the main restaurant but also had lunch in the outside garden restaurant. The food is fantastic and there is such a large choice that there is something to suit everyone. The staff there are a joy. Very efficient and interact well with all the diners. It was a pleasure to go there each evening. There is a dress code for the evening in that they ask that men wear long trousers. I don't think that is too much too ask.
There is also a great choice at breakfast - you can have a cooked breakfast, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruits, fruit juice, pastries, tea and coffee etc.
I would recommend the De La Ville to anyone looking for a holiday in Sorrento. I don't think you will find a better hotel for location, exceptional service, outstanding staff and fantastic food. Go on treat yourself! We definitely will be back

Room Tip: If you want a view over the Bay of Naples ask for a classic room on a higher floor or a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guests,

It’s a great pleasure for us to get such a beautiful review especially from attached clients like you.

First of all thank you for having spent our time posting this review and for having chosen our Hotel again.
We’re really proud and happy that we succeeded in letting you have a nice time here in De La Ville and we’re also very bold we did not disappoint you at all.
Many thanks for the nice words dealing with our Staff as well, always friendly and smiling.

Waiting for you to come back here again for the six time,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We got a great room with a nice little terrace and wonderful
view of the sea and coast. The room was tasteful and clean. There was a terrace deck that had a small pool, a bar and deck chairs. There was a full ground level pool in the back. The service throughout the hotel was excellent. A good breakfast was available and a garden area where you could have lunch or take your breakfast out. I would recommend the hotel with only a few caveats. It tended to have an older crowd and the decor and culture seemed from an earlier generation. Access to the sea was through a nearby sister hotel but was very doable. I am not one to dress with long pants for dinner but there are many excellent restruraunts in town.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of our hotel,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $154 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing