We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holiday 2014”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had our 14th holiday at La Solara in July.The Hotel was all that we knew it would be.Spotlessly clean and pristine throughout the hotel and grounds.The food was delicious and plentiful with a large choice.
The staff are "The Icing on the cake",friendly, courteous and cheerful,always greeting you with a smile.
We have been to our Thomson shop today and booked for 2015.From G.and B.B.Oxfordshire.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Gerald B,
The first thing is to thank you 14 times. A thank you for every time you've been with us.
In advance we thank you once again for your stay 2015.
Surely we will do everything we can to have you again with us in 2016.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Alma & Ugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    230
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
514
1,216
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife booked the hotel for us to have a short break as a couple, I'm only sorry we were just away for one week I plan to holiday at this hotel again very soon. The hotel will perhaps not knock you off your feet but the brilliant staff, the customer service, the excellent food and attention to every detail to improve your holiday will. Excellent location, the town is there a short bus trip away if you wish or relax by the huge pool on the sun terrace.Wonderful

Room Tip: Ask for sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly6523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Holly6523,
Reading your reviews and comments with these extraordinary words, I believe that, all directors should be proud of for all the work of all the staff because our guests appreciate all they do to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and on your next visit waiting
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have just come back from a week in the La Solara in Sorrento. The hotel is really nice and elevated to a very high level by the fantastic hotel staff who go out of their way to be helpful. The public areas of the hotel are very spacious and there is plenty of room to stretch out. The pool area is really great with lots of room and a large pool although it is very safe for children. There are also shaded areas at the pool where the hottest part of the day can be quite nicely chilled! The rooms are spacious (ours was on the first floor and had really nice views of the sea and Capri). Since the main attractions of the area are all around there did not appear to be much to do other than the pool although there is a health club and spa. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the middle of town and it is walkable only if you are fit but the hotel provides a free hourly shuttle so that getting to and from Sorrento is pretty easy. Otherwise it is around €25 ($35) taxi to town. The food is excellent (we were half board), the quantities are huge so be warned and there is a good range of drinks that are well priced. We would happily stay again and we don't to often do that.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors have a larger balcony and easier to access showers separate from the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Ray M,
Thank you for your reviews and comments about the hotel and staff. I am very happy that he found everything to your liking and that you will be with us again on your next visit to Sorrento. By your next visit to have a nice and a n easy walk to Sorrento a good suggestion is: Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the pedestrians path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My fiancee and I have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel as part of my parents' 40th wedding anniversary.

The hotel is a 10 minutes (max) drive from Sorrento town up in the hills of the area. The distance from the town really isn't a problem as there is a complimentary mini bus every hour (drop off and pick up) and this enables you to take a break from the busy town and enjoy the amazing scenery as well as use the large swimming pool and sun deck.

We stayed at the hotel under a Half Board service which enabled us to have breakfast and dinner each night. The breakfast was well stocked and offered a small amount of cooked items as well as a large amount of pastries, cereals and even marshmallows for those with a sweet tooth! We were treated to a 4 course meal each night (Salad buffet, starter, main and dessert) and each night was different with about 4 items to choose from within each course. All the food was cooked well and went down a treat.

The rooms are traditional Italian, tiled floors, light décor and very clean. The maids were very friendly and even came round in the evening to “turn down” the room which is a nice touch. As mentioned, there are limited English TV channels in the room but the news was enough to entertain us whilst getting ready.

The service from the staff was top class and very personal. All the staff we spoke to at the reception, the restaurant, bar and pool were always friendly with smiles on their faces willing to help with anything. Although this hotel is Best Western, you can tell the hotel prides itself on the quality of the staff.

Overall, a great hotel and a great stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ifordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Ifordy,
Thank you for your reviews, your comments and your extraordinary words. The management and all the staff are proud that our guests appreciate us for all that we do to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and your next visit
Ugo di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Starting with our first email contact with the hotel to inquire about availability, this was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. This was our 5th trip to Italy (first time in Amalfi Coast region.) Our series of emails were always immediately answered and in the most helpful, courteous and friendly way.

In addition to arranging for airport pickup for us, Antonio at the front desk booked a private driver to give us a full day tour of the Amalfi coast. He also arranged for a private driver to take us to and from Pompeii. And then in Pompeii we had the most terrific private guided tour, also arranged by the hotel. (A tip: visit Pompeii first thing in the morning, before it gets too hot and before all the tour groups arrive. La Solara timed it just right for us, pickup at hotel at 8:00 A.M. and tour starting at 9:00.)

The entire staff at La Solara was terrific, at the front desk, the dining room staff (buffet breakfast was very extensive and delicious) and the pool staff (by the way - pool area is lovely!) Carmine at the front desk had recently worked on Capri and gave us great recommendations for restaurants for our 3 day visit to Capri. One of our suitcases was lost by Alitalia on the way from home (Boston) to Naples. The men at the front made many calls on our behalf and didn't rest until the bag was found and delivered to the hotel.

I could go on and on, but my final comment will be about location. The hotel is a short drive outside of the center of Sorrento. This made for a quiet setting away from the crowds, high enough to get a great breeze, and the hotel has hourly shuttle service into the center of town.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else on our next trip to this part of Italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms since we left for a few days stay on Capri, and then returned to La S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear David F,
Thank you for your extraordinary words. Everyone of us are waiting for you on your next visit in the area and we will certainly do our best. See you soon
The Entire staff and management.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just returned home from Best Western Hotel La Solara, Sorrento. This is just a fantastic hotel. Excellent hotel staff who are kind, funny, very attentive and go the extra mile. Was pleasantly surprised with welcome nibbles and champagne - a lovely start to the hol. Food is AMAZING quality, variety (and size)!!!!! Atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Pool area is beautiful with absolutely no need to do the mental 7am "pool dash" to secure sun beds. There's lots of space in the hotel cos of all the wonderful trips and exploring that can be done. The hotel minibus is brilliant. Defo will come to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't worry - all rooms are great and have a balcony. Ours was room 128 which overlooked the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mick H,
What can you reply to a guest who says that the hotel is fabulous? The only word is GRAZIE and that we are a waiting for your next visit.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay at La Solara which was the second time within three months which in itself speaks volumes.
We have stayed in four other 4 star hotels in Sorrento over the last few years and have to say how disappointed we are that it took so long to find this gem and in our opinion is the best hotel overall in this area.
All the staff and services are excellent and as far as the food is concerned it would be very difficult to beat this wherever you stayed.Whilst the hotel is situated 3 kms out of town there is an hourly shuttle bus service and it is possible to walk down in about 30 minutes.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel had put on some nice touches in our room on our arrival.We are now waiting and looking forward to next year when we will be returning to the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saluti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Gentile Saluti2014;
Thank you for your reviews and for your comments about the hotel and staff. I am very happy that you have found us and that surely you will be with us again on your next visit to Sorrento. We will do everything to make your stay with us again to your liking.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing