We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Honeymoon location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Perfect Honeymoon location”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I choose Sorrento for our honeymoon as it is a beautifull, romantic part of Italy. The Grand Hotel De La Ville made our honeymoon perfect. The staff are amazing from Reception team to the Cleaners, they were all so friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff headed by Enzo were wonderful. Enzo made you feel so special; as if you were one of his family. The food was superb and there was a wonderful choice of wines. The rooms are bright and spacious and the room servicing was very very good. We would thoroughly recommend Grand Hotel De La Ville!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 423. A lovely sunny room overlooking the garden. No view from this room as it face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Sorrento and our Hotel for your honeymoon, we are very happy that you
have enjoy your stay with us. It Is very important for us your review because makes our job really
beautiful, and we will tell to all the staff your compliments that you make to them especially to
the restaurant staff in order to make always better their work.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    461
    105
    25
    13
See reviews for
518
1,451
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently had a very pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel de la Ville in Sorrento.
On arrival we were greatly impressed with the decor and furnishing in the Reception area.

This is a splendid hotel and we certainly will visit again.

The bedrooms are spacious and very clean. Sheets were changed every day!.

Importantly, the food was very varied, well cooked and with plenty of choice. My choice is usually fish and I was very pleased with my selections.

The staff were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble.

You will not be disappointed with this hotel and I cannot praise it enough.

Eva Dick

Room Tip: I can recommend room 234. Spacious and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickbriand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Clients,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel De la Ville for your Holiday,
We are glad that you have enjoy everything of our hotel, especially the furniture , the cleaning of
The room and our food quality. Our staff appreciate very much your kind words. It is our pleasure
To make your stay pleasant. We hope to see you soon
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We saw the reviews and picked this hotel - we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and worked hard to make sure our stay was happy and relaxed, they were a good team, the resturant staff were particularly happy whether it be at the beginning of the day during breakfast or late in the evening at dinner. The roof terrace was just lovely overlooking the Bay of Naples. The food was great. The hotel was spotless throughout. Would recommend excursions to Capri and the Almalfi Drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for writing on us on trip advisor, your kind review make us very proud and happy because you appreciate our work. We are very happy that you have enjoy our Restaurant staff professionalism and the food quality. Our location and our roof terrace with the amazing view of the bay of
Naples is one of our Beauty ness of the Hotel that every guest can enjoy. Your kind review and opinion
Make our job more beautiful and the Grand Hotel De la Ville more interesting to other people that wish to come in Sorrento for our Holiday.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel on the 31st August 2012 for a week. 10 mins walk from the centre of Sorrento and harbour. Great room (pay extra for a sea view) its worth it, looking over the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius was fantastic. The food is excellent. We did think we may forego our evening meal and eat out a couple of nights but the food was so good with lots of choice that we did not need to do that. We ate lunch out every day, try Canneloni Sorrento style, delicious! Hotel prices are paid for the drinks in the bar however and so we did go out in the evening but the drinks were not much cheaper in the local bars. There is low key entertainment in the hotel bar some nights and a table tennis table. However after full days of exploring we did not want to stay up late. A must is a visit to Pompeye, a climb up Mount Vesuvius, visit to the Island of Capri, and of course the Amalfi Drive. We had a few storms when we were there which were spectacular to watch over the Bay of Naples but the sun soon came out again. A big mention to Enzo and the restaurant/bar/reception staff who were excellent and made our stay so pleasant. Great pool on the roof. We will definitely be going back there again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, its worth the money. Rooms at the side and the back are very close to oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

stunning place, hotel food is amazing, hotel is immaculate, staff are wonderful and helpful, enzo the head waiter is a joy and even leant my husband some trousers one nite as he forgot to pack his. the location is fantastic, this is not a ultra modern hotel but is charming and oldy worldy but its italian and we didnt want to stay in the every day hotel chains that all look the same, trips are available from the hotel and the sea is beautiful for swimming id 100 percent return to this hotel and hope to do so next year joanne and ian essex

Room Tip: id ask for a sea view or upgrade to one just for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne2972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, we felt that we were completely looked after. We had booked a room with a side sea view and were very pleased when we found we had been givan a room with a front sea view.
We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, including all the public areas, and our room was always spotless.
There was always plenty of choice at the evening meal and thought the standard of food was excellent. We must congratulate Enzo and his team for their politeness, friendliness, efficiency and hard work. We especially enjoyed the buffet evening. We would definitely return to this hotel. Our only complaint was they did not sell their home-made marmalade in small jars!

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea view. May be slightly noisier but the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 245LynneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here on the back of the reviews on trip advisor and were very disappointed when we arrived. The hotel is at the very low end of what we'd consider 4 star. The communal areas were very drab and tired and other than the roof terrace (which was only open during the day and on a couple of evenings) the outside space was minimal and cramped. We spent extra for the sea view and we were very glad we did. Otherwise the hotel experience would have been vey depressing. If you can spare the extra cash, we'd recommend staying at their sister hotel, the Grand Royal, as its much more what we'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view. The rest of the hotel is closely surrounded by local apartment blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singers121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Clients,
Thank you for dedicating us some of your time to write this review.
We are deeply sorry to read that your stay with us was disappointing and did not meet your expectations.
We respect all sorts of criticism as long as they are constructive and I would like to reply to the issues you brought up in your review:
We understand perfectly that Grand Hotel De La Ville wasn't exactly the kind of hotel you were expecting but this is an old style hotel; yes indeed it is and this is exactly what has distinguished grand Hotel De La Ville throughout the last 40 years and this is one of the main reasons we keep having returning guests that throughout the years have appreciated the Hotel's old school spirit and friendly atmosphere: an old school hotel with modern amenities.
Please accept our sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed on so many levels.
We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Grand Hotel De La Ville
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing