We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An average hotel just a few steps from the train station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Nice
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 257, 80067, Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An average hotel just a few steps from the train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The main advantage of this hotel is the location. It is located just a few steps from the train station in Sorrento. As a result, traveling to any place on the Amalfi coast is a breeze. The bus that goes along the coast also starts in front of the Circumvesuviana train station - and staying in this hotel helped us get to anywhere with no trouble. Also, Sorrento is a small town, and the market place and restaurants are all within walking distance from here.

The room was ok, and the window did not shut out the noise coming from the piazza below. This was a concern for us. The shower cubicle was too small, with no place to even turn around. No complaints on the beds. The room was clean, and there was a lift to go to the higher floors which helped as we had heavy luggage.

The breakfast was a huge disappointment. First because, the lady who keeps the breakfast hall was far from friendly. As most of the items were over, she showed no interest in replenishing those items. Instead, she let the guests finish whatever what left over in the breakfast buffet before filling up any dish, and that too reluctantly. This was definitely not professional. Also, she gave us some frozen donuts, which didn't taste fresh at all. My stomach was upset after the first day's breakfast, and after that I stuck to the cereals and coffee only. This experience let down my impression of the hotel by a large extent. Either the hotel has to improve its breakfast or stop it completely - this would at least not leave a bad taste in the guests

The rooftop of the hotel is a nice place to relax, and also gives a nice view of the piazza below. There is a good restaurant next to the hotel where we had most of our dinners, where the food and service both were quite good.

If you are visitng Sorrento on budget, this is a ok place to stay close to the train station - but skip the breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    140
    76
    14
    15
See reviews for
28
130
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really nice hotel. The father and daughter are really friendly and very helpful. Rooms are cute with a good view, and heaps of TV channels :) perfect location a minute's walk from the train station. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in October and after two nights we were knackered after 2 sleepless nights! We knew that the hotel is located at the main street but because usually we pick this kind of hotels for the city breaks we thought that we could manage some noise. But we didn't! All day and night the noise of cars, moppets, screaming people (the pizzeria is just next door), the youth demo in the morning, the chain saw noise till 11pm - it was too much for us! It's a good hotel for 1-2 nights but not longer.
Our room wasn't cleaned, especially the bathroom was quite filthy. The pillows were so hard and uncomfy that you couldn't sleep well at all.
The breakfast would be OK if not the most disgusting coffee or rather milky water we have ever had! After 2 days we decided to have breakfast at the nearby pasticceria.
If not the noise, our stay could be pleasant.
The only good thing about the hotel it is location.
I would never recommended it to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

ross on wye England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is a near the train and bus stations which is great when you have just come back from a long day out. Rooms are quieter on the back. Shower is small but OK. Wallpaper is peeling from the wall. Great roof terrace to watch the world go by. We watched floods one day, student demo the next and then one of the Palm Trees blue over. Very central, we found it clean and tidy and very helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertjrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was basic, but clean, comfortable and centrally located in Sorrento. Staff were friendly enough, and check-in/out were a breeze. Security was a bit of an issue. The hotel insists that you leave your room key behind the front desk when you go out. However, there's no security in place to ensure it is only given to back you. The staff do not ask your name, for ID or anything. This may be cause for concern, particularly if you have valuables in your room.
Good value overall, save for security concern.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Given the meaning of the word in English we found the name of the hotel quite ironic. As we did the numerous "no smoking" posters around the hotel. We arrived to a surly female receptionist who may have had a language barrier with us, however made no efforts whatsoever to make us feel welcome. Then we went to our room which reeked of cigarette smoke. We chose to stay out as much as possible and move on ASAP. The breakfast was also poor.. If you can't drink coffee in Italy there is a problem. Meanwhile we discovered a nice guy on the reception later. It's a shame we didn't have him greet us upon arrival... I suspect our experience would have been a bit different!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha-Rose-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The overall experience was pleasant. It is not a four or three star hotel, so please do not expect much of anything. The room is the tiniest I have had so far for two people. It was late September and chilly, so one blanket in a room was not sufficient. Front desk had one extra so they were able to accommodate us. Everything was old, the wallpaper was peeling, a little worn out. The bathroom was tiny, and the shower was not easier to maneuver. I am an average build female (5”7), and had to uncomfortably touch the shower walls…there were no shelves to put a soap or shampoo, but the hotel did supply them. The breakfast was plain: butter/jam, cereal, bread, croissants, juices and coffee machine. It was included in the price, which helped a lot, but don't expect a warm welcome. The older "breakfast" lady did not look like she liked people. If you are not picky, you will be satisfied and filled. We were on floor #4, and our room was next to the roof terrace, which was nice. You can spend evenings there and enjoy the beauty of the city. Regarding the location: it is located a block from the bus/train station and in a middle of everything including a busy interaction. We heard nothing and slept like babies. There was no noise from the street (our room faced backyard). Just once we were startled by fireworks and people walking down the stairs in the hallway. This was the best option for us, and we did not have to walk more than 5-10 minutes from either the station or the port or any other needed location (supermarket, clothing, pharmacy…). You cannot beat the price. Pictures will follow shortly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#30 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#76 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#59 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Linda
Hotel Linda
#83 of 98 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#44 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice

Property: Hotel Nice
Address: Corso Italia 257, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nice 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing