We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed after our wedding......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed after our wedding......”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On arrival we were met with a
Butler service and a bottle of chilled Champagne in the room which made a great start to the honeymoon. The rooms were spacious, light and very clean with good aircon.
The hotel is positioned just off the main square but close to all major interests, art museums and shopping and bars. The hotel staff made us feel welcome and could not do enough for us. They also gave the place a relaxed atmosphere and not feel like your staying at the Ritz even though the service and food was of the highest quality. Overall an amazing week! And we are already planning our next holiday there

Mr&Mrs Edwards

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshJase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    446
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
496
1,390
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First time visit to this hotel (but not the last) I cant find anything bad to say.The decor is beautifully traditional Italian,
The staff are brilliant and looked after us from check in to leaving.Our room was surprisingly large, very comfortable well equiped and immaculate.
The menu in the restaraunt is first class and the service wonderful and very professional.
We must give a mention to Enzo and the restaurant staff as they made our stay special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the greatest hotel -- wonderful food, atmosphere, rooms, sea views and, best of all, Enzo. The hotel breakfast in the garden with Italian music playing is incredible. The roof top pool and garden are tremendous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMudpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to this hotel and it will certainly not be our last! From our arrival until our departure we were extremely well looked after in a most professional manner by all members of staff. The facilities in the hotel are excellent. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Even with three adults in our room, including our 18 year old daughter, there was plenty of room and the beds were very comfortable. Our balcony did not have much of a view but front facing rooms are available at additional cost. However we did not spend much time in the room during the day so this was not an issue. The whole hotel is very clean and tidy, with clean towels and the room made up daily. The breakfast dining area under the lemon and orange trees is very pleasant in the morning, and the buffet breakfast is extensive and would cover all tastes. Bar snacks and meals are available all day if required. We were booked in for half board and the evening meals in the restaurant were one of the highlights of our stay. There is an extensive menu to choose from which changes on a weekly basis, with a special Sorrento themed evening and a Gala Buffet evening every week. The restaurant staff led by Enzo and Carmine are second to none when it comes to service and looking after their guests, with a personal greeting every evening. Special mention also to Salvatore, Isidoro, Dino, Guissepe, Alessandro and Pasquale for serving us so efficiently, with style and always with a smile on their faces. They are all a credit to the hotel. The bar staff are equally as efficient, and drinks and coffees are supplied in a charming and friendly manner. There is a choice of very pleasant swimming pools and for those who prefer a swim in the sea the bathing platforms at the sister Royal Hotel just a five minute walk away are free to use for De La Ville guests and offer fantastic views over the coastline and marina. The hotel is in a lovely quiet area but only less than a ten minute walk (all on the flat) from the centre of Sorrento which contains a large selection of shops, restaurants and bars to cater for all. All in all this hotel had everything that we could have asked for on out holiday and we will certainly be making a return trip in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: If view from the balcony is important then request a front facing room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamson_Family325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I'm not sure what I can say about this hotel that hasn't already been said. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel special. The rooms are spotless and cleaned every day. The breakfast is the best I've eaten abroad and we particularly enjoyed the home made marmalade. Evening meals were tasty and varied, although we did choose to eat out on a couple of nights. The waiting staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They are also really funny and Enzo often had us laughing - they were all genuinely lovely people!
The location is very good and Sorrento is fabulous in the evening when it really comes to life. We enjoyed sitting around the roof top pool and taking in the views and we also appreciated the friendly advice from the receptionists about where to visit. Enzo and your team, you are doing a very good job and you are an asset to the hotel. The only reason why the big Manchester City man didn't find you to say goodbye is because he hates goodbyes! ciao!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl7054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Second visit to the Grand Hotel De La Ville and again we have enjoyed a wonderful holiday. The staff are brilliant and work extremely hard to look after your every need. The food is excellent and Enzo the maitre'd and his staff run the dining room very efficiently. The hotel boasts stunning views of the bay of Naples and is a short walk ( ten minutes) from the main area of Sorrento and the train station. I would recommend this hotel to couples who want a good hotel within walking distance of Sorrento, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have just returened form a fortnight here with our 14 year old son. The hotel was well above our expectations. The staff are are wonderful and made you feel like a valued customer. They were always polite and very helpful but friendly and amusing at the same time. The dining room is formal but not stuffy. Enzo, Carmine and their great team couldn't do enough for us- especially as we are 3 vegetarians- and were great with our son too- lots of high fiving and extra desserts! The food choice is excellent- a very full menu changed weekly in addition to a seperate veggie menu.
Both pool areas were spotless with lots of seating. Our room was beautifully furnished with the traditional inlaid wood of the area and in immaculate condition and was kept spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The air conditioning worked perfectly and was not very noisy as these things go. The blackout shutters are excellent. We had a side view on the 5th floor and it was very quiet- hardly any street noise.
The hotel is in a perfect location- 3 mins from the main street and 5 mins from the main square. There's a lovely lemon grove to walk through to the main street during the day.
How nice to find a hotel that actually lives up to its own description and its star rating.Would highly recommend and definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side overlooking the garden and with a side view of the bay, on the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bansteadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Clients ,

We can't but thank you for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville and we are deeply touched by your review so Thank you!

A review like yours can only prompt us to keep doing a better job so our guests can continue to experience the most pleasurable and comfortable stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.

We are pleased to know that enjoyed our Roof terrace that offers a sunny and panoramic position with also refreshing moments in our Jacuzzi pool, and our location, few steps from the sea and city center.

We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing