We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rather Dated but Views to Die For”
Review of Settimo Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settimo Cielo
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed November 15, 2013

When trying to find a hotel in Sorrento we took the advice of a lot of Trip Advisor friends and decided to stay here booking a room with a view!

On arrival our initial impression of the hotel was worrying but once in our room and seeing the clean beds/linen and an absolutely amazing view of the Bay of Naples we decided that the right choice had been made. We were not intending to stay in the hotel much so this was ideal and a good price.

Just a short walk down the hill (bit steep and narrow but fine) to the town of Sorrento we found many restaurants and bars and a great atmosphere and well worth spending time walking round the little back street shop.

We took three trips during our 4 night stay and would recommend the train to Pompei, Boat ride to Capri (our little tour guide Giovanni was brilliant and worth paying for a guided tour) and a trip to Positano (would recommend boat back rather than walking back up the hillside!)

We managed to travel on public transport which works out so much cheaper. Its so easy getting the coach to and from airport and boats and trains to other locations. You don't need a car and probably wouldn't recommend one as the roads are a nightmare!

Would recommend leaving hotel in the morning and aim to stay out all day as one walk up the hill to hotel a day was quite enough!

Room Tip: Always book a room with a view. Balcony not required.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IssyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Settimo Cielo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 531 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Brilliantly located on Via Capo directly on a cliff overlooking Marina Grande, your bedroom windows and balcony(all rooms) afford you the entire sweep of the Sorrento's coast line with Mt Vesuvius a distant looming back drop. If you never leave the hotel to see the many sites that make Sorrento a perfect base location, this family owned and run hotel will make your travels to Italy more than worth while. If time permits stay on your balcony one day just to see how the sunlight (or storm clouds) comes over the mountains and plays on the sea. Watch Cruise ships, ferry boats and fishing boats float into and out of port. If this isn't beauty enough, don't fail to walk up to the hotel after an evening meal in town. The views of lighted cliffs, dark gorges that plunge to the sea and the string of twinkling lights that run around the Bay of Naples, will bring you back to the aptly named Settimo Cielo.( Italian for Seventh Heaven.)

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and views. This hotel will be quieter than other grander options on Via Ca...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We largely based our choice of this hotel on the positive reviews on tripadvisor and were glad that we ignored the small number of negative ones. Small downsides were a large pillar in the middle of the bedroom, a dodgy telly (but who wants to watch it with such a fantastic view?) and the walls are not too soundproof. However the welcome and hospitality from the family owners, the view, the cleanliness, the pool and the bar amply made up for these. Breakfast was more than adequate for our needs. A gentle walk into town took about 20 minutes and about the same time down to Marina Grande where we really enjoyed a snack of fried anchovies and chips at the fishermen's cooperative café.
On our one wet day we just sat on the balcony watching the boats and ferries in the bay with a bottle of Sorrento white wine (just €7.50 from the bar). For trips out the bus service is great with a day ticket at €7.60. Hydrofoils to Capri are a bit pricey at about €18 each way.
Others on our charter trip stayed at down town hotels with no views and the limitation of half board rather than sampling the excellent restaurants.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: A balcony is essential.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelH694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is actually built on cliffside and the elevators and some rooms face the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius in the distance, but not TOO distant, for Mt. Vesuvius is still very obvious in the pictures we took on site. To get to this hotel, you first have to drive through horrendous downtown Sorrento traffic (at least, it was horrendous on the Sunday night we were there). Free parking, difficult to get into the small parking area. Has a bar, no restaurant, but you can call for take out from local restaurant. Uses 3 round prong electrical plugs. Some uphill walking required if you do not have rental car. Staff are very helpful. Breakfast of many fresh fruits, eggs, croissants, juices. Furnishings are basic. Clean. Get a room facing the Bay. Forget about TV. We came to the hotel late one night, and awoke the next morning and gasped in delight at the unbelievable view.

Room Tip: Endure the traffic to enjoy this most wonderful view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drjShepherdstown_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

In June 2012 we arrived to a warm welcome at this family run hotel We had one of the larger rooms with a balcony of equal size. The rooms offer superb views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius and is a comfortable 15 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento. Breakfast is excellent and again we had super service from the gentleman waiter who worked in the dining room.
Unfortunately on the first day I wife picked up Norovirus and was ill for three days. Papa, as we started to call him, his daughter, son and the waiter went that extra mile for the next three days helping me look after her. Nothing was too much trouble. My wife no sooner recovered than I picked the virus up from her but fortunately was only ill for a day.

This is a 5 Star Hotel when it comes to customer care and we are looking forward to our return to Sorrento when we will definitely be staying at this hotel and we would highly recommend it to all.

Anna & Richard
Eden Combe - UK

Room Tip: Difficult as we all have our own ideas of what a good room is but we were more than happy with our a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard_BJ2346ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The most important aspect of this hotel is it's position. A fifteen minute walk up hill from the centre of Sorrento, but well worth it as the views from all the rooms are wonderful. Insulated from any road noise as the hotel is built into the cliff and the rooms are below the road level. Our room had a balcony and we were able to sit there after a long day's sightseeing with a glass of wine - taking in the marvellous views across the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius as a back-drop. Views from the lovely pool deck were also superb.

The next important thing is that this hotel is family run and all of them could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Our only small complaint was that the rooms need some extra drawer space and a cupboard in the bathroom for toiletries(particularly when staying as we did for 8 days).

The hotel only serves breakfast but there are a couple of good restaurants a little further up the hill ((Verdemare is really good) as well as many in the nearby Marina Grande.

We would recommend this hotel highly in particular because of the "hands on" management.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are well worth the small additional cost
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had read some of the reviews on here, and were a little worried. We pulled up and the hotel doesn't do itself any favours with the outside looking rather shabby. We went downstairs via lift to reception and were immediately given a lovely welcome. We checked in with no fuss whatsoever and made our way to our room. Going along the corridor the wall is part of the cliffside, and it is gorgeous. Still we opened the door to our room slowly, remembering some of the reviews we'd read. We needn't have bothered to be worried.!. The room is basic - there's no other word for it. Tiled floors, tired furniture, but this is the only hotel we have been where we opened the curtains - and gasped! - in delight!. The view simply took our breath away. Out of this world!. We also found a bottle of wine and two wine glasses in our room with compliments of The Management as it was our Anniversary. What a lovely gesture.

The rooms, although old fashioned were immaculate. The towels were the whitest I have ever seen!. The breakfast was absolutely fine - continental - croissants, ham, cheese, bread, toast,cereal, coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, muffins. What more do you need?? If you want a full fry up - then go to Spain!.

The family who own this hotel are lovely, friendly, helpful and so welcoming. They go out of their way to speak with you each time you go through reception.

The rooms were cleaned every day - fresh clean towels every day and I'm sure our beds were changed several times in one week. The floors in the corridors are washed every day - and they gleam. You simply cannot fault this hotel for location, cleanliness or friendly helpful staff. Well Done Settimo Cielo!.

For some people who had commented about the small Tv's, broken remotes - Why??? Why on earth would you want to watch a TV when you have views from your window - overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.

We would not hesitate to come back here again, but would hope for a bigger balcony. Apart from that - Wow, a great hotel and a holiday we will never forget.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie060908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settimo Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settimo Cielo

Address: Via Capo 27, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $128 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Settimo Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to take in all the beauty of the sorrento coast is to stay at the Hotel Settimo Cielo.If you are coming to relax simply sit back and enjoy the Settimo Cielo Pool, Solarium, Gardens.There are steps to the Marina Grande below the hotel where you can take a dip in the wonderfully clear blue sea.Other Facilities include Private Parking & Lift. All rooms have Satelite TV, air conditioning, telephone and hairdryers, FREE WIFI . . .DIRECT BOOKING FROM OUR WEBSITE:* FREE PARKING * LONG STAY DISCOUNT* FAMILY & GROUP DISCOUNT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Settimo Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settimo Cielo Sorrento
Settimo Cielo Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing