We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The staff at this hotel are exceptional and do all they can to help and make sure you enjoy your stay.Carmine on reception was really helpful and gave great tips that we would not have gleaned from the tour rep.The waiters are the best we have had.Thanks to Marcello and Nello for the cake on my daughters birthday,and to Antonio,(go and stay here and check out his haircut)and Guiseppe ,who is game for a laugh and a song......
We had a very busy week and would recommend using the public transport .It is really cheap to go on the train to all the tourist sights.We would also recommend the red bus tours to Amalfi which were still cheap especially in comparison to the tour reps prices.There are lots of places to see and it was great to get back to the hotel after a busy day and be pampered by the staff and enjoy a lovely evening meal.The tiramisu is the best I have ever had..The staff were brilliant with the children and they ate from the menu or had pizza , pasta or whatever else they fancied.We could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view .It was perfect for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear la Solara friend Mothy2014,
Thank you very much for your words and we hope to have you with us again next year.
All our staff thanks you for the nice words that gratify their work.
For your next visit we will try to make your stay with us again as comfortable as possible. Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    231
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
514
1,220
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel certainly lived up to the reviews I had read on trip advisor. All the staff are friendly and provide an excellent customer service.Our room (412) overlooked the pool with a large balcony and a side view over the Bay of Naples.It was spotlessly clean with fresh towels each day and the beds turned down each evening - the standard of cleanliness in this hotel is excellent! The room had a safe (free of charge) and a mini-bar which was well stocked and although there were three of us staying in the room we had plenty of space The hotel is 10 minutes drive from the centre of Sorrento in a quiet area, but it is on a busy road which does not have a footpath and I wouldn't recommend that you walk along it. We used the hotels free minibus a few times to go into Sorrento and found this to be an excellent service The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and parasols and is really clean.Pool towels are provided free of charge and the heated pool was warm enough to swim in, even at the start of April! You can have lunch by the pool but I did find it a little expensive at approx 15 euros for a pizza, although they are large ones.The food at this hotel is really good with plenty of choice at breakfast which offers all types of pastries, cold meats, cereals, eggs & bacon.The menu for the evening meal offers around six choices each of starter & main course and there was always a fish and vegetarian option. We cleared our plates every night and couldn't always manage the pudding!After dinner you can have a drink in the comfortable lounge where they sometimes have a piano player/singer. I would recommend that you do the Amalfi Drive whilst in Sorrento, it is so beautiful! We did the drive on a Thomson trip and visited Amalfi & Ravello which were both stunning. We also visited Capri which is very stylish, but very expensive - window shopping only! If you have mobility problems then Capri may not be for you as many of the paths are extremely steep. Overall, we had a fantastic time in Sorrento and our stay at La Solara was the 'icing on the cake'. I will definately recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell1963183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear la Solara friend Nell1963183,
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay.
Thank you, as well, for reporting that you had an excellent stay.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
The variety and meticulousness of our services mean that we are able to guarantee all our guests a pleasant and satisfying stay.
Till your next visit. Best Regards from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Excellent Hotel, Excellent staff, Excellent room and Excellent food. My wife and I had been to Sorrento once before at a different hotel. This time we took two friends with us and we had told them how we had fallen in love with the place. Thanks to La Solara and the Staff and the charm of Sorrento they fell in love with the place too! We agreed we will be back. Thank you for looking after us so well!
Andy and Crew.

Room Tip: Top floors from 3 up best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear La Solara friend ANDYH6,
The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted.
This makes us happy and keeps us in work with new energy.
We are waiting your next stay with us."
GRAZIE" Ciao from Sorrento
The entire staff and management.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked this hotel because it has a heated pool. It did not disappoint (claimed to be 25C). Many other people enjoyed a swim. I was disappointed that swordfish did not appear on the menu whilst we were there. Whilst it is impossible to go for a quiet stroll from this hotel, hotels closer to Sorrento are shrouded in pollution from the traffic. I was otherwise pleased with this wonderful hotel and its staff.
If you can't cope with the London Underground in the rush hour, I would recommend going to Herculaneum and Pompeii on a coach tour. Toilet facilities at the former are poor. Pompeii is disintegrating, with props and closed places everywhere. Needs 5 hours at least. Both are still amazing places to visit. April is perfect as it is not too hot and the flowers are lovely too.
Naples airport will be the low point of your holiday.

Room Tip: The best rooms are with a sea view as you also have the late sunshine. Great at Easter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190762Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear la Solara friend J190762Sam,
We thank you very much for the nice words had against the hotel and staff.
It is a real pleasure for all the staff and for me The best service to our beloved guests is the most important thing for us.
I'm sorry that you have not found the location of our hotel to your liking even if the position is well described,
We hope to have you again with us in the near future and by your next visit a good suggestion to have a nice walk is: Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the sidewalk (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA.
Greetings from all the staff and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LICHFIELD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found the staff were charming and helpful; especially when we arrived back late for dinner as we'd missed our ferry on a day trip to Capri. They insisted they serve us even though sevice was virtually over.
The hourly transport service into Sorrento was invaluable. Our coach driver was great but the suicidal risk taking of some of the other car and motor bike users made it very scary on the narrow, winding coast road.
We thoughly enjoyed our stay. A word of warning for tea drinkers though: there are no tea making facilities in the room!!
Jan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear JAN M,
I thank you for what you wrote about our hotel.
I'm sorry that you have not found the location of our hotel to your liking even if the position is well described.
We want to point out also that in the informations, which are in all rooms is mentioned that it is possible to have, on request, tea making facilities or hard/soft mattresses/pillows.
Waiting to have you back with us for a better vacation
greetings from Sorrento and all the staff
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault this hotel and its location in any way. As previous reviewers have said, the staff are the speciality of this establishment, we cannot praise the quality of customer service highly enough, from arrival to departure, we could not have asked for better attention to detail, from the porter who picked up our luggage, to the reception staff who attended to any enquiry we had, to the fantastic domestic staff who kept the hotel spotless and provide a chocolate every evening, to the pool attendants who ensured we had everything we needed, the excellent bar staff and the fantastic waiters who are all first class and made us feel completely welcome each and every day. The hotel is on the outskirts of Sorrento, but for us this was not a problem as it meant the area was quieter than others. The hotel provided a very punctual and comfortable bus service hourly into Sorrento from early morning to 11pm. Our room was 312 and had a fabulous view of the bay with a huge balcony/ terrace where we could sit and consume the complimentary wine left as a welcome gift in the room on arrival. The food in this hotel is excellent, a breakfast buffet is served each morning with plenty of hot and cold dishes and a selection of teas, coffees and juices. The evening meals and in particular, the Gala Dinner on Sundays are exceptional. I consider myself a 'fussy' eater, but was spoilt for choice everyday, and ate much more than I would usually do, Delicious!!! The hotel also provide the opportunity for clients to have an hourly lesson in Italian which was fun and very useful to those of us who attended. If travelling with Thomson, the rep Martin is very knowledgable and his welcome meeting is very informative, as is the free walking tour of Sorrento which he leads, I would recommend it, if you have never visited Sorrento before. Will definitely be returning to Sorrento and La Solara. La Solara e motto speciale, perfetto in ignite modo !!!! Grazie Mille.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanEvaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear SusanEvaM,
Thank you for explaining our Hotel, what it offers and the quality of our services.
This makes us very happy because our staff is involved in the growth of our Hotel.
Their meticulous work is our best weapon.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future and make your stay with us again so pleasant..
Ciao da tutti noi da Sorrento e dalla solara
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is really a gem and,having found it, we want to return as soon as possible.My wife and I stayed at the La Solara from the 7th to the 14th of April.It is such a relaxing spot with plenty of room around the large heated pool.There are two large lounges providing more space to relax.
All the staff are immaculately dressed and are very professional and friendly.They are always at hand to help.The bedrooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated.On arrival in your room you will find a complimentary bottle of wine.
The restaurant is spacious too and the food is excellent and well presented.The menu is wide and we were always looking forward to dinner.We cannot fault this hotel at all.It is clear that the staff have a pride in their work and in the hotel.
Finally,the free hourly bus into Sorrento is a bonus and is well used.
(If you are going to Pompeii or Herculaneum it is much cheaper to go by train from Sorrento than use a tour company.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear La Solara friend Michael M,
We just have to thank you for the nice words had.
Our staff being aware of your comments makes them happy for their hard work.
The management hopes to see you again in the near future once again to give you our best service.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing