We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Grand Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I went to the Hotel Flora with my boyfriend for 10 nights returning back to England on 18th June.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and couldn't fault the hotel at all. The staff in the bar are very friendly and gave us lots of advice on places to visit.

We had a very nice room although it was on the side of the hotel. We could just about see the pool if we leaned out of the window. There is a main road at the front of the hotel but the sound proofing is quite good in the rooms. You have to pay for the use of the fridge in the room but the safe seems to be free of charge - well we didn't pay for it anyway. We had clean towels every day and I think the bedding was changed on a fairly regular basis.

You are supposed to pay for use of the sunbeds at the hotel pool but we never did. We only used the pool from late afternoon onwards anyway as we had so many other things to do. This is not really what I would call a sunbathing holiday. You can go to Spain if you want to do that sort of thing.

One word of warning - the Italian drivers are crazy!! We hired a car for 3 days and drove down the Amalfi Coast. They overtake, undertake and the motorbikes go round the hair pin bends on their back wheel. Quite an experience and one that I wouldn't have missed. Mind you, I didn't have to do the driving.

The only thing I would say if you are going to hire a car is that the hotel charge 15 Euros a day for parking so if you can find an alternative. We did - the garage across the road!!

We did all the recommended trips but did them on our own and not through the holidays reps. We visited Vesuvius, Pompeii, Capri and Ischia as well as driving down the Amalfi Coast and wandering around Sorrento and its beautiful harbours for a few hours. Ischia is a beautiful island. We spent the day in one of the Thermal Spas and it was very relaxing - although make sure you put suncream on as it gives you a false sense of security when you are sitting in water that is 35 degrees!!

We generally ate in the hotel but did eat at a lovely restaurant called La Lanterna at the recommendation of one of the other reviews on this website. The pizzas were out of this world. Also you must attend the Gala Dinner on a Wednesday night. Quite an experience and the food was very nice although you didn't have any choice. You just got what you were given.

Whilst we were in Sorrento Napoli got promoted to Serie A and that was quite an experience. They were letting off flares and fireworks in the petrol station opposite.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hotel Flora. We will certainly be returning there again sometime in the future.

Thanks to everyone at the Flora for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Liked — Location & Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Car Parking Charges
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RazzyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    114
    54
    29
    13
See reviews for
58
164
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Myself and my husband have just returned from Sorrento spending 7 nights at the Flora. The hotel it ideally situated close to the Plazza Tasso (about 10 min walk) train station (5 mins) and Marina Piccolo (15 min walk to boat trips).

Having read other reviews of the hotel, we requested a poolside room.
We were in a room on the ground floor in the corridor that lead to the pool. Big balcony but no view. Room was very quite though and a decient size, lots of wardrobe/drawer space and the bathroom was acceptable. Our room was not cleaned for 2 days which doesn't really bother us but the bathroom towels were taken and we had to ask reception for fresh ones. They also never re-stocked the loo roll ! (strange) Just helped ourselves from the public loos in the corridor.

Excellent size pool that gets the sun all day. No problem getting a sun bed and we only paid twice although we spent 4 whole days by the pool. If you get there mid morning, then the chap is too busy in the bar / cafe to get you to sign for it. Late afternoon the pool was taken over by italian children that are sometimes noisey. We heard some brits moaning about this but it didn't really bother us.

Despite being half board, we only ate dinner in the hotel twice. The restaurant has great views, and entertaining waiters but is very bright and has no atmosphere and no outside seating. The food was OK and there was a good selection of wine. We went to the weekly Gala evening on wednesday. Just one sitting and you have to share a tabIe which is fine. If your idea of "Gala evening" is listening to an Italian lady play Amarillo on high volume on a keyboard and clap while the waiters parade your melon and palma ham round the dining room - you'll enjoy it. When in Italy, I didn't expect to see pork with apple sauce as a main course. Breakfast wasn't great, usual pastries, scrambled eggs and sausages occasionally and ham and cheese. We were suprised there was only a limited selection of fresh fruit when you see whats on offer on the fruit stalls! And teh coffee
was naf! Also, as others have mentioned, bar prices a bit steep so you get a bit of a shock when you pay the bill. Don't bother with the food in the snack bar. Very poor.

If you do decide to eat out - we can highly recommend Emilia's at marina grande (the fishing port) lovely walk down a slight slope through lovely narrow typical italian streets about 15 mins from hotel, and the restaurant is right on the sea. If you get a table at the front, you get the odd splash! and the view accross the bay is amazing at sunset. Great fried fish and 5 euros for a litre of excellent local wine.

La Lanterna on a side street off Plazza Tasso is also good, seating outside on a slope, very romantic and excellent menu. Good wine again.

We only did two trips. Both independently following comments on this site about Thomson overcharging. Pompeii by train was really easy but
very hot! Hat and water a must. Nice to be able to come and go as you
please. We went to Capri by fast hydrofoil (20 mins). They get 1,000's of visitors a day and the queue for the tram to Ana capri was crazy. We just stayed in the harbour area, had a great boozy lunch and got the boat back. Nice relaxing day...slightly more expensive than Sorrento.

If you want a late drink, there is a small bar right outside the hotel, Jenny's Bar. The manager is really friendly and lots of locals
on scooters come and go - great people watching. Music is a bit full on sometimes but much better than the bar a few doors down that advertises "full english breakfast" where all the english tend to drink.

Overall, Sorrento was beautiful and romantic. Great people watching,
shops, Peroni, Limoncello, amazing restaurants. Can't wait to go back. Will be looking for a B&B though. You don't need half board - one of the best things about Italy is the food and wine so you want to go out and sample it - Not eat in teh same place every night !!

  • Liked — Great pool area, view from 5th floor restaurant, close to town centre, Jenny's Bar next door
  • Disliked — atmosphere in the restaurant, No B&B available, lack of loo roll
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerseyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Ourselves and another couple stayed in this hotel in June 2007, we all fell in love with Sorrento but unfortunately had problems with the Flora. When we booked this hotel we believed that given that the hotel is four star, the entire hotel would adhere to this rating, we were wrong! Our rooms on arrival can only be described as 2 star, our room was extremely small, tiny bathroom with shower (you cant actually open the door fully in bathroom without hitting the toilet), the general decor of the room was pitiful and only had a small window to the outside world, we booked through Thomsons and were not given the option of upgrading at the time of booking. When we voiced our concerns at reception, we were given a roll of the eyes which would imply anyone they put in the two rooms we were given generally come down and complain straight away as we did. After 3 days wrangling and being lied to we finally got a room change, our new rooms were a vast improvement however still not four star by any stretch of the imagination.
On a lighter note, the hotel itself is really good, we were half board and found the food to be just ok but nothing special, however this encourages you to eat out a couple of nights which is a must in Sorrento as there are so many amazing places to eat. The 5 euro charge for the sunlounger by the pool was a bit of a pain but after a while you could used to being fleeced and it doesnt overshadow your short time in this lovely town.

  • Liked — the location of the hotel is great with a lovely walk into the town
  • Disliked — the rooms...very poor!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank vichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Visited Sorrento at the end of May this year with our two children.
We enjoyed our holiday and there is certainly plenty to see. However,our rooms at the hotel were very poor for a 4 star hotel, they were extremely scruffy, the bathrooms had damp and mould around the walls, the bedlinen was not changed for the whole week and we looked out on an untidy maintenance area.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly but I don't think this makes up for the poor accomodation. We would go back to Sorrento but definately would not stay at the Grand Hotel Flora

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — terrible rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ell0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Myself and my girlfriend returned from an 11 night stay at the Flora last friday (15th June 07).

The entrance to the hotel is quite nice and it is overall very clean and tidy. I found the staff in the restaurant very friendly and pleasant and were one of the highlights of the hotel.

The food in the hotel (we went half board) is not amazing but still nice and you don't ever leave there hungry!

There are certain things i found to be slightly off that i believe people should be made aware of (which we werent) however.

For example the sun beds at the pool are at a cost of 5euros each per day, of which i found to be quite off being a resident at the hotel i didnt believe that you should have to pay.

If you were travelling as a family with children for example and wishing to spend a relaxing holiday by the pool it would cost you quite an amount on top of what you have already paid.

Also there doesnt tend to be any price lists readily available in the hotel and noone tells you what you are paying for items unless you specifically ask.
We were not aware that they charged everything to your room when we arrived and in the first few days ordered a few drinks etc with our meal along with some food at lunch and were quite shocked to find out the cost of things at the hotel. I would therefore advise people considering going here to not leave paying your bill untill the last day as you may get a shock.

The food at the restaurand on the 5th floor is nice as i have said, i wouldnt recommend the snacks at the pool bar though, i found them to be extremely overpriced and the portions you recieve quite pitiful to be honest.

I would advise people to shop around for food and drinks etc.
There is a pizza place just on the left as you walk towards the town centre from the hotel called Pizzeria De Franco, which is used by the locals and is very good value for money as well as being very nice!

The room in general is quite tidy but is also quite small. I would also be aware that a lot of the rooms are overlooking the main road into sorrento with a petrol station directly over the road, which can be quite noisy and is not the nicest view.

I would definately advise specifically requesting a pool view room which is the other side of the hotel, i believe they are at an extra cost but it must be better than looking at traffic on your balcony!

Overall my opinion on the hotel was okay, but edging towards dissappointing. I would not go back to the Flora again.

Sorrento though is a nice place to visit, if you are looking for nightlife however it is very quiet in terms of bars and clubs. i would also advise people to visit ravello while you are there as it is absolutely beautiful.

  • Liked — Staff in restaurant. Very friendly and approachable.
  • Disliked — The fact that they charge for Everything on top of what you have already paid to stay there. / The fact that they do not tell you prices of anything,
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebbz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel Flora, we booked this trip through Portland Holidays and we booked a room with a pool view, this costs a bit extra but was WELL worth it, this is because the hotel is situated on the very busy 'Corsa Italia' the main road that runs through Sorrento and faces a petrol garage, so not a very nice view. Our view took in, as well as the pool, vesuvius and the bay of Naples, it was lovely at night to see the twinkling lights from across the bay. so if you are booking independently ask for room 317.
Our room was a good size with a nice large mirrored wardrobe, sky sattelite television, 2 balconies and a nice size bathroom, and the towels and bed linen changed every day.
The resturant is on the 5th floor and the food was good, breakfast is buffet style and evening dinner is waiter service. The waiters are very friendly, making sure everything was to your satisfaction, and also there is a Gala dinner night on Wednesdays. The resturant has superb views and every night there was a beautiful sunset, so bring your camera as lots of people were out on the balcony clicking away.
The pool area was very clean and tidy and the bar there serves drinks all day and food at lunch time. You have to pay 5 euros for a sunbed which includes a big bath towel, but the deckchairs are free.
The Flora is situated very near the centre of Sorrento, a 10 minute walk along the road and you are in the heart of the town. I have never seen so many orange and lemon trees growing everywhere. There are so many shops and they stay open till late at night. As there is no entertainment in the hotel there are plenty of bars in the town and a good place to visit is the Foreigners Club situated just off the Piazza S Antonio, there is no charge to enter and the outside area has lovely views over the bay of Sorrento. Also a visit to the Theatre to see the Sorrento Musical is a must and worth every Euro. The little white land train is a nice ride around Sorrento and lasts about 30 mins
We did a few excursions as well and having read some of the previous reviews that you can do them independently, we decided that not knowing how reliable the buses and trains were, (a lot of the time there are sudden 'wildcat strikes' that can happen on the trains so you have to check with the station) that we would do the company tours.
Amalfi drive was very good that took in the town of ravello, unfortunately for us the heavens opened that day, but even the heavy downpour couldn't spoil the beauty of the place. Monte Cassino and the Cassino war graves, which was very moving, and the Casserta Palace which really reminded me of Hampton Court and has a huge garden so you have to choose to either go on the guided tour of the palace or walk the gardens. Capri was beautiful, see all the designer shops in capri town then head for the quieter Anacapri and take the cable chair up to Monte Solaro for some spectacuar views over the island. We also did Pompei and Mount Vesuvius, Pompei is always fasinating (its my second visit) but as its so huge you do need to be there for a whole day. Mount Vesuvius is quite a climb from the coach park, the locals offer you walking sticks on the way up, but expect payment on the way back. All our guides on the trips made every effort to make sure we were looked after and made the day run smoothly.
We will definately be recommending the Flora Hotel to everyone who wants to visit Sorrento and hopefully if we ever go back to this lovely town we will stay at the Flora.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, views, food, great location.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

This hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes from the main square of Sorrento.

The hotel looks really lovely at the entrance and the lobby/bar/pool look great. The room was a lot smaller than I was expecting (my Naples 3* was bigger) but it was clean and had a great shower.

The mini bar fridge is empty, they make you have plastic glasses if you want to drink in your room and you are not supposed to bring drinks in from outside - my one comment!

My husband thought he lost something as we were leaving and the staff were helpful with that however it did depend on who you got.

Sorrento is a fantastic to stay to visit Pompei, Capri and eat the best pizza in town!

Gorgeous views around random corners and very friendly locals in the bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — hte pool, the decor, the view from breakfast
  • Disliked — silly drinks rules, some unhelpful staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Mrs Teee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Flora

Property: Grand Hotel Flora
Address: Corso Italia 248 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Flora Sorrento
Hotel Flora Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing