We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
293
338
120
34
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
293
338
120
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool piazza tasso the main square train station evening meal free safe starters and mains perfect location good size bit dated risotto half board few minutes walk buffet style riviera travel rooms are large waiter service
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 803 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Just returned from here and had a fantastic time - the hotel staff are a credit to the hotel and made us feel very welcome from the day we arrived. Rooms were always cleaned to a high standard and the daily food choices were excellent. With a party of 6 which included a disabled person and two fussy children - we should have been hard to please - however the reception staff went out the way to ensure we had a wheelchair available. The restaurant staff were excellent actively encouraging the children to speak a little Italian. We don’t normally return to same hotels but will be back to Hotel Cesare Augusto Sorrento

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank simonwoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in a good central location with easy walking access to central Sorrento and was spotlessly clean. The staff were very courteous and the restaurant staff were particularly friendly and welcoming . The rooms were a good size with air conditioning.
Our balcony was unfortunately on the side of the hotel on the busy road so we didn't really want to sit out on it. The one thing that let the hotel down in our opinion was the food. Breakfast was generally good, although fresh juice rather than squash type juice would have been much better. The evening meal starters were generous and generally the best part of the meal. However the main courses over the course of the week were limited, quite basic and sometimes bland. There was generally plenty of choice from the dessert table though , including fresh fruit.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

We stayed at Cesare Augusto for 1 week end of July. We were attending a wedding in Sorrento and made it into a holiday, finding it through jet2.
Our room was on third floor on the left hand side of hotel, this was perfect for us as we had the sun on the balcony late afternoon and the sunsets, so we would have a drink and relax on there before dinner. The little supermarket shop just few minutes walk sells large beers for 1euro50! The roads a little noisy but you don't hear it with the balcony doors closed.
Location is brilliant, 5 mins to the main square and as everyone said the rooms are very clean with fresh towels every day.
The pool was great, we spent a few days relaxing round there with 5 euro beers round the pool bar. Views were incredible, even in peak season managed to get a lounger even if they weren't positioned by the pool.

The hotel is right by the train station and bus station so we took a train to Pompeii and a bus to positano easily.

Dinners were simple and delicious but we did eat out a couple of times to sample some of the amazing pizzerias in sorrento. Would have been nice to have a little background music in the restaurant as it is deathly silent especially if you go late when most ppl have left.

The walls are quite thin, so bit noisy in mornings with people in rooms next you and cleaners above but was only a couple of days we wanted a lie in (after the wedding!)

All in all a wonderful stay and would go back, perfect for relaxing and basing yourself for trips in the beautiful Italian surroundings!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank MuddyPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

Stayed here for 7 nights from 31st July, on arrival we were met by a cheerful and helpful receptionist, the reception area was spotlessly clean and as we found out so was the rest of the hotel, our bedroom was spacious and very comfortable, the air conditioning creating a lovely cool temperature. At meal times you were always met with a good morning or good evening by restaurant staff who were absolutely wonderful, hard working, charming and always had a smile on their face. The options on the evening menu were always available and if one of the main meals were created using frozen it was written on the menu saying so, the soups and pasta starters were delicious ( I cant comment on the other starters having not had them but they did look nice ), the main meals again were delicious. The domestic staff always spoke when you saw them and the room was cleaned everyday.The hotels position is ideal, being a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento and a 5/10 minute walk to rail and bus stations. The pool is on the hotel roof and has lovely views over the bay, a bar being available which serve drinks and has a food menu,the bar area has covered seating both inside and outside. I wouldnt hesitate in booking this hotel again we thought it was great.The hotel was booked a part of a package holiday through Jet2 Holidays

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djackson59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

The hotel is a 5min walk from the main square and the train/bus station - so if perfectly located.
Rooms and space for storage is good as is the size of the bed and the bathroom.
Rooms come with a balcony - again a nice touch.
Didn't use the restraunt, but the drinks prices on the sixth fllor bar and very reasonable
The pool is reasonably small - but there are enough deck chairs to go round, and an amazing view of the bay from the area.
Breakfast is excellent
Minor points for imporvement - air conditioning is a bit weak so whiclst the rooms are cooled down - they don't cool down quickly and often remain warm. The balcony for the room could be equipped with a light
Would dtrongly recommend this hotel though

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank _rarmstrong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews