We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,237)
Filter reviews
2,237 results
Traveler rating
1,893
259
58
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,893
259
58
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourgala dinnershuttle busquarter past the hoursalad baralways on timesea viewevening mealfantastic hotelplenty of sunbedswaiter servicehalf boardhotel is spotlessly cleanpool attendanta wonderful holidaylarge poolamalfi drive
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 2,237 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to La Solara. We travelled we our two teenage daughters who love the hotel as much as my husband and I. One day we decided to list the things we love, so in no particular order:

1. The staff - Guiseppe, Nello, Marcello. The cleaning staff. All work so hard and are so friendly.
2. The food - amazing every night. Marcelo runs an excellent restaurant.
3. The pool - great size. Never overcrowded.
4. The sun beds - always available and in busy times Antonio will work his magic and find a place somewhere.
5. The view - oh the view! Always get a sea view and watch the sunset. Or just look up from your sunbed on the terrace.
6. The bus service - totally reliable and makes getting to Sorrento easy.
7. The Gala night- not always my thing to be honest but this was one of the reasons given by daughters which says something when they're 16 and 17! They said they loved the special effort the hotel made.
8. The cleanliness - it is so clean. I have seen a review about cracked tiles and I'm amazed because I have never encountered anything like that.
9. Reception - always helpful.
10. The whole package - we just love it!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
4  Thank sassyjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear sassyjan2014
Reading your reviews and comments with these extraordinary words, I am very proud for all the work of all the staff for our guests making their stay as comfortable as possible. GRAZIE
Greetings from Sorrento and waiting for your next visit
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We have stayed 3 times at this fantastic hotel, which is unusual as we normally don't visit the same place twice. However, we have never had such great service at any other hotel. Although TUI give the hotel a 5T rating, it is a 4* hotel, so should be rated on its official rating. All the staff are dedicated and extremely hard-working. They want every guest to have the best possible experience and will always go the extra mile.

On arrival, bags are taken on a buggy to reception and then to your room. There is no rush to check in, as sparkling wine and snacks are served in the comfortable lounge. We have had different rooms each time, but every one was spotless and comfortable. The wardrobe is large with plenty of hangers. Different pillows and mattress toppers can be provided if required. There is a free safe, minibar, tea and coffee making equipment, toiletries and hairdryer. Air conditioning is between mid June to mid September. Rooms are cleaned every day, including a turn down service and chocolate at night. The decor is typically Italian, not corporate or impersonal.

The dining room is spacious and tables at dinner are allocated for your whole stay, but any table can be used at breakfast. The breakfast buffet is extensive with a wide choice. As this is Italy, there is not a full English breakfast, but there are some hot items. Hot drinks are self service by machine, but staff will provide drinks from the kitchen. Special diets are catered for. At dinner, the antipasto course is self service, but other courses are waiter service. The menu is available to view from the morning and includes at least 5 choices for each course. If there is nothing suitable, the chefs will make something else. The food is absolutely delicious and authentically Italian. Drinks and wine are served at your table. Drinks and snacks are charged to your room, but you can ask to pay your bill each day if you want to.

The pool area is lovely and beautifully maintained. Early and late season, it is heated. There is never a problem getting a lounger and towels. There is a balcony area with beautiful views. A separate shaded area is available for snacks and lunch. A full waiter service is provided.

There is a free hourly shuttle service into Sorrento. You can ask to get off just outside Sorrento where the sidewalk begins, and walk down. The train/bus station is a few minutes away from the drop off for trips to other places. The staff at reception can also recommend excursions. Official tours usually pick up at the bottom of the drive.

If you want a wonderful holiday in a full service hotel where guests are valued, La Solara is the ideal place. Guests return frequently because they are guaranteed a high level of comfort and service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank gooner932017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear gooner932017
Thank you for your extraordinary words. Everyone of us are waiting for you on your next visit and we will certainly do our best.
See you soon "" GRAZIE""
The Entire staff and management.
Ugo di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We booked an economy quad room with a bunk bed. Though the room was quite crowded for all of us and its decor was a bit out dated to our taste, the room was priced reasonably for the good location and high season. The room and bathroom were clean. The front desk was very helpful. A big thank to Antonio who relentlessly answered all my email questions before our arrival. The shuttle to downtown Sorrento was very convenience. A better pick up location nearer to the heart of the city, like Piazza Sant'Antonino, would make it a perfect shuttle service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RightActivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear RightActivist
Thank you very much for your review and that you found our hotel and our staff to your liking and these beautiful words helps us to continue and give the best to please our valued clients.
Unfortunately the pick up location does not depend on the hotel but from the availability given by the municipality of Sorrento.
Greetings from all the staff
Ugo Di Maio"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

I read many trip reviews before coming here, I must admit I was disappointed
Ive travelled extensively and stayed at 2-3- 4- 5 and 6 star hotels, personally I found the food and drink overall to be basic, can’t understand some of the reviews on here, but his place has its ardent fans I accept that

The hotel and accommodation was reasonable quirky décor, shower above the bath cracked grubby tiles around the taps and only one power socket available in the whole room and that was located in the bathroom, imagine how difficult it is to charge up phone laptop tablet etc. let alone two devices at once thats not possible
However the staff in general were pleasant and helpful, thought the shuttle bus was great.

Room Tip: upgrade at an extra cost unless your lucky
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank weezergeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear weezergeezer
"I'm very sorry that your stay was not to your liking.
For our kitchen we have one of the best chefs in Campania and his staff and the majority of our customers are very satisfied.
It is possible that your particular flavor of lightness does not go well with the local cuisine soif we have the opportunity to have you back with us, you can ask our head waiters Marcello and Nello and they certainly will satisfy with the help of the chef.
You wrote that it was a disservice in the bathroom but you didn't say this at the receptionto to be repaired it.
For the power sockets it is not true that there is only one and also for this if you asked the reception you could have an outlet with 5 additional sockets.
In all ways it is not nice not to write the truth and to discredit a company.
Greetings from all the staff
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

We spent a week here in September. It's true about the lovely staff and the food.

We found the pool area very uninviting, the description in the tour company's brochure say' the gardens cocoon the pool and sun terraces', the pool area is surrounded by concrete not gardens. The pool was really cold and so we only used it once. There is a small garden area at the back end of the pool area but it looks neglected. The whole pool area needs softening up, possibly with colourful planting.

I would say the hotel is 'old fashioned' in its approach. Yes many people return year after year, but this is probably because it feels 'safe and familiar', staff greeting returners like old friends, tea& coffee making facility in rooms, old fashioned entertainment.

The waiters in the restaurant are very efficient and friendly but I do have a complaint about etiquette at the dining table. Every evening the waiters would start collecting the plates before everyone on the table had finished eating. It felt rushed, each course served quickly. Our three course meal would typically be all done in an hour & quarter.

The hotel is comfortable and I slept very well. It does say in their information brochure that if you find the mattress too hard they will change it for you. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Neamh
Thank you for your words and suggestions. We always try to give the correct information with relevant photos on the our hotel.
I'm sorry you found the pool cold but also this information is correct writing that the pool being very large is heated to 25/26 degrees and this temperature in September is more than pleasant.
I apologize for the service you had in the restaurant and I begged our maitresdi to pay attention to the behavior of the staff.
In awaiting to have you again with us we will do our best to make your stay with us to your liking.
Best greetings from all the staff
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews