We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is really is a Nice hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nice
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It is really is a Nice hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

In terms of location you cannot get better. It is just off the main drag (Tasso Sq). We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony.

The hotel was clean, the staff were lovely and the aircon worked well.

If you are planning a lively trip to Sorrento then this would be an ideal location. We ate out every night and then came back to the hotel v late after enjoying a few lemoncellos!

The only thing I feel that I have to mention is the breakfast. There was only one morning of our 5 night stay where we tried the breakfast. It is only served from 8 till 9.30. I had one look and walked out again. This to me is not really a big deal as there are so many great places nearby. I would suggest that perhaps they either improve their offering at breakfast or stop it. To be honest for what we paid to stay in this location I wasn't really bothered about it.

The sun terrace was nice too. We enjoyed sitting there before going our for dinner.

There is a supermarket a few doors up - ideal for getting water etc.

I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    159
    85
    15
    16
See reviews for
31
148
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here in April - our second visit. Once again it was great value for money - clean rooms & so well located for the train, busses & town centre. Reception staff were friendly & helpful, and the roof terrace was lovely to watch the world go by from with a glass of wine. Only downside was that the free wi fi reception was really weak in our room, but good in other places of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c3rabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Wexford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location and we were delighted to see it when we got off the coach from Naples-no taxi fares! 2 minutes from the coach and train station and a lovely walk down the street to the main square.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the main street, and contrary to other travellers complaining about the noise, we didn't find it a problem at all. It was great to be able to sit out with a drink and watch the world go by. The rooftop patio with its tables, chairs and sunloungers is also a lovely place to relax.
The rooms are very clean with lots of storage space,and air conditioning. We found the staff at reception to be very friendly and helpful although the dining room staff were miserable looking and never raised a smile!
The breakfast was typical Italian which meant you did not feel at all full-but that tends to be the same all over italy!
Considering this hotel is only classed as 1star, we were very impressed and would definitely recommend it as being excellent value for money

Room Tip: We loved our room at the front with a balcony overlooking the street and with the doors closed we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is really well situated in Sorrento, just a couple of minutes from the train station which is also where most of the buses stop, and five minutes from Piazzo Tasso, the main square. We had one room for a family of four and the children got a proper bed each. The room was at the back of the building so not much view but was really quiet. The roof terrace is a great place to read a book or watch the world go by on the street below! All the staff are very pleasant and welcoming and the breakfast is fine for getting you going! We stayed here for six nights and everything was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Assuming you are reading this review because you are looking for well-priced accommodation in an excellent location in Sorrento then you are looking in the right place. Hotel Nice is rather a “no-frills” hotel, but the rates reflect that, and the location is a bonus. My room had a very comfortable bed, rather compact bathroom, in-room safe and a TV with more channels than I could count – including CNN, BBC World and a few other non-Italian channels.
The hotel is a few metres from the station entrance, and the bus from Naples Airport terminates between the station entrance and the hotel (about 100 metres away). That’s also where you can catch the bus that runs along the Amalfi coast. There is a supermarket a few doors down as you exit the hotel and turn left.
The hotel rate does include breakfast, but its not the best quality – juices that are almost undrinkable and mediocre cereals. The coffee is OK, and there is an eccentric toasting device for the supplied bread.
The rooms can be a bit noisy – I was unlucky that another guest had brought their dog, and it banged on the door whilst they left it to go out for the evening. Several of the guests mentioned this to the staff (I think I saw 5 different people on reception in 3 days), but we were met with a shrug as the noise continued on subsequent nights.

Room Tip: Make sure that fellow guests haven't brought noisy pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our group needed 3 doubles and two singles for three nights and were very pleased with our accommodations at Hotel Nice. It is near the train station and not far from the central piazza, making it easy to catch the bus to the Amalfi Coast or stroll the main street. Breakfast was just fine for starting the day. We loved the rooftop patio. Only one room faced the street and with the a/c on, street noise was minimal. Free wifi worked well in all except one room, but was accessible from the rooftop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is about two minutes walk from the railway station, along the main high street and next to cafes, a supermarket and other amenities. Very clean hotel, and lovely room terrace for sitting out on with views across to the mountains. Breakfast is a bit basic - cereals, toast and mini Danishes but the coffee machine was a bit temperamental and the fruit juice tastes watered down. The tea is much better and the hotel provides teapots. The lift is a bit jerky so used the stairs when we could, All in all though we were very happy with our stay and the staff were friendly. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: First floor is better as leads on to the roof terrace. Back rooms are nice as they are quiet and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittenandTinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alambra
Alambra
#90 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice

Property: Hotel Nice
Address: Corso Italia 257, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nice 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing