We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2006

This was a grea find! located between the train station and the main square-easy to walk to both. We used this as our home base to see the Amalfi Coast-could easily get to Positano, Amalfi, Pompeii and Naples. The room were surprisingly large and very clean. The little balcony was great. Breakfast was just ok, but it was convenient to have it right there before you go out for the day. We would definately go back again.

  • Liked — locsation
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniversary37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    205
    91
    26
    11
See reviews for
114
231
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We have just returned from two weeks at this hotel and were more than sad to leave. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, it is set on a main road but once your balcony doors are closed at night you really cant hear a thing, I am a light sleeper and it didn't bother me at all. The rooftop swimming pool offers beautiful views of the bay of Naples and the surrounding mountains. There are plenty of deck chairs and plenty of room to sun bath and its quite peaceful up on the roof too. The location is excellent as you are a minutes stroll from the main square the Piazza Tasso without being right on top of it. The meals were very good, breakfast offers a selection of cereal's, fruit and the usual continental style of bread, ham, cheese etc but there is also a selection of scrambled and boiled eggs and sausages and sometimes bacon so certainly enough to get you started for the morning. The evening meal was great, several different choices for your 1st and 2 nd course and puddings were buffett style, the food was always hot and if you got it and didn't like it they were more than happy to change it for you. There was always water on the table which was free of charge, i think it was just tap water but we all drank it and had no ill effects!! Otherwise there is a bar service which you can pay at the end of your stay. We were here for 2 weeks and never had the same menu twice. The staff are nice enough, they aren't super super friendly but they are attentive and courteous and a couple of the waiters are quite cheery and cheeky!! But the service was very good here and nearly everyone spoke English. There is quite a bit of information about Sorrento and things to do there up on the different tour operator boards which was useful. There isn't any night enterainment here though - expect on a Wedneday they had a wonderful guitarist in to play who was very good. The towels are changed twice a day too here which was nice and we asked for extra pillows and there were no problems as the chambermaids understood perfectly. The train station is only a shaort walk away too and you can get the train to Pompei, Naples, Herculaneum, and a few other resorts along the way from here. Before you go up the steps into the actual station though there is a little kiosk - looks like a train carriage - and they are called To Too Trains and they do the trips at much much lower prices than the tour operators, they have the different deals up in English so you can decide but they are very helpful if you ask them any questions. We booked Pompei and Mount Vesuvius here and it was excellent value. Dont do Pompei & Mt Vesuvious in the same day though as it can be pretty hard going in Pompei if you walk all the way round it - more so because of the heat really, double that with the trek up the volcano and you would have be amazingly fit to cope. Esmeralda at the Pompei train station for To Too Trains is delightful very friendly. Back in Sorrento there is loads to do, just a wander around the amazing cobbled streets is great and for beautiful cakes and a drink at the end of the evening try the Primavera Bar just on the corner as yu go out of the hotel the back way, its family run and they are the nicest family i have ever meet and Ivan who you will hear calling you in for a Cappocino speaks perfect English and it a lovley man, tell him Brendan and his family sent you!!!! Overall a lovley holiday in a great hotel and i cant really fault it all. Feel free to email me if you have any specific questions or want and more info at jo2975@hotmail.co.uk

  • Liked — Clean and location
  • Disliked — there are quite a few steps if you exit the back way or a slope if you exit the front
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Jops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed here for the last 2 weeks of August and had a brilliant time. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and we thought the food was fairly good. Breakfast was the usual continental food, not very exciting, but edible. The pool was quite small but at times we were the only people there. Definately a good base for a holiday in Sorrento, if you want a better view, although we thought it was great, then you would need to pay a lot more than you will have paid to stay here. It only took 2 minutes to walk into the main square which was great. We went the mount vesuvious and pompei whist there which are well worth a visit. We also travelled to Rome for the day but wouldnt advise this as its too long a journey for a day trip.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Tips/Secrets — dont be worried about the sheets they use for towels they do dry you and are changed twice a day
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank holiday_addict40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

I traveled with a family of 5 (2 young teens and a 9 year old). The staff was friendly and very helpful in giving us tips to seeing the sites around the area.
The breakfast wasn't great because at 9 am they did not add food to the trays. If you got there any later, you were limited to the left over eggs and meats. I did not eat dinner there so I can not comment on that part of the restaurant.

The hotel had a nearby parking garage (20 euros /night that was very convenient). I liked their location near the center, and that is why I was willing to pay such a high price per night.You walk to the trains (Pompeii) and the boats (Capri). Most of the the hotels in Sorrento are at a higher elevation from the center of town, and you need to take taxi' s or public buses(not easy with kids).
The halls reminded me of hospitals in the United States, very wide and very cold in ambiance.The rooms were big and were very clean. The street noise did not bother us (keep balcony doors closed) . The bathrooms were not very inviting, but functional. This hotel is perfect for big families that need easy access to downtown Sorrento.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank FamilyFiveII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Cesare Augusto for one week at the end of July. The hotel is in a very good location only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento.

We arrived late at the hotel, so like a previous reviewer, had a plate of food waiting in our room for us. The room was a good size and was very clean. We looked out to the back of the hotel, which had a nice view of the mountains, but you are above a busy road (however, you can't hear anything when you shut your balcony door). The only thing I would say about the balcony, though, is it didn't have a light, which is a shame as we often enjoy having a drink or reading a book on the balcony in the evening when we get back at night.

The staff were all very friendly and spoke very good English, but the main problem with this hotel was the food. It was very poor (and we aren't that fussy when it comes to hotel food). There wasn't much of a choice at breakfast (cold tea or scrambled eggs); dinner had a choice of four or five main courses but it tasted like school dinners (I should know - I'm a teacher!) - thin slices of meat with fairly tasteless potatoes. We ate in the hotel twice then ate out for the rest of the week (try Pizzeria San Antonio - in the centre up a set of stairs. Prices are extremely reasonable for Sorrento and the food is great).

If location is the most important thing to you when chosing a hotel Cesare Augusto is perfect. However, if you prefer a hotel with atmosphere and good food, it simply isn't up to scratch.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,474 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 862 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Its functional, it serves its purpose, but for a 4 star hotel I was left slightly disappointed.

The rooms are a decent size, and it is all clean enough, but there is no atmosphere or charm about it, the corridors are a bit depressing really I found!

The views are not up to some of the other hotels available, as you have to lok over the massive sattelite dishes on the roofs of the buildings in front.

The swimming pool roof terrace with sun loungers is nice, but is all a bit functional and again there are better ones out there in Sorrento.

Also it is located between two very busy roads, so you have to battle with traffic wherever you go.

It isn't romantic, it isn't special, so if you are a couple I'd look elsewhere. The comparasin was clear when we had a drink at another 4 star hotel (sorry, I forget the name) which had beautiful clear views over the bay, a fantastic pool, a very romaintic and "special" feel, great areas to sit and have a drink/admire the view, great relaxing decor and was located in a quiet area of town...I'm sure you can figure out from these reviews what kind of places these are.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed at the Cesare Augusto from 26 May - 2 June 2006.

The first impression I got of this Hotel was of how clean it was, so clean you can smell it.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, it was a nice touch when the bell boy took our bags to our room and didn;t expect a tip.

Another nice touch was that we arrived at our hotel late due to our flight being delayed and as a result we missed our evening meal in the restaurant - however the Hotel had plated us up a very nice salad and put it in our rooms for us.

The room we had was big and faced the front of the Hotel. As previously stated by others, if you have your balcony doors open it is very loud, sirens aplenty due to the hospital only being 1/2 mile down the road.

The bathroom was of an average size, beware of the kink in the floor of the bath, I nearly broke my ankle on it.

The breakfast is a buffet style breakfast and was very disappointing. It is served from 0700 - 0930.

However, if you decide to go for breakfast at 0900, you will probably be faced with the same food as what was served at 0700, as I found when I got a very upset stomach.

The evening meals are OK, you get 4-5 choices per course but the vegetarian options are very limited, one night the vegetarian option was a plate of cheese. Beware that they have a fondness of sneaking ham into the mashed potato!!!

The pool is small but good and is served by a bar with a limited food menu. There isn't much room by the pool though for sunbathing once it gets busy.

As stated previously too, the air conditioning turns off mid morning and doesn't return til mid afternoon, not much good if your in bed recovering from the upset stomach caused by their food!!!

All in all I would say that if you want somewhere clean and in a convienient location with friendly staff and you're not fussy about what you eat, this is the Hotel for you.

Please feel free to email me any questions and if you want any hints or tips on the sightseeing in the area as most tour operators are very over priced!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ribm7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing