We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We cannot thank the hotel staff enough for making our hoilday just perfect. All members of the team were so polite and courteous We thought the reception staff were so cheerful always helpful and so knowledgeable of Sorrento and the surrounding areas. Enzo and his wonderful team in the dining were just amazing The meals in the hotel were excellent we never left a single item on our plates. My husband is now on a diet!!! Bucks Fizz for breakfast was very decadent We enjoyed our holiday so much we really did not want to leave. We are constantly thinking of The Grand Hotel De La Ville. We plan to return in a couple of years time

Room Tip: Ask for a street view and higher floor as there will be less noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Clients,
Thank you for your warm and generous review.
We can't be happier to know that your stay with us was fully satisfying and we can not thank you enough for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville
Sorrento is one of the most popular destination in Italy, and here at De La Ville we are ready to work and do all our best to not disappointing the expectation of our guest
That’s why we choose only the best products of our land well cooked from our Chefs, served in Dining room with our professionalism and friendliness at you disposal.
We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have recently come back from a week in sorrento staying at the fantastic Grand hotel De La Ville. Cannot say anything negative about this hotel, immaculate throughout, bedding and towels changed everyday. The staff go over and beyond to please every individual guest, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant staff in particular are very polite and professional, and the food is exceptional, so much choice, we too like many others , got to enjoy "the special buffet" night..... How wonderful this was , the staff had worked so hard to get everything just right . The roof top terrace was lovely to sit out on in the evening , with fantastic views. We only used the roof pool, as the main pool seemed to be busy most of the time. The location is perfect , a 10min stroll into the main square, do try local buses and trains . They work out a lot cheaper if u want to do Pompeii, and the amalfi coast , and are very reliable. The only thing I think I would suggest as an improvement would be to suggest a bottle of water in the room daily, as this can work out quite pricey, but having said that, we definatly would recommend this hotel to anyone , and we will one day return, and I for one cannot wait !!!

Room Tip: Room 419. Very quiet room , a small balcony, but enough to sit out on.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice review
We are flattered from your kind remarks and It was a pleasure having you here among us and can't be happier to know that your experience at the De La Ville met your expectations.
We have extended your comments to our Staff, and they all send their warmest regards.
We were pleased to note that the team were attentive and catered for all your needs and fell you welcomed guest in every occasion. It is also very important for us that you enjoyed and appreciated the quality and the variety of our cuisine, which expresses the passion of our chefs and all the Italian hospitality.
Looking forward to welcoming again in future
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel with an old fashioned sense of wanting to look after you and ensure that you had a wonderful holiday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was lovely with a wide range of foods to suit all tastes. Two of our party had food allergies and Enzo, his staff and the chef took extra care with their meals, even preparing food especially for them, which was greatly appreciated. It was lovely to be welcomed each day by the wonderful waiters and waitresses who worked so hard to ensure that we were all well looked after. The hotel is lovely and clean with good facilities. The pools are clean and they provide towels.
The hotel is in a quiet area of Sorrento but it is only a short walk to all the amenities.
We had a wonderful holiday and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, without a sea view, however this was quieter so we did not feel that this...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you for your warm and generous review.

We can't be happier to know that your stay with us was fully satisfying and we can not thank you enough for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville

Sorrento is one of the most popular destination in Italy, and here at De La Ville we are ready to work and do all our best to not disappointing the expectation of our guest
That’s why we choose only the best products of our land well cooked from our Chefs, served in Dining room with our professionalism and friendliness at you disposal, we like to pamper you with the culinary delights that are fresh prepared everyday
All our employees, from the Restaurant staff to the Cleaning Staff work with the target of our guest’s satisfaction and, as per Italian hospitality tradition,

Looking forward to welcoming you to Sorrento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I can only echo the positive reviews about this hotel as my wife and I enjoyed a fortnight of terrific hospitality at the De La Ville. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, helpful and enthusiastic and were happy to suffer my poor pronunciation of Italian phrases with a wink and cheeky retort. Enzo, Carmine and entire restaurant team were top notch mixing formality with friendliness and the food could not be faulted. The location is superb in a quiet area but just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento. How we miss those warm Summer evening on the roof terrace enjoying a drink overlooking the Bay of Naples. Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel on a higher floor to get the best views over the Bay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Clients,

We really happy to know that you spent great time with us! Your review can only prompt us to keep the friendly and high standards that distinguish Grand Hotel De La Ville high.
All our staff also send their greetings we thank you for appreciating the staff effort and Hotel’s services
We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed our evening entertainment by the Roof terrace with one of our musical events.
See you soon in Sorrento!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just got back from this fantastic hotel. The restaurant staff are just wonderful - Enzo, Charmane, Dino, Salvatorie and all the restaurant staff are just so welcoming and professional - nothing is too much trouble and they all always smile as do all the staff from management to maintenance staff, cleaners, and all. The hotel is clean - our room was amazing with a fantastic balcony overlooking the bay of Naples. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel or recommend to friends. There is just nothing to complain about - possibly the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. PS thanks Enzo for the packed breakfast you organised for us on our early morning departure - so thoughtful.

Room Tip: Room 529 -amazing - massive balcony overlooking bay
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are pleased to read you and to know that you had a wonderful experience at the Grand Hotel De La Ville. The “Human Contact” is part of our way to let the guest feel pampered and welcome.

As mentioned in other review, we always pay special attention to the cleanliness of the rooms and throughout the hotel and we take care of our furniture in authentic local inlaid wooden art.

We look forward to welcome you soon in Sorrento for another enjoyable experience here, at the Grand Hotel De La Ville!!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our third visit to the De La Ville, our last being 2 years ago, and it was just as wonderful as we remembered it. The hotel is lovely inside with spotlessly kept rooms All of the hotel staff are courteous and it is a wonderful compliment when they remember those who return. Enzo and his team are the most courteous, kind people we have had the pleasure to meet on our travels. The personal greeting to everyone each night makes you feel very special. We had the pleasure of being at the hotel when an annual celebratory buffet was served and words could not describe the feast presented - it was truly maginifcent. Infact every meal we had was wonderful as was breakfast on the terrace. This is a truly exceptional hotel, team and location and we will return to our romantic table for 2 .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guests,
thanks for your good review and especially for having chosen the Grand Hotel De La Ville once again after 2 years.
We are delighted that you appreciated again our style, recognizing what we always try to create between us and our guests: the sense of exclusivity and homely.
Greetings from all our Staff who can not wait to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel De La Ville.
Sincerely Yours
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a medium sized hotel of a good standard with very pleasant staff and situated towards the end of one of the main streets an easy 10minute stroll into the main square. The hotel has two pools, a small one on the roof and a larger one in the garden. Dont be fooled by the photos of the roof top pool, it is quite small and more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool but good for cooling down if the roof top sun bathing gets too hot. The pool in the garden is nice set amongst the lemon and orange trees which has sun and shade all day long. Both pols have hydro-massage which is nice. There is no access to the sea/beach from this hotel although you can go the the sister hotel the Grand Royal hotel around the corner and use their 'beach' access. Since Sorrento is perched on volcanic cliffs several hunded feet high there are no big sandy beaches. instead hotels and private companies set up planked platforms with sunbeds, bars and access to the sea. The Royal has such a bathing platform which is fine for using to get into the sea but the hotel de ville's gardens are a nicer place to be. The rooms are big and airy with half overlooking the sea to the front and half looking over the back - gardens and other buildings. We looked over the gardens/buildings, which was fine and is possibly more interesting to look at but a sea view over the bay and vesuvius may have been nicer. The rooms have nicely pattrened tiles and wodden furniture with marquetry inlays making it look more classy than a lot of hotels. The rooms are kept spotless and there is lot of storage space. We had a tripple room for ourselves and our daughter and were not cramped at all. Like the rest of Sorrento, eating and drinking in the hotel is an expensive business. Breakfast was included and was okay, although the woman that cooked the eggs was a bit slap dash with the poached and fried eggs which could be a lot better. Orherwise normal standard fayre not bad not exceptional. We did not eat in the hotel at night as the buffet was 40Euro each with a special offer of 30euro during our stay. With the 3 of us this would be 90Euro per night plus drinks for a buffet! Food we had at lunch times in the garden was good but not cheap. finding affordable good food in Sorrento is very hard. Good food can be found ( Aroura Light in the main sqaure for instance) but comes at a price. Expect to pay about 20Euro per head plus for even an average meal. There are some very bad value places but you need to try them out and see what you like. We were in Sorrento for 2 weeks so this became a bit of a challenge. Sorrento itself is great base to explore the islands, towns and sights around and the landscapes are stunning. The hotel de ville looks like good value for Sorrento and is friendly, intimate and relaxing. Would recommend highly, but see if you can get a deal on the half board if you can - not sure this is possible but worth a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knowldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for this detailed and nice review and for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville. Tradition and professionalism are the secret of our Hotel. All of us try to make comfortable and memorable as much as possible the stay with us also offering the nice atmosphere of our Roof Terrace and Dining service, amongst the best offered in the area.

Your description of our pools area and exactly what we try to create: The Roof pool to refresh moments while sunbathing in a wonderful atmosphere that only the Bay of Naples can create, and the Garden pool to swimming surrounded by lemon and orange groves.

We also take the opportunity to inform you that we offer special half board package and special deals for meals, presented from our attendants at the check in time, we do apologize that you didn’t find it convenient for your family.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento, we send all our regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $164 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing