We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I'd stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were treated like royalty!! Right from the moment we made our reservation, we were contacted by the Concierge, Antonio and offered assistance with transportation and excursions. He arranged a driver to pick us up and return us to the airport and tour the Amalfi coast. He recommended restaurants in Sorrento and suggested we take part in the chef challenge on the Sunday evening which was an extravaganza of Italian flavour....excellent value for the price. Clean rooms. Great breakfast buffet and excellent shuttle service into Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view of Naples Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
The management and all the staff, wishing you and your family a happy 2013, would like to thank you for appreciating the hard work done to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013 Ugo Di Maio, mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    214
    48
    14
    9
See reviews for
479
1,137
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our week at La Solara was a wonderful experience. All the staff were very welcoming, and in particular were excellent with our young son. Accomodation was spacious, comfortable and spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. The pool was large, warm and immaculate with wonderful views out across the Bay of Naples. The food was varied, often with local specialities to try, always very tasty and in generous quantities. We certainly intend to return.

Mr and Mrs Franklin
Devon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
The management and all the staff, wishing you and your family a happy 2013, would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013 Ugo Di Maio, mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have travelled all around the world and found La Solara to be our favourite hotel. Everything was perfect: the warm welcome which we received; the kind provision of a delicious late night snack upon our arrival; the clean, bright room; the spotless bathroom; the wonderful meals, which we cannot praise enough; the friendly, helpful waiters and reception staff; the high standards attained by those cleaning and looking after the room; the perfect evening entertainment; the stunning location; the provision of a courtesy bus into Sorrento; and the complimentary gifts. We particularly enjoyed the Italian lessons.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor, left hand side as you face the hotel, and had a massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank _x_Denise_x_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Having read all the trip advisor reviews, I must say I thought they were too good to be true, but lets just say the hotel lived up to all expectations. The staff were attentive, the rooms were cleaned at least twice a day! The food from the restaurant was absolutely fantastic, and if there wasn't something on the menu for the kids, it was no problem to get something special made up. The pool was excellent, although in October, the low sun disappeared about 4pm. To make advantage of this though, make sure you get a room that is either sea facing or pool facing, with balcony, that way you can leave the pool, and relax on the balcony, with a glass of wine from the complimentary bottle that was provided (very nice touch).

As mentioned in other reviews, the only slight negative is the location of the hotel, however this is more than compensated with the regular free shuttle bus provided by the hotel. Every hour for the 10 minute journey into Sorrento.

Also as noted in other reviews, if you arrive into Sorrento by bus or train, make sure you take the free shuttle bus to the hotel, a taxi will cost you €30+. You need to exit the station, walk south for around 300 metres, then the bus picks you up just past the hotel Cesar Augusto ( on a small bridge). This wasn't particularly clear on the info we had been provided with from the hotel.

Public transport (apart from taxis) is particularly cheep. You can take the circumvisuvio train to Naples or Pompeii or Herculaneum, for just a few euros.

An absolutely fantastic hotel, we would love to go back sometime soon.

If you are travelling yourself, we would recommend you take e bus from Naples airport direct to sorrento, this costs just €10 per person, then walk up to the shuttle collection point to pick up free shuttle bus to hotel. A taxi transfer would have cost us (4 people) over €150.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We can only agree with everyone's comments, probably one of the friendliest , cleanest , efficiently run hotels we have ever stayed in, nothing was too much trouble. We would have no hesitation in staying here again should we revisit the Sorrento area in the future

Room Tip: Best to choose a sea view on a high floor, we were on the 4th floor and could not have asked for any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff,NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The place is spotless. The pool is spectacular and the people were so helpfull. Great place . I would stay there again.

The front desk and pool help were great. Met the manager and he was so nice.

Joe and Kathy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the La Solara for a second year and the service was again brilliant. The hotel has great views, not quite perfect as Vesuvius isn't visible, but the view of the bay and islands is worth it. The restaurant serves excellent non fussy Italian food with a good well priced wine list. However, the service you get from all the staff is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble and you always feel that the staff are there just for you. The hotel bus to Sorrento is reliable and very convenient.

Room Tip: get a balcony room overlooking the bay of naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#7 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#2 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 2,632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing