We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Base for Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Central Base for Sorrento”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading of other Trip Advisor experiences and gladly report all the positive (I think I read 1 negative response) remarks were completely true. The hotel is superbly clean, staff very attentive and helpful, our prestige room was spacious and light with a large balcony housing a sunchair, bistro table and two chairs and of course the view was/is stunning. Breakfast was varied and plentiful with perfect english tea (my option!).

The hotel is a short pleasant walk to all that Sorrento offers and to the train station. The rooftop pool is brilliant, although too cold for us at the end of October! Again super super views, we cannot wait to return in warmer times.

Thank you to all the staff at the Grand Hotel De La Ville !!

Room Tip: I assume the higher you go the better the view - we were on the 5th, facing the sea and Mount Vesuvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    456
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
504
1,415
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. Good location. We just arrive after having been on a cruise and the breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location easy walking to many things.
Jan & Louise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita,ks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My mother and I stayed here recently the first week of October. What can I say, but this hotel was fantastic. First off, I have to talk about the staff. What a wonderful group of individuals who truly care about their guests. Nothing better then having the entire staff welcome you with warm smiles. All staff from front desk, bar area, and restaurant are just amazing.

We ate at the restaurant one night. The food and selection was superb, as well as, the amazing staff taking care of us. We ventured out into the city for the rest of our meals, but you will not be disappointed eating at the hotel.

Each night there was some type of entertainment to entertain the crowd. We were able to enjoy the mandolin player one evening. Our favorite entertainment was the Sorrentino Band that played and sang. They were wonderful to relax in the bar area and just listen to. I was amazed by all the English covers they did. My mom and I were especially excited when he sang "All Night Long," by Lionel Richie and did a fantastic job at it.

We did have a bit of a problem with some ants wanting to get in and hang out with us. We contacted the front desk and housekeeping was right up to take care of the problem. We didn't have any other issues after that.

The rooms and bathroom were the perfect size. We thought the beds were pretty comfortable and slept well every night. The sea and town views were amazing. It was so peaceful to wake up to Mount Vesuvius and Bay of Naples. I definitely miss the view!

The terrace and pool area was amazing to sit and soak up the sun rays or just to enjoy the view. Definitely want to spend sometime up there.

It was just an overall amazing time and we were really sad to leave. We hope to be back soon and thank you Grand Hotel de la Ville staff for the amazing stay!

You will not be disappointed if you stay here!!

Ash Family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bri2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This would be a 4 star review, but we were disappointed about things that we have come to expect as standard in a 4 star hotel. To detail them:
We had to pay for wifi, the room safe, the use of an iron. The latter two we did without, but wifi in this day and age should be a standard facility.
Also the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, and when we asked if there were different mattresses/mattress toppers available we were told no, but that some guests have used blankets. We did and it didn't make any difference.
Other guests we spoke with had the same experience with the beds, although with regard to wifi - it seemed to depend on the holiday package that one was signed up to.
Having said all that our holiday overall was lovely. The staff were really helpful, reception staff advised on trips, places to visit etc., the bar staff were lovely and very attentive - Lorenzo in particular was very sweet and concerned that his service was up to standard.
A word of thanks must also go to the unsung heroes - the housekeeping staff. The room and bathroom were always immaculately cleaned and cared for, and the staff respectful if we were in the room when they came to clean it.
As we were on a half board basis we were concerned that there would be enough variety in the food. We need not have worried. The menu changed every night, and we were astonished as to how creative one can be with tomatoes, mozzarella and pasta! Worked every night.
Breakfasts did seem a bit samey after two weeks, but even so the bread, fruit, cheeses and other delicacies were always freshly made or prepared.
Finally, the location is perfect for central Sorrento. While lacking the room views that some of the mountainside hotels undoubtedly have, (although roof terrace view is MAGNIFICENT) it more than makes up for it with the convenience of its proximity to the train, bus and coach station, as well as being a ten minute walk into the centre of the town and a little further to the harbours, one of which supports the boat trips and local ferries.
All in all a lovely stay, in a relaxed and comfortable environment.

Christine and Tony Kalus. Portsmouth UK.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PortsmouthCtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary in September at this beautiful hotel.
Very clean acccomodation, friendly staff who make you feel very welcome and nothing to much trouble.The Dining experience was excellent,we can honestly say we enjoyed every meal.Breakfast outside was just lovely. The Hotel is ideally situated, it is within walking distance to both Harbours, train and bus stations and is 5mins to Tasso square. It is an ideal base as you can get a ferry to Capri or catch the local bus to explore the Amalfi coast which has such stunning views.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the front with a balcony to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Grand Hotel de la Ville is located very close to the centre of Sorrento, and in a quiet area. The views from the sea view rooms and the roof terrace are stunning- Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
The food was very good, with plenty of choice, and one night there was a buffet evening, which was superb. The staff are outstandingly helpful and kind, and there are plenty of them to look after you so you are served quickly in the restaurant. We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoubyLouBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked a room with a balcony on a high floor. We got a smart room with the biggest deck/balcony ever! Room 529 on the top floor and with a marvellous view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvious and lemon groves to boot! All was to a high standard. Nicely tiled bathroom and good furniture in the Sorrento style, ie with marquetry - v pretty. Things we noticed: the bed is next to the view less wall; you can hear the lift working in this particular room but maybe the huge deck makes up for that.

The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. We tried the restaurant as they had a special offer. We agreed that on this night the price (not cheap) was the only special thing about the meal. Rather bland and my chicken was tepid. Breakfast is varied and plentiful but Egg Chef please note: frying eggs at high heat overcooks the underside but the yolk is barely warm. Similarly, poached eggs have been pre-cooked and kept in tepid water to maintain the dippy yolk but sadly not the temperature. Bit of a theme emerging there?

Overall we were pleased we stayed here as its very close to the station which made it easy for trips to Herculaneum - a must see - and the Archaeological Museum in Naples. Do it yourself - its easy! We found a great guide at H who took just six of us round for ten euros each - fantastic! Close to town and loads of good options to eat at. Our favourite so far is La Lanterna - hot and delicious! Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandwich_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing