We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Flora

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed at the Flora in July 2006. I always read reviews posted before booking & they were precise on this one. We had booked a pool facing room purely due to the comments relating to roadside rooms. The rooms were a bit small but clean & had all amenities necessary & besides, i wasn't planning to spend my whole holiday in the room!
The food was lovely & the waiters provided excellent customer service. The views in the restaurant are incredible. Eat later on, if you want it a bit less noisy as guests with children ate when they opened.
The pool was spacious although if you can't sit in the sun (as my fiance can't) there are no umbrellas to act as shade & the top end of the deck becomes full rather quickly (where the trees are).
The Piazza is 5-10 minutes walk (turn right out of hotel) & has a vibrating atmosphere. My fiance is Italian & we were lucky to be in Sorrento to watch the World Cup Final, I have never experienced anything like it! It was amazing. There is an amazing ice-cream parlor about 5 minutes walk on the left hand side of the road (as you walk to the piazza) & a small department store (same side as i/c parlor) which sells food, sun cream etc. If you want to buy alcohol,beers, wine etc, its cheap there. One thing I loved was that there were no street hagglers trying to drag you into their shop. We were able to browse at our own pace.
We didn't sunbathe on the bathing platforms- be warned, they charge 15-20 Euros for one sunbed hire! The hotel charges 5 euros although we only paid once.
Take a trip on the Amalfi coast & Capri, its breathtaking, we booked our trips with Thomson except Capri - do that yourself, MUCH cheaper.To find the port,ask at reception, they have timetables.Take the single chair lifts right to the top of Ana Capri, well worth the views(my fiance proposed to me there!) Also, when you arrive at Capri, its worth taking the funicular, don't walk!
Overall, I would stay at the hotel again, a good central location, friendly staff & it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HeidiD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    52
    29
    11
See reviews for
52
148
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed from the 13th to the 20th of October with a Thomson's package which was really good value as I booked it about 5 weeks before. I found other people's reviews really helpful.

Our room was at the side of the hotel so we got a lot of noise from the road on the balcony and it was quite windy at that time of the year. It would be worth getting a room overlooking the pool. Our room was a bit scruffy and needed a paint but was clean and a good size.

I agree with others the location of the hotel is really good for walking into town and for the railway to Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Pompii. We went by hydrofoil to Capri (about 24 euros return). The chairlift up the mountain for 6.30 euros was brilliant, the views were great. Don't bother taking Thomson's overpriced trips, it is really easy to find your way around. Get on the Circumvesuvius it is really cheap, 6 euros return to Naples where you can see the Archaelogical Museum, brilliant! You can't get lost, the line starts in Sorrento and ends in Naples!

One word of warning. Even in October the mossies were out and about and we got a few bites. I would recommend spray, an electric mosquito plug-in and something for the bites!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Road outside a bit noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Take mosquito repellant
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DumfriesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2006

We are just back from a week in Sorrento. The weather was great, although a bit chilly at night, but expected for this time of year. I am always a bit weary of the hotels that come with a package holiday, but this one was really good! The Foyer is very grand with a huge, floral light as it's focal point. The reception staff were very friendly and although not the most knowledgeable - they gave all the advice and tips that they could, complete with brochures and timetables. We arrived around 8.45pm and told us that they would take care of our lugage and to make our way to the dining room to make sure we had something to eat. Rooms are an okay size - very clean with excellent service from the maids (they noticed we were chilly at night and made up our beds with extra blankets!). Our balcony faced onto the back and onto the swimming pool and we could also see a bit of the sea and it was very quiet. We weren't really planning on eating in the hotel as hotel food on a package is, I have found, generally rotten! However, the food in this hotel is okay. We found something to eat most nights (sometimes the 'Prima Patti' first course of pasta is enough!) and the service from the waiting staff is excellent. We ate there a total of 4 nights out of the 7 (simply because we were elsewhere and pushed for time) All speak very good english and if you try a bit of italian on them they are very appreciative! There is also a 'gala dinner' on the Wednesday which is worth it -4 courses of lovely freshly made food. I was very impressed with this hotel and I would definately recommend it to others and if I ever find myself in Sorrento again, I would go back and stay here. One thing that is worth pointing out are the excursions - especially if you book through Thomson or Portland Direct. Don't book them with your rep - they are a rip off! There are plenty of buses to Positano and Amalfi and there are Tourist buses you can catch with a tour guide on Corso Italia (the main street) for a fraction of the price. Also, we met a couple who did a Pompei trip with them and they were only there for 2 hours! We did it ourselves by train (the Circumvesuviana line is 200 metres from the hotel on the other side of the street) it cost only 3 Euros return for the train and 11 euros for admission and we spent all day there - a saving of 30 euro's each!! Also, if you are planning on hiring a car - do it yourself. The reps charged 70 euros (an additional 20 if you wanted insurance). Europcar (who the reps use) which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel charge 55 euros - and that includes insurance, although the staff here are really sour faced. There is also an Avis very near by who charge the same rate (no extra charge for insurance). Also, don't bother with the 'Welcome' meeting - ithey take you to a Theatre that is a 15 minute walk away and all it is 40 minutes of slides of various places around Sorrento and it's main purpose is to SELL!

  • Liked — Service and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book any excursion with your rep - they are only interested in commission!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank andare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2006

This was the first time I've ever booked a package holiday (though Thomson's), and I have to say I wasn't disapointed at all.

The hotel, while not quite as plush as the pictures - but then they never are - was friendly, clean and in a very convenient location.

Our room was quite large and fresh, with a tiled floor, a bath and shower, and as we were on the corner we had not one, but two sea facing balconies.

Our large double bed turned out to be two singles shoved together, but I think this tends to be pretty standard practice and it was very comfortable with good white sheets and a throw. The weather was so warm we didn't need anything else.

My husband and I are pretty big foodies, and I think it says a lot that on our seven night visit, we only ate out once at night. The food was excellent quality, of a good variety and it was certainly plentiful. The menu changed every night, with four choices for starters and mains, and always featured a vegetarian option (which I had on several occasions, just because it looked good!). The wine was also reasonably priced.

My only complaint with the restaurant was that because they're turning the tables around so quickly, it felt a bit rushed, and the restaurant itself, while having a great view, lacked in atmosphere due to the harsh over head lighting. It had the aura of a canteen. I think if you go in the summer, when it's naturally lit, then this won't be such a big deal.

The gala dinner was good fun, but we were about the youngest people there - and we're in our late twenties and early thirties respectively!

The pool was a bit on the chilly side in October, despite the warm weather, but we braved it anyway, and it was nice and clean. Although there was a five euro charge per day for sun loungers, the deck chairs were free and very comfy!

Incidental charging is probably my big complaint - we were charged around ten euro to use the safe, and then another ten to use the fridge, which then didn't actually keep things cold. I guess this is why package prices were so low!

Reception were very helpful with maps, and booking us our table at Il Buco, a fabulous Michelin starred restuarant twenty mins walk away. Il Buco is highly recommended if you feel like splurging. Also recommended is a trip to the Marina Grande.

Last piece of advice - don't book any organised trips. They cost a bomb and they're really cheap and easy to do yourself. A return trip to Positano on the local bus service was around 2 Euro. However, the organised trup was 23 euro each!

Likewise for Capri and Ischia - just walk along the Corso Italia for ten mins until you hit the train station. All the local bus services terminate there - you can get a bus to the Marina Piccolo (for the ferries and hydrofoils) or a bus to the Marina Grande (for sun bathing, and good bars and restaurants).

Oh, and watch out for the mosquitoes. I was bitten half to death!

Pluses - the location, the friendly service and the food
Minuses - the mosquitoes and all the extra charges

  • Liked — the food and the view
  • Disliked — the extra charges
  • Tips/Secrets — don't get a sun lounger, just grab a free deckchair!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank fire_sermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

We were slightly disappointed with our room on arrival, as it didn't match up to the 4 star pictures on the website and brochure. You're greeted with this impressive opulent foyer, only to go through a not-so well-kept corridor into another building. Although it faced the back (away from the very busy street) it wasn't part of the main hotel and we could see (from views from our balcony) that other rooms were far grander. And we hardly had a sea/pool view (which we paid for) either, we were facing into private apartments and next to a rather noisy nursery.

Have to whole-heartingly agree with comments about service. All members of staff here make you feel very special, which makes up for the fact the room was a bit of a disappointment. Food was nice (although didn't appear to cater very well for vegetarians) and wine prices reasonable. We didn't often feel the need to eat out.

The pool is nice and clean. The Jacuzzi/spa is right at the top hidden away on the decking. I think we were the only one that used it.

Very close to the station (which is handy for Naples and Pompeii) and Sorrento will not disappoint - wonderful place. If you can manage to get down there, visit Marina Grande on an evening, its lovely.

  • Liked — The friendly waiters
  • Disliked — 3 star rooms!
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a room in the main hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StuAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2006

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Flora in September 2006 for 2 weeks. The Hotel has a lovely big foyer and huge pool.

The rooms are lovely and clean and have all you need but I think that for a 4 star rated hotel you would expect something a little more luxurious. The shower cubicle was tiny and the water pressure was rubbish and often the shower went cold.

The restaurant was nice. The waiters were friendly. We didn't think much to eating in the restaurant. The food was good but there was no atmosphere. We would recommend going for Bed and Breakfast if you are going to Sorrento as there are so many lovely places to eat. Especially if you stay at the Flora as it is only a 10 min walk to the Piazza Tasso. We ended up eating in the restaurant only 6 times so it was a bit of a waste of money for us to go half board! We didn't go to the Gala Dinner as every other night there were 4 choices for each course from the menu and there was only one choice for the Gala Dinner.

Definitely try and get a room at the back. We stayed in the annex building and were on the 5th floor. We had a beautiful view over the bay.

Don't go to Capri on an organised tour. We walked to the Marina Piccolo (15-20 mins or you can get a bus down) and got a boat ourselves and saved over half what the tour company were charging. There are plenty of boats and they are really quick.

For Sea-food lovers a visit to the Marina Grande is a must. It is slightly further along from the Marina Piccolo. We sat there for hours watching the fishing boats coming in an out and there were some lovely restaurants.

We went to Jenny's Bar which was next to the hotel most nights on our way back from town. A lovely friendly bar. Good prices and the locals use it too. You should also try the Fauno Bar in the Piazza Tasso. A bit pricy but worth it to sit and people watch.

Overall, Sorrento is excellent and the Flora is a good hotel but if you are a food lover don't go half board and get yourself down to the town centre for dinner!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Maids igoring "Do not disturb" sign. Shower cubicle too small
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go half board. Gorgeous restaurants in the town centre.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SmithS&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

We booked direct with Portland and travelled out the Friday after the bomb threats had taken effect on UK airports. We didn't experience any problems at check in or arrival and infact arrived 1/2 hour before we expected to!
I'd looked up on your site before travelling about the hotel, and must say everything was as I expected. The food was great. We wer half board and the food was so enjoyable that although we'd planned to eat out in the evenings a few times, we only did it the once on our trip to Positano. The rooms were clean and pleasantly fitted out. The "floral" light fittings OTT but nonetheless the Italian way. The hotel staff were friendly but not in your face. We had a really nice break. The only slight aggravation and thats probably down to peak season, is that the pool area could get really busy.
Would go again, would recommend it.
We were only there for a week so did the organised trips and were more than happy with what we got, value for money.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank DonnaReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Miramare
Hotel Residence Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Flora

Property: Grand Hotel Flora
Address: Corso Italia 248 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Flora Sorrento
Hotel Flora Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing