We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing luxurious experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We have stayed at La Solara previously and have taken family and friends who have all had a wonderful experience.The hotel staff are to be applauded for their outstanding professionalism and delivery of service.This is a unique hotel which is a continuous joy to visit.We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanuts666987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed at La Solara for a week with our 14 year old daughter. We chose this hotel mainly on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisr and it more than lived up to expectations. We were given a suite which had 2 rooms divided by a sliding door - there was a single bed in the living area with sofa, armchair and flat screen TV which was ideal to give our daughter (and us) some privacy. Our room had twin beds, wardrobe, large dressing table, TV and smallish balcony overlooking the pool and wooded valley. We were on the 2nd floor, I would advise requesting a higher floor for a better view. The rooms were spotless, well equipped and comfortable with perfect lighting and bedding. They were cleaned daily and towels replaced on request, there was also a turndown service during dinner when towels were tidied and a chocolate was left which was a nice touch. The restaurant was lovely with round tables which you kept for the duration of your stay. We were lucky enought o be moved to a window table after 2 days which had lovely sea views. The food was fantastic - wonderful warm pastries at breakfast as well as scrambled eggs, sausages and sometimes bacon, cereal, fruit, cold meats/cheese and the best hot chocolate I have ever tasted. Dinner consisted of 4 courses starting with a buffet antipasti bar then a choice of 4-5 dishes per course. Highlights were the risotto's, fish dishes and ice cream. All the food was well presented, hot and of good quality. the 5 course gala dinner on Sunday was excellent, There was a reasonable choice of only Italian wines, many at around 12-16 euros a bottle, soft drinks were 3 euros and a litre of water 2.5 euros. The service was exceptional in all areas of the hotel, the staff really made a huge effort to make sure every need was catered for and staff appeared very happy in their jobs. We had wonderful warm weather for most of the week and spent plenty of time relaxing by the pool which was very clean and very cold!! However this didn't stop us from swimming. The pool area is very peaceful with lovely views and plenty of good quality sunbeds and parasols. It is no surprise that this hotel is so popular with repeat visitors and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it. Thank you to everyone at La Solara, we would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had a wonderful week at La Solara. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are exceptionally welcoming. Our Italian is limited but this was not a problem, everyone we met spoke English but also seemed to appreciate our efforts to learn a few Italian phrases. Our rooms were very well equipped and we really appreciated the personal touches, like the chocolate and "Good Night" note placed by our beds every evening. The food was delicious and plentiful and the restaurant staff were very understanding about the needs of young children. Our 9 year old isn't very adventurous with food and we were able to request a pizza or some plain pasta if he didn't fancy what was on the menu. The hotel is up a steep hill from the main centre of Sorrento but the hotel has an hourly shuttle service which we made full use of. Our only (very slight!) disappointment was that the beautiful swimming pool was very cold, although the brochure had stated that it was heated in April. However this didn't stop the three children in our party from having a splash most days!

Room Tip: Lovely towels provided for use at the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebbieNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

On arrival we had a very warm and friendly welcome including a welcome drink. Our room was equally welcoming, being very spacious, spotless and comfortable. The balcony was very large with incredible views. Then it just gets better! superb service, wonderful food, friendly staff and the personal touch is definitely here. The swimming pool and the facilities surrounding it are all first class. Its location is nicely out of Sorrento with the hourly courtesy bus available to take you into the centre within minutes. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed for one week with extended family (7 of us). Nothing was too much trouble. Ate like kings, treated like princes. Free room upgrades for half the party! The staff were very friendly (particularly Marcello / Nello / Antonio / Nicola / Giuseppe). Beautifully clean, great pool and surrounding area. Lovely food - good choice every day.

Only downside was the out of town location but we knew this when we booked and the shuttle bus was very punctual. Rooms with a sea view are slightly noisy as the hotel is on a sharp bend and the local custom is for large vehicles to pip their horn as they approach the bend, but this really is a minor point.

Don't want to end on a negative because this hotel is very special and I would recommend it to anyone. Would love to return and may just book it soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Great value hotel just outside Sorrento. Service was brilliant with free wifi and parking with a shuttle bus every hour into Sorrento. They even had Sky sports available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChompBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Having returned for a second time to La Solara, I was even more impressed the second time around. Last year it was just my husband and I, this year we returned with our family (3 children aged 22, 20 & 18) and their partners. The hotel staff treated us like celebrities and our special request for pool view room on a higher floor was accommodated. The staff greeted us like old friends and we were given flawless service. The staff, particularly Nello and Guiseppe were a delight to talk too (as was everybody, but we had a lot of dealings with these two in particular). The rooms are spotlessly clean, light, airy and well decorated. The prices at the hotel were comparable to those in Sorrento town so there was no massive price hikes for extra food and drink. The food is delicious and beautifully presented - nobody would go hungry on half board. The swimming pool is efficiently run by Antonio who is always on hand with fresh towels, grouping sunbeds together for families and putting up parasols.
I've read many complaints about the distance from Sorrento but that is laughable. There is a regular, reliable bus shuttle which operates from 7.50 am (to allow you to catch early ferries and bus trips) and it finishes at 11.15pm which is ample for most people. We love the fact that the hotel is 15 minutes drive out of Sorrento so you leave all the hustle and bustle and scooter noise behind when you return to the hotel.
My family and their partners all thought the place was perfect and are keen to return.
Overall, the hotel offers great value for money and I don't think the service the hotel provides can be beaten. Try it!!

Room Tip: We paid a small extra for superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shizzo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $132 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing