We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only stayed here for four days but it was very nice very clean friendly and helpful staff. Only a short walk to sorrentos square. Very nice atmosphere food was nice. Would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

we very looking forward to having you here again for another enjoyable (but longer) stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville. It is an honour to know that you will recommend us to your family and friends.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this fantastic hotel from 11/9 till 21/9 after a recommendation from a friend we can't thank her enough, from the minute we arrived to the sad day we left we were treated superbly.

The reception staff were so helpfull and if they didn't know that answer they made sure they found out for us and always greeted you with a smile.

The room we had 326 did not have a fantastic view as it looked out on to flats but as we only used the room to shower, change and sleep it did not matter as it was kept immaculate with clean sheets and towels everyday.

The experience in the dinning room was second to none Enzo (the charmer) greeted you every day with a kiss or a handshake. The food from the breakfast buffet to evening dinner was excellent lots of choices. I cannot thank Enzo and his fantastic team enough for their help, smiles, fun and laughter they gave us it was a pleasure to eat in their dinning room.

The hotel is in a good location near the Piazzo Square, bus station, train station and harbour all within easy walking distance.

This was our first stay at this hotel but it will not be our last I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Once again thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special.

Lots of love Elaine Trevor Mandy & Laurie xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guests
We would like to thank you for your detailed review and we are also glad to know that your stay with us met your expectations
We are all very flattered by your kind remarks and would like to thank you for that.
We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from an excellent 7 nights at the De Ville. The staff are all very helpful and make you feel very special, even when they are rushed off their feet.
The room we stayed in was clean and was cleaned daily, the view was a bit disapointing, as we overlooked the garden, and there was so much greenery that we couldn't see anything else, also the block of appartments that were facing us were being renevated and there was a lot of drilling and banging going on during the day.(would have been nice to have been informed of this)
The food was very good in the restaurant, a good choice and large portions, the only thing was the wine was very expensive which spoiled the experience as you were always concerned about racking up a huge bill. Breakfast was good with a large choice of food, but tea and coffee left a lot to be desired, ask for a cappachino instead.
The hotel was always clean and there was always someone to ask if you needed any help.
If you do go, you must go along to the sister hotel "The Royal" and go down in the lift to the bathing platform and swim in the sea from there, it is lovely.
Another "must do" while in sorrento is to go on the Green Fun bus, it is crazy and such good fun, the driver not only drives the bus but entertains you with very good singing and and a tamborine.
We would go back to the De la Ville.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and above level 2 all rooms have air con and balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieIrene60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a week. Excellent location for visiting Pompei and Ercolano (by train) and the Amalfi coast (by bus, excursion offered by the hotel at a fair price (E34).
We had a room with sea view. The room was nice and clean and with a spacious terrace that overlooked the bay of Sorrento and the Vesuvius.
The personnel at both the reception desk and in the restaurant was very helpful and friendly and the food was good and really good value for money. The atmosphere of the hotel was warm and informal. This hotel earns it's 4 stars!
Only issue was that our room (530, top floor) was close to the elevator, which at night caused a noise that hampered sleeping (fortunately many hotel guests were old and went to bed early!)

Room Tip: See review. Take a room on the upper floor (or the one below) with sea view, but not the one next to...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dear Team

I would like to take this opportunity to feedback on our recent holiday to Sorrento and the stay in your hotel, I want to congratulate your team on the whole hotel experience, we have been fortunate to have stayed in high end hotels such as The Carlton in Cannes, The Westin Europa & Regina in Venice, The Bellagio in Las Vegas, but feel you have equalled and surpassed the customer experience in all of these other hotels.
I feel that Enzo and his team namely Carmine, Giuseppe and the wine waiter (sorry didn’t get his name) where absolutely outstanding in providing a service throughout breakfast lunch and dinner, secondly in the hotel bar, the manger Dominico and Flora made the whole experience extra special, on the front desk Fabiana, Annalisa and Lucio are again just superb and helpful in every way, a credit to the hotel, I am sure that all the staff in the hotel are at the same standard just didn’t get to deal with them.

Bravo Team.


Regards Trevor and Alison

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The good points are it's clean, the rooms are spacious. Has two pools one of the roof which is lovely and over looks the sea and the mountains. The bad, the hotel can not be bother to use only fresh fruit in the breakfast they give, they use tinned mixed fruit (I didn't think you could still get the tins). The coffee is sludge, nothing fresh about it. The hotel would have cocktails of the day which had been slashed in price, with a happy hour at the bar. They provided entertainment two nights a week on the roof terrace. The music is what you expect in a bad hotel from the 80's. The evening menu could have been and second rate hotel from Britain. Which made the hotel appear cheap and nasty. I felt i was in Butlins in the 80's. So for price, location and the rooms hotel is excellent BUT be aware loud horrible music, poor/average breakfast, and a feeling that you will see the crew of hi-de-hi, hiding around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our week to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary was made all the better by staying at the De la Ville. The hotel was extremely well organised and spotlessly clean, and the staff were attentive throughout, particularly Enzo and his team in the restaurant who coped well with busy periods and made sure everyone had good service. We took half-board and found the breakfast and dinner to be very good quality and choice. We used both the small roof-top pool and the larger ground floor pool, though in adition to this, it's worth knowing that you can visit the sea-front terraces and bathing platform for swimming in the sea at the sister hotel, the Grand Hotel Royal, about 5 minutes away. (Ask the De La Ville for a pass for the Royal).

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $164 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing