We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 10 days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kessingland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great 10 days”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and were looked after perfectly by all staff members.
The food we had in the hotel was excellent but being bed & breakfast we tended to eat out most nights, which what we like to do rather than being tied to the hotel every night.
We will certainly be making a return trip to the hotel, but will be booking well in advance to secure a sea facing room on the 4th or 5th floor, we were in a 2nd floor room which gave a obstructed sea view because of the trees opposite.
The hotel is perfectly situated being very close to the town centre, train station & bus station which is an asset for all the trips you may want to do.

What little niggles we had aren't worth mentioning as you get them where ever you go.

Room Tip: sea view at least 3rd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time writing this kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in occasion of your wedding anniversary. It’s so beautiful for us that you had a gorgeous experience here and it will be a great pleasure to accommodate you again and to keep in touch with you.

Moreover, thanks also for having focused on the wonderful rooms we provide perfectly kept and cleaned by our Maid Service that are just the perfect place to relax.


Waiting for you all to return soon,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,808
    455
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
503
1,413
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights from 7 Sept. The location is excellent, rooms comfortable and spotless, fantastic views over the bay of Naples towards Vesuvius both from our 5th floor sea facing room with balcony and the rooftop bar (wonderful place to relax with a cold beer or Aperol spritz after a hard days sightseeing). Breakfast buffet is extensive and there is a large choice of starters and mains for dinner. But what really makes this hotel memorable are the staff. Taking the lead role here is Enzo, who manages the restaurant with charm and efficiency. We were instantly made to feel welcome on our first night in the restaurant. What particularly impressed us was that the two or three wines which were recommended each night were not only excellent (usually local) but also very reasonable (some from 17 euros per bottle). A full wine list is available if you wish but we rarely bothered. Also impressive was Enzo's immediate explanation that if we could not finish a whole bottle of wine the hotel would keep it for the next night. The system worked perfectly on the few occasions we had cause to use it. Special mention also to the ever cheerful Dino but all the staff were excellent. The entertainment may be a bit "corny" but heh this is a holiday and sitting on the roof listening to the pianist was a wonderful end to the day. Slightly old fashioned in style maybe but none the worse for that. This also has to be the only foreign hotel I have stayed in which had a 3 pin english electric socket in the bedroom! Only minor gripe was the coffee provided at breakfast. Apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with balcony on the 4th or 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourania2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Clients ,

Thanks a lot for having spent your two week holiday at Grand Hotel De La Ville that , as we’ve just read , definitely met your expectations.

We are so satisfied you enjoyed your stay here so much : you found the reception Staff pleasant and always available to help you, the room spotlessly cleaned , and our position fantastic since our Hotel is located really near the centre offering on the other hand also a quite and relaxing atmosphere.

Moreover it’s a big pleasure for us to hear you did like our restaurant which offers a very wide choice of wine to enjoy fresh products extremely well cooked and a very high quality service including our special and warm Staff that you mentioned.

Hoping you will come back soon,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent a wonderful week in this hotel with five friends. We were all impressed by the variety offered each night at dinner and thought the staff were very attentive. The view from our balcony was beautiful and we enjoyed some sunshine by the rooftop pool. It's an easy walk into the town and also handy for the station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville as your accommodation for the trip to Sorrento.

We’re incredibly pleased you enjoyed thoroughly all the facilities and services we offer that made you have a wonderful and relaxing stay at the De La Ville.

In particular it’s really nice to hear you enjoyed so much our rooftop with the stunning view all over the bay of Naples and the wide room private balcony as well with deck chairs.


Waiting for you to come back to have another great time ,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Returned again to this hotel after two years as our first visit was excellent. We could not fault the hotel once again. The staff are all very helpful. Enzo, once agin a master! We should give credit to the people we do not see and that is the Chefs. Brilliant food.
If I had to have a little niggle it would be down to the evening meal being a little rushed. No sooner have you finished one course then the next is upon you. There is of course a bonus to this point which is finishing the meal early and go and watch the crowds go by while embibing in a few beers

Room Tip: Room with sea view as high as possible - only 5 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCobra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Costumers

It’s such a big joy that you returned hereafter two here and that we succeeded again in making your holiday fantastic.

We’re incredibly happy and proud you found our Hotel to be always on a very high quality level through the years and it means that the obligation and the power we put in our daily work does produce his effects.

Thanks a lot for the pleasant words about the rooms, the food , the location and the whole Hotel too that you found wonderful and it’s a pleasure you would definitely recommend De La Ville to your friend and travellers in general.

Waiting for you to come back for the fourth time promising you it will be even better,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Treated myself to five nights in September at the De La Ville. Loved the hotel. Great location, staff, wonderful breakfasts. Only had one dinner in the restaurant, but it was very good.

I had a lovely sea-view room with balcony, and enjoyed spending quiet time on the balcony and enjoying the view of the sea and Vesuvius after returning from tours of the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Pompei, etc.

The location is perfect: a short walk to town and the railroad station.


The hotel's sister hotel is close by ,and those staying at the De La Ville are allowed to use the swimming platform there, which I enjoyed several times. There are many loungers, a bar, and the water is unbelievably clean and clear. This was a real plus.

If I am fortunate enough to go back to Sorrento, I would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , as you noticed yourself , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.


It’s so nice to read such nice words about our Hotel dealing with the rooms perfectly and spotlessly cleaned and the wonderful position that , on the one hand is very good because it takes just 10 minutes walking from the centre and the Tasso square and on the other hand offers a relaxing and quiet atmosphere avoiding all the noise and hustle.

In particular , thank you so much for having highlighted the stunning view you can enjoy not only from the sea view rooms but also from the roof (where the second swimming pool is ) that is available for all our Guests : the Bay of Naples , the wonderful sea and the view of the Mt. Vesuvius will certainly leave you speechless.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of Your company,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Enjoyed a 5 night stay at the De La Ville. The concierge organized the birthday bouquet delivery for my mum as requested by email prior week and a discreet separate bill.

No sea view room but the terrace view more than makes up for it. The cleanliness, location, service and friendly staff have convinced us to include in 2014 holiday plan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocQueen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Costumers,

Thank you very much for this nice review and the professionalism of our Reception Staff that makes us feel even prouder of running this Hotel than we are.

We’re highly pleased that you had a beautiful time here and enjoyed all the facilities and comforts we offer and in particular the location we provide: situated just 10 minutes walking from the main square Piazza Tasso and the centre ,it offers at the same time a calm and quiet atmosphere to let you feel totally relaxed.

Thanking you again and waiting for you to come back ,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our most expensive hotel of our recent stay in Italy and easily our most disappointing. It has the feel of a fading, old-style family hotel. The insistence on keeping your car keys, and passports, and cruise ship style outfitted waiters, oddly stocked breakfast buffet, small pool and insistence on "joining in" for evening buffets and dance evenings, all evoked another era. The rooms are comfortable and pretty but the lack of outlets to charge your phones bedside was another instance of dated amenities. Sorrento is a great location, the views are fantastic, and we were comfortable. But for the price we were expecting outstanding and we didn't get that. To be fair I noted a lot of families who were clearly enjoying the "country hotel" treatment and enjoyed chatting with the avuncular waiting staff. Oh, and get in to the breakfast buffet early - for some reason the early crowd takes all the bananas from the fruit basket for eating later on :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing