We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel made excellent by fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel made excellent by fabulous staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My fiancée and I spent 7 nights at the Hotel De La Ville in October. We had a very enjoyable stay and what made this hotel particularly memorable was the staff - from Enzo in the restaurant who ensured everything was perfect, to the receptionist who personally phoned round to sort out an error Thomas Cook made in our return transfer. In addition, staff in the lounge check to see if you want drinks, but are happy to leave you alone if you just want to sit and read a book.

Location - just off the main road in Sorrento, this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the train station and main square. It is along a busy street though - you often hear mopeds and coaches going past. We didn't find that a bother once the shutters were down.

Food - absolutely brilliant. As mentioned, the restaurant staff are fantastic. As a young couple, we has to stick to cheaper wines (cheapest is €17) and the sommelier was happy to recommend wines within our budget and bring us tap water - we never once felt uncomfortable or looked down upon. In addition, you can buy a bottle, drink half and they will save the rest of the wine for the next day. Dinner was usually three courses (we only had a buffet once during our 7 night stay) and always delicious and varied. Breakfast was a buffet with everything you could want - cooked English, croissants, bread, cereal etc! There were also snacks and lunch available, although no food could be eaten on the roof terrace.

Room - beautiful and spacious with views across the bay and of Vesuvius. Daily maid service and large shutters that completely blocked out the light and most of the noise. Very clean.

Facilities - two pools, although neither were heated so we didn't spend much time in them as it was a bit chilly in October. The roof had sun beds and a bar and there was a bar with a lounge downstairs. There was also a relaxing citrus garden where you could dine outside.

My single gripe was that the wifi was paid for - in this day and age I don't think free wifi in a 4 star is unreasonable (even our 3 star in Rome offered free wifi!). You can however nip down the road to Kontatto Cafe which offers tasty lunches and free Internet access.

Last point to mention is that there is a mandatory tourist tax to stay in any hotel in Sorrento - it was
€1.50 per person per night.

Overall this was a very good hotel, made excellent by the truly fabulous staff.

Room Tip: Our standard double consisted of two singles pushed together (though this was very comfortable), a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal_canary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your warm and detailed review!
We are flattered from your kind remarks and It was a pleasure having you here among us and can't be happier to know that your experience at the De La Ville met your expectations.
We have extended your comments to our Staff, and they all send their warmest regards.

We were pleased to note that the team were attentive and catered for all your needs and fell you welcomed guest in every occasion. It is also very important for us that you enjoyed and appreciated the quality and the variety of our cuisine, which expresses the passion of our chefs and all the Italian hospitality.
We look forward to welcome you back to De La Ville in the near future
Best wishes
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,846
    458
    105
    25
    13
See reviews for
514
1,439
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon and weren't disappointed. Upon arrival we were treated to complimentary champagne in our spacious sea view room. As pointed out in previous reviews the staff at the hotel throughout were very welcoming and there was such a friendly atmosphere we felt at home straight away. The head waiter 'Enzo' welcomes each guest personally therefore mealtimes were always well organised with an excellent choice of dishes. Location of hotel great for us..not on main strip but close enough to walk into Sorrento town. Probably the best hotel we've ever stopped in and wouldn't hesitate to fully recommend. Thankyou very much! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,
we are pleased of your review and we would like to thank you for choosing us for your Honeymoon.
We always pay all our attention in guest’s satisfaction, from the welcome at the check-in, for all the stay until the departure time.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future,
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a week in October 2012. We had a room at the front of the hotel with fabulous views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius - room 306. From our welcome by the reception staff on the day of arrival until the day we left all of the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

The service in the restaurant by Enzo and his team was exceptional. The evening menu was varied and had a choice for all. Six choices for each course. Breakfast was self service and you could eat either in the restaurant or out on the terrace. Choice of food was unbelievable. Hot food included bacon sausage, tomato, baked beans and cooked potato. Egg choices - fried, scrambled or poached. There were also boiled eggs. Fresh fruit salad fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, ham, cheese, tomatoes and cucumber. Add to this a variety of breads and a large selection of pastries and cakes. There own home made marmalade was very tasty.

The room was not one of the largest but the furnishings had inlaid wood and the bathroom had 2 sinks.. The floors had beautiful tiles as had the walls in the bathroom. Everywhere in the hotel was kept spotlessly clean.

We made use of the loungers on the rooftop on a number of days and there were always loungers available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guests
We would like to thank you for your detailed review and we are also glad to know that your stay with us met your expectations.
We are all very flattered by your kind remarks and pleased that you appreciated our Restaurant, fully enjoying our specialties from breakfast to dinner, and would like to thank you for that.
We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent an excellent week at the Grand Hotel de la Ville. The hotel is elegantly classic in style, spotlessly clean and many rooms have superb views straight over the Bay of Naples. Our room was spacious and well furnished, with plenty of storage and a comfortable bed. There was even a British type electric socket as well as the Contnental style.
The food was of a very high quality and the only difficulty was deciding what to choose from the ever-changing menu. We were extremely pleased with the staff in the restaurant. Not only were they efficient but they were also unfailingly cheerful and pleasant.
An added bonus was that you could walk through an orange and lemon grove into the centre of town and also buy a bottle of limoncello on the way!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The best views are from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerwilliams408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear customer,
We can't but thank you for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville and we are deeply touched by your review so Thank you!
A review like yours can only prompt us to keep doing a better job so our guests can continue to experience the most pleasurable and comfortable stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed two weeks 10-24 Sept 12 with my wife and friends. Room 112/114 This was our 4th trip trip Sorrento and the first at this Hotel. Although I must say that there was nothing wrong with the previous Hotels we had stayed at this was the best to date. The rooms were clean light and airy, well decorated and a good size. The food was superb and the wine list extensive, (even the house red was very drinkable) Enzo and the staff could not be more helpful. I can only assume that anyone who criticized the food can not like Italian eating, the fresh pasta of the day was melt in the mouth, and if I could make a fresh cherry tomato sauce like that I would be a happy man. When on two occasions I was not that keen on the dish I was offered another! can't get better than that.
All of the staff were very helpful, the receptionists were multilingual and when we did have a small problem in our room the maintenance man was there in a flash, very good.
As has been said before the Hotel is in a good central position, although not right on the coast you can use the beach at the sister Hotel {The Royal, not actually a beach but a deck and patio at the bottom of the cliff overlooking the Harbor, has a lift, bar and snacks, although we went back to the Ville for lunch } 2 mins walk, that is nice if you get time with so much to do and see. Tasso square 7 mins walk.
We had a car for a few days, the Hotel valet parked it for us and were always very quick the get it when we required it. (16 euros a night charge)
There was some entertainment at night sometimes in the garden,and on the roof we enjoyed the roof, that was nice.
When we return we will stay here again. Tip if you want your red wine at room temperature order it in advance as it sometimes comes out very cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel during your last visit in Sorrento
We are really touched by your comments and it was our absolute pleasure having you here and getting to know you and your friends. As you mentioned, one of our special aspects is our position, a quite walk to the centre but without renouncing at the amazing view of the Bay of Naples.
We have extended your remarks to our staff members and they all send their warmest regards
We are waiting for you again here at De Le Ville, ready to make you enjoy our chef’s specialities.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us, & we were very impressed. Our spotless room overlooked the Bay of Naples & Vesuvius. This side of the hotel faces north, so there is little direct sunshine. However there is a roof terrace,with pool & bar, where you can sunbathe. There is also an outside pool on the ground floor.The food is very good, with plenty of choice. The service in the bar & restaurant is second to none. All staff we met were friendly & helpful, & spoke some English. Enzo & Carmine run a great restaurant, & treat everybody as a friend rather than as a guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon in september 2012 and stayed for 11 day. And it was fantastic. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are large, comfortable, decorated in a modern classic style. All have a balcony with either a sea view or a view of the back of the hotel over the garden towards the hills. The ground floor has the bar, indoor restaurant, garden access with out side restaurant and access to the ground floor pool (which is large and clean but we like the roof top pool more because of the amazing view and roof top bar).
We were staying on a half board basis. The breakfast in the morning was great. A huge buffet style with everything from toast, cakes, cereal, fresh fruit, meats, and hot breakfast. The evening meals were something else. It was all silver service with a selection of 6 starter from fruit juice, anti paster, stuffed pasta, and filled pasta. 6 main meals of different meats, fishes, and stuffed cheeses. And then a selection of dessert to choice from. My favourite meal was tortillini filled with cheese, ham and mushrooms, followed by sea bass in a lemon sauce. And for dessert a lemon sponge cake. They also had a grand buffet of all italian food every tuesday night which was amazing and a sorrento night with live entertainment. We also ate during the day at the hotel and thats just as good as night time.
The staff are wonderful, some real characters. And they always make a point of shaking your hand, asking you bout your day and chatting with you. And every single one go above and beyond to make everything perfect for you.
The hotels location is fantastic. Its on a side street so there is hardly any traffic noise. Its 5 minute walk to the bus station. And 6 minute walk to the main square along the main road which is left them left again out the hotel. You also pass the train station on your way to the main square. The hotels location is just fantastic and makes it a great bass for exploring.
This hotel is perfect for anyone going for the first time who wants a little luxury as well as a good location. Its well worth the price and and its that good we have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing