We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, helpful staff, quiet area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
kcsven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, helpful staff, quiet area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed here 4 nights. Rooms were clean and had a balcony out towards the pool. Some of the rooms had better views than others, so if that's important definately ask about the view for the particular room. Staff was very helpful, bartenders attentive, front desk responsive. Wireless Internet access was very good in the lobby, spottier in the rooms but still able to get it there. You need to get a code from the front desk to use it but worked fine. The hotel is outside the main Sorrento center which means you need to take the shuttle downtown but also means it's very quiet away from the hustle and bustle. The shuttle was very convenient, worked well, we took it many times.
We ate in the dining room one night and no complaints. I will mention the crowd that stays here, at elast when we were there, was of a much older variety. If your young and looking to be some place with something going on at night I wouldn;t expect it here. But if you want a nice place to stay, convenient to downtown with a very helpful staff you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,626
    222
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
487
1,161
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hotel was lovely, great views of Capri, nice pool area, excellent food and the most genuinely friendly staff. Free bus service into Sorrento was hassle free and being able to swap dinner for lunch meant we could enjoy a few great nights in Sorrento too.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were generally very helpful and friendly, although it did feel with some of them as if they were just 'going through the motions'.

The room we were in was a side pool view room with a balcony. It was perfectly o.k. in a bland corporate sort of way. It was quite small but lt was spotlessly clean, the shower was a bit weak. The bed was large and comfortable and the pillows lovely and soft. There was a decent flat screen T.V. There were nice touches, a bottle of red wine on arrival and chocolates left on the pillows every night.
There was a bit of noise from other rooms, the sound proofing was far from excellent.

The food in the restaurant was really very good indeed and the service excellent. The down side was that the restaurant felt more like a canteen. It was very brightly lit with orangey red coloured curtains. The tables were quite crammed in. We were told which was our table and had to sit at this table every morning and evening. We were not allowed to sit anywhere, which was a shame as the same people had the window view over the sea all the time. Even when the tables by the window were free, we were not allowed to sit at them.

The pool was a good size and the pool terrace, seating areas and gardens very pleasant.

The location of the hotel was good in that it was quite rural and quiet. We found the hotel's free mini bus service in and out of town a real necessity. This was a very reliable and punctual hourly service. The only down side was that the last hotel bus was at 2315, a bit early when you are enjoying cocktails in Sorrento town!

A minor problem we found annoying was that the hotel's free wi-fi kept crashing and we had to keep re-booting it at reception every couple of hours.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tannoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We were asked if we would write a review to help improve the service to guests,but this is a waste of time as there is nothing to be improved on! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was impeccable. The hotel is immaculate,food excellent,staff so friendly and helpful...what more can I say? For those wanting a quiet,relaxing break this is unbeatable.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms facing the cliff if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We went through Thomsons having looked at a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor. Their rating and good reviews are justified.The food is excellent and the Hotel is kept immaculately clean. The pool is a god size and also kept almost bug free. The staff are very friendly and genuinely seem to want to please. They really mean no problem when asked to go the extra mile or change something. Many of them seem to have adopted an English sense of humour too. The courtesy bus in and out of Sorrento is very reliable and is a must as the road to Town is not to be walked. If I were to be a bit picky, we found that sounds from nearby rooms was prominent especially doors opening and closing. Most nights everyone seemed to be tucked up by 12.00 so not too much bother. Great place and highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbietuffnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We returned (reluctantly) on June 17th 2011 after a truly memorable visit. The hotel was superbly run and I must agree with all the plus points from other reviews. Even a couple of negatives were made positive after two minor complaints were treated seriously with complimentary sparkling wine on our wedding anniversary and a free lunch on our last day (Thank you Marcello!).

The food was great for us as we don't eat meat. There was always a good choice of vegetartian food and fish was also on the menu every day as well as meat dishes to choose from.

The room was a good size with plenty of storage space and flat screen TV. The firm bed was surprisingly comfortable. Our room (facing the front) had a large balcony with table, chairs and two deck chairs. There were electrically operated canopies in case the sun got too strong. The susnsets were fantastic.

Another writer complains of only being allowed one towel - we were given 2 towels on request each time we swam. The pool is great for proper swimming - it's deep enough at both ends and while it isn't olympic size it is 23m which is fine.

I will recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Ralph Armsby

Room Tip: Make sure you get a large balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The hotel has spotless bedrooms and public areas.
The food is delicious and varied. The service is excellent and friendly.
The pool is the best hotel pool we have experienced with enough loungers and towels for all guests.
Although the location is a little out of town, free transport is provided at regular intervals until 11.15pm, allowing for evening visits to the beautiful town of Sorrento.
Our best ever holiday, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the sea are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
1.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing